We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, decent rooms”
Review of Scandic Rubinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good location, good service, decent rooms”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

During the processtechnik tradeshow I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, it is perfectly located on the main avenue of Göteborg, around are all kind of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel has 4 stars and in my opinion this rating is correct. Yes the room is quite small but it had everything you need for, decent size bed, small but clean bathroom, free wifi. The very big plus of the hotel is the extensive breakfast. The omlet which is cooked to order is perfect. Furthermore a service with a smile and friendlyness all around. i certainly will go back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    400
    219
    79
    26
See reviews for
208
285
45
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Great spot, bar is comfortable and the breakfast is great. The room is small and dated, but clean and in working order. WiFi was painfully slow, so don't expect to do anything more than download email.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the, shopping area, great situated. However, quite small and not up to the best standard and not the best bed. My room was towards the street and very noicy. However if you are on vacation, this is a good choice. Perfect for shopping- good food weekend.

Room Tip: avoid rooms towards the street, it is a bar area with many happy people, and if you are not in party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Cant beat the location of this hotel, right on the avenue in Gothenburg. Our 4th floor room was smaller than our room we had earlier in the week at the Scandic Opalen, but we liked the location better. The street noise was there but we didn't notice it much. The free breakfast was awesome, nice change to have Swedish meatballs, lingonberries, Swedish pancakes, sweet pickles and limpa for breakfast. It reminded me of our Christmas dinner in Minnesota when I was a kid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel is basic by American Standards. The room was small and the bathroom was surprisingly compact. The beds were very different from any I have experienced, but they were not uncomfortable. If a person has never been to a Swedish Hotel like this, he should keep and open mind about the accommodations.

I knew that breakfast was include in the cost of the hotel, but it was much better than I expected. Most hotels have a limited selection when they offer free breakfast, this one was just the opposite. The hotel provided a wide and varied selection from which anyone would find something to his liking.

Room Tip: Our roomed faced the street which provided us a view of the area activities, but if one is sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdkukycky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Myself and 2 more colleagues (swedish and danish) had the need for one day meeting. We chosen gotenburg being sort 'midway' location considering our business trip during the week.

This hotel is in a very good location but needs to be refurbished.
Rooms are quite small and generally you can see that are quite aged although very well maintaned.
The restaurant small and certainly you can find better solutions round the corner, anyhow good choice for lunch buffet.

special mention to the receptionist staff, helpful and smiling, this makes me to give 3 points out of two.

Room Tip: I would have loved sleeping in the red hot chilli pepper one just for the name! (n. 319)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I was forced to pay 2200 SEK for a double room. The room was clean and neat but there was no AC and I was not able to keep my window open due to the lively nightlife on the street below until 4 a.m.

It was the smallest, warmest and most uncomfortable hotel room I stayed in during my trip to Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#42 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rubinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Property: Scandic Rubinen
Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing