We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for staying and enjoying the town”
Review of Scandic Rubinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good for staying and enjoying the town”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

the rooms aren't spacey, but overall it's good, especially w/r/t quality vs price. The breakfast is very good. Lots of bread types, herrings and sweets. the position is very convenient if you have to work (for instance at the university or a meeting centers) but it is walking distance from the historic downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    393
    214
    77
    24
See reviews for
200
277
44
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed one night at the Scandic Rubinen. It is in a very central location so it is easy to get to other locations just walking. There is quite a lot going on in Gothenberg! The hotel itself is beautiful, spacious with a large bed for one person and a large bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and quite varied. Was sorry I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuclear D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is very central. We caught the airport shuttle and it is a block away from the drop off point at Park Aveny.
Our room was fine, small but spotless. We were facing the main avenue and I would suggest keeping the window closed at night or investing in really good ear plugs as the noise level from the street is pretty high.
The room was quite hot with the window closed but at least the noise abated.
The staff are wonderful-very helpful.
Breakfast is a feast-loads of choice and everything is fresh-fruit, cheese, eggs, bacon, pancakes, herring-you name it.
The roof bar is fun with great city views.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very satisfying stay. Great view of the main road whilst having breakfast.
100 more rooms being built too, very good indeed. Really friendly staff to especially on reception.
Good location with some great restaurants in short walking distance on one of the most famous streets in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel the first weekend in May, a mixed business+ family-get-together, so we were a big bunch of kids and adults running in and out of the hotel day and night. I think the reception desk was very accommodating (I came late and needed extra keys to my mom's room, we wanted to change rooms bcs we were one bed short, some of the party came back from a bar five o'clock in the morning etc.). The breakfast buffet was delicious, everything from herring to scrambed eggs to pancakes to fresh fruit. Also, the location is perfect for experiencing Gothenburg, right in the middle of the main street in town, walking distance (with a five year old) to Liseberg (the amusement park) and cosy hotel...with a nice bar for people watching. The only negative aspect is that they were renovating some of the rooms, so you had some noise during the day and the famous kids area which all Scandic hotels have, was non-existent. Overall, I think this was a great choice for experiencing Gothenburg, mainly due to the excellent service, and when they are done with the renovations, it will be superb.

Room Tip: There is an excellent cafeteria with huge shrimp sandwiches around the corner (forgot the name, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie_w_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gävle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed in one of the renovated rooms and everything was ok. The bed was comfortable and the hd-tv was a nice addition. The trams in the main road caused some noise to the 3rd floor but nothing too loud. The breakfast selection was nice and the room for breakfast was spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraveCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

The hotell is located close to the attractions in Gothenburg. The quality of the rooms can be different, some have a small balcony which is nice in the summer. On the summer there is also a bar an the topfloor-outside.
Easy to park the car. Mainly business and high rates in the weeks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnusigurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rubinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Property: Scandic Rubinen
Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing