We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and straightforward”
Review of Scandic Molndal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Molndal
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Accomodation was pretty good. Clean and straighforward. Internet connection was patchy in my room - going from 5 bars to nothing.
Buffet restaurant was ok. Resaurant food was also ok. Menu pretty limited - but what I had was good. Locaiton was convenient for my business and avoided going into the city. Parking was easy and straightforward (and free)
An easy walk to the Kvarnbyn waterfalls - which are worth a walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Receptionschef at Scandic Molndal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It gives us the opportunity to improve and grow!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Good room, service and food. Both breakfast and dinner was good. Good free parkingspace outside the hotel. Easy access to the hotel as well. However the wifi signal was poor in the room I had. I will anyway recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank jolafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Receptionschef at Scandic Molndal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013
Google Translation

Tack för att du tog dig tid att kommentera din vistelse hos oss! Vi är glada att du trivdes här och hoppas få se dig som vår gäst även i framtiden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel only because all other hotels in Gothenburg were fully booked. It is not far away from the city center, it takes about 10-15 min. with the tram to reach. This hotel is a good choice if you are planning to visit Gothenburg. The breakfast is standard Scandic breakfast they heat up factory made pancakes and meatballs. The staff are service minded and it is clean. If you come by car they have parking included, that you will not get in another hotel in the city center. On the negative side is that the bar was closed when I come back at 24:05.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordshivaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Molndal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear SIr, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Mölndal. Your feedback is of great value to us.

Welcome back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After being to a couple of Choice hotels lately, we've come back to a Scandic for a weekend trip. Now I've got remembered why I changed to Choice.
In Mölndal you find another average Scandic hotel in the typical youth hostel style.
Boring and functionally design, in the Scandic price-range though. Everything else than exciting and innovative. I am getting bored that one hotel looks like the other. There were no bath room accessories besides 2 soaps.
Negative was the bed in our room at floor 2. The mattress was so hard, I had a bad night.
And once again you cannot open a window. That is an issue if you sleep with more than 2 people in a room. And the cleanliness here at room 249 could definitely be improved.
Positive: Free parking at the outside parking lot.
Summary: If you like the low standard and boring Scandic design, you will be happy with Scandic Mölndal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Molndal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your respons, it is a great value to us in order to improve.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at Scandic Mölndal.
Your comment about the cleanliness is something that we have taken action to in order to prevent this from happening again.
It is great to hear that you appreciate our free parking.

Welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Every year, me and my familiy, are staying at Scandic Hotel in Mölndal in the South part of the city. We have been there for over 15 years now...

The hotel is in good shape with all furnitures and floor materials made of wood out of environmental reasons. You Alfways feel welcomed by the nice Girls in the reception. Most rooms can be used by 4 persons (two adults and two Children). You have flat TV, but no mini-bar. The breakfast in the morning is very diverse, and offers an international buffet and pancakes for the small ones...

There is a smal Gym on the ground floor, and a small pool area on the top floor.

Weekends are very popular for families with kids, especially summer times. The hotel is Close to the main attraction in Gothenburg - the amusement park Liseberg. You can go there with a tram in only 20 minutes from Mölndal Center (10 min walk). Every Monday there is a TV broadcasted Music show in the evening. I do also recommend a visit to Liseberg also around Christmas, when there is a Christmas Market with lit-up trees.

If you are interested in trotting (horse racing), you also find the Trotter course Åby Close by.

Welcome to Gothenburg, and welcome to Scandic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room fronting the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerik_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very good hotel for business around the Gothenburg area. A little out of the way but worked well for me. Staff were friendly, rooms were a good size with desk space. Restaurant had good choices for breakfast and dinner. One of the nicer Scandic hotels I've stayed in during my last 2 trips to Sweden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A quite typical business hotel. Modern, cold, they effectively process their guests.
Free parking. Walking distance to any shopping areas. The evening dinner buffets are pretty good value (by Swedish standards). No problem for a vegetarian to be satisfied with slight adjustments and additions to the standard did dinner menu (at no further costs). If you have the Scandic/Hilton card , you should get a 20% discount on the weekends on your food and drinks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheSwedishBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
6.7 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,460 reviews
5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
4 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Molndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Molndal

Address: Barnhemsgatan 23, Molndal, Gothenburg 43131, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £82 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Molndal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Molndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Molndal Gothenburg
Scandic Molndal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing