We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better on the outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks better on the outside”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I was travelling to Gothenburg for the weekend with a friend and booked this hotel 3 weeks in advance at a good rate. The hotel did not disappoint, it wasn't that great but the price made up for everything. For starters, the hotel looked brand new on the outside and in the reception area but the room was kind of small with old furniture and we could not even open the windows for fresh air. The TV was perched on top and we could only watch TV by lying down on our beds.

Despite the unimpressive room furniture, it was overall a pleasant stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in giving directions and the hotel breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. There was a sauna and jacuzzi but we did not have time to visit. Wireless internet is available at no additional cost. I think there is a garage outside for guests who are driving.

The hotel is located somewhat 1km from the city centre, very near the Liseberg Amusement Park (good if you have kids). If you are travelling by public transport, tram no. 6 (outside Scandinavium) takes you directly to the city centre. It is conveniently located near the Avenyn area and the Flybussen stop to Landvetter Airport is just a 5 min walk away.

Overall, I had a good experience with this hotel and would recommend it to those who are here for short stays.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropics15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    406
    278
    110
    59
See reviews for
338
265
31
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
louisville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Usually stay at Gothia but got a good rate at Opalen. Asked to change rooms because the one we got was not cleaned well. There were stains on the walls, the bed skirt had lot of stains on it. The bathroom was not great and this was one of the renovated rooms!This is not what we expect from a 3 star Swedish hotel. We did like the location and the breakfast.

  • Liked — THE LOCATION
  • Disliked — THE ROOM
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

cambs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed in the Opalen over new years, found it a great hotel, with very friendly staff, rooms very comfortable and overall a great stay. Breakfast is excellent with a great choice, bar and bartender where great and the missus loved the jacuzzi. One draw back is the location but deffinetly not a problem about a 20minute walk to centre of town or 5 minute tram ride that leaves from just across the road from the hotel. Found Goteborg to be a very friendly place, but quite considering it was new years. if you do find yourself there over new years the fire works at the harbour are excellent and theres a great irish pub you should at least have a drink in. Other than that another great stay at the scandic chain and will continue to use them when in the nordic regions

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Paid around £30 a night or 300SEK bed and breakfast. Room was clean and had everything you would need.

Breakfast was great and had a large selction from fresh fruit, bread and cooked breakfast.

There is also a jacuzzi and sauna.

Very good standard for what we paid, would highly recommend, great location also.

  • Liked — Standard based on price we paid and location
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erennie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June.

For starters, the location is good. It really depends on whats the exact reason for your visit to Gothenburg. If its shopping you've come for, its not the best place as the main shopping area - Nordstan - is quite a walking distance and needs to be covered via tram which is expensive. If you are in Gothenburg for the amusement parks and with family, its a great location. Atleast the avenyn is within walking distance, so is a park.

The hotel room we got was done very stylishly, but was EXTREMELY small. It got difficult to open our bags at times. It had a nice flat screen tv and good view from the 9th floor.

The breakfast was good but the service was very bad. We had to sit on tables where the used plates were not picked for a long time. Also, the spread was not that good as some of the other Scandic hotels. It got crowded with people.

A special mention of the reception staff who were extremely cordial and very helpful. They were ready to help with any query with detailed explanation. They also helped us arrange a taxi at 3 am in the morning for the airport.

Over all a good hotel for family, but not the best if shopping is your motive

  • Liked — Very helpful front desk
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Unfortunately the service at this hotel has been getting worse for each of our visits the last couple of weeks, which is really sad.

At our latest (last?) stay, we couldn't find a space to sit down and have our breakfast although the restaurant was almost empty, just because nobody had emptied or cleaned the tables after the previous guests. The different rooms we have had, have been very dirty. The hotel have a nice and modern gym, but unfortunately the jacuzzi was closed due to technical problems. There is a sauna and solarium though.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KickiStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed at this for one and a halfe mounth while working with the musical "Mamma Mia!" at Scandinavium. They seems to renovait the hotel but I got sort of a old room. It was small but quite nice altough. The location for me was perfect, 5 minutes walk to Scandinavium and not far to shoppingstreets.
The room was kept kleen and the view from my room was very nice. A big breakfast was served, didn´t miss anything.
The staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — The location was perfect for me
  • Disliked — The pool was cloces almost all my stay
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing