We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“scandavian simplicity”
Review of Scandic Molndal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Molndal
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“scandavian simplicity”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Scandic is a relatively good chain of hotels.
You get the same thing almost everywhere you go, simple Scandanavian style room, clean and comfortable and very functional.
The breakfast is pretty good as is the lunch buffet , and communal areas are light and airy
There is a small gym treadmill, bike, cross trainer and some simple weights. there is also the obligatory sauna room
If you want to venture into Gothenburg the tram is only a two minute walk away
All in all not bad. I have used this one before and will again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    178
    145
    27
    13
See reviews for
172
75
15
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Good breakfast, good service. Boring and a bit old bedrooms. Good location if you like to stay near the main road but still be in a quite area. The breakfast is the best thing with this hotel. All in all - ok!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatpaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed here for three days during the christmas of 2012. Really nice and friendly staff. Good service, excellent breakfast and neat overall! Good internet connection and decent gym facility. Perfect relaxing retreat for the whole family during the holiday visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank administratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here one night, with our two children (5 & 1 1/2). The hotell is placed some what outside the city, but the comfort of felling welcome with children makes it worth the extra time taking the tram. At the" checking in" the children got a little present.The breakfast is lovely, - you can even have a personal omelette being made, - and the children get pancakes brougt to the table by the staff. We stayed in a family room with a bunk bed for the children. The room was clean and modern (early 2000) and the size ok.

The "tram stop" is only a short walk away, and it takes apr. 20 min. to get to Gothenburg central.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

I cannot comment on the quality of rooms as I was not a guest at this hotel. During my two-day conference/meeting I sampled the food (excellent and maintained in terms of selection and temperature), used the conference facilities (all excellent, equipment selection good and all working) and used bathrooms and public areas (all clean and well maintained). All of the staff in every department were very friendly. Bar and restaurant staff were also friendly and welcoming. An issue with climate control/aircon was dealt with as effectively as possible but other touches (Red Bull, sweets, regular water) made up for this. Sandra and a bearded gentleman who worked with her (sorry, his name escapes me!) could not have done more for me or my colleagues. Materials, food, beverages, equipment were all handled meticulously and Sandra even called two different taxis so as to provide me with a range of prices/options. Impeccable service! If the rooms were half as good you'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPlainsDrifter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a nice hotel with clean, spacious, quiet rooms. Complimantary WiFi. Actually one of the better Scandic Hotels I've stayed at.
The breakfast is pretty standard, but I once got extremely salty dinner at the restaurant. Other times it has been OK (fairly ordinary). Has a bar, but it is often almost empty.
Free parking. Mölndal center is withing walking distance. I'm sure you can find better dinner options there in case you want to leave the hotel. The location is pretty boring, but quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. Scandic hotels are a very good chain and i will definitely use them again next time I'm in Sweden. The breakfast has everything, something like 130 choice breakfast items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Molndal
Good Morning Molndal
#1 of 1 in Molndal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.7 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
7.5 mi away
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Molndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Molndal

Property: Scandic Molndal
Address: Barnhemsgatan 23, Molndal, Gothenburg 431 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Molndal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Molndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Molndal Gothenburg
Scandic Molndal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing