We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Rubinen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellora(Gothenburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lorensberg(Gothenburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poseidon(Gothenburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Allen(Gothenburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotell Onyxen(Gothenburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
292
457
266
107
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
457
266
107
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrooftop bareconomy roommain avenueclose to shopsnice hotelwithin walking distancerestaurants and barsfresh fruitnice staffthe ground floorbreakfast was amazingparking housecentre of towncentral locationbreakfast roomfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Scandic Rubinen is a very good hotel - great location, nice staff, very nice interior in the rooms, clean, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast with lots of fruits, hot dishes and cold cuts, pancakes, tea and coffee assortment. Extra pillows and blankets were available which was very much appreciated. There was even an iron with an iron board in the room. The only shortcoming is the non-soundproof windows - my windows overlooked the main avenue in Gothenburg, so it was noisy starting 7am. Reconstruction works were also disturbing. I'd definitely come back to this hotel if in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Milen

Thank you for your comment, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had such a good time. We look forward having you back as a guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My room was small and the window was so small that it was almost nonexistent. The bathroom was also small. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good with various hot and cold items. The hotel has a good location in the city with different restaurants nearby. It is also close to the the bus stop "Park avenue" of the Airport coach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013
Google Translation

Hej Eva

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva till oss! Som du säkert förstod under ditt boende så håller vi på att bygga om. Kan glädja dig med att vi kommer ha 100 nya större rum klara i Maj näst år! Hoppas du får möjligheten att komma tillbaka och testa dessa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice location on the main street of Gothenburg, within walking distance to most things to see. Friendly staff, and rooms are the standard Scandic rooms; small, but clean and ok. Restaurant by the lobby was under renovation when we were there, but the breakfast restaurant worked fine. Parking in front of the hotel was difficult, but that might be because of the ongoing restoration of the facade.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Grokhe

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! As you menitoned we are undergoing a large renovation. We welcome you back here in May next year when we have a brand new lobby, restaurants, breakfast and rooftop bar!

Have a nice week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the Scandic Rubinen in early November. We had a pleasant stay, staff were also very friendly and willing to help with our queries.

The location of the hotel is brilliant for the centre of Gothenburg, with most museums and amenities within walking distance, or a short hop on the tram.

The hotel was undergoing renovation during our stay, but we stayed from Wednesday night to Monday morning, and the work only woke us up once, which is pretty good going for such major work.

Bed was comfortable, room was clean, however our bin in the main bedroom was not emptied for the whole week (the bathroom bin was)

There was a good selection at breakfast, however was more suited to continental european appetites than British apettites. There was no selection of normal tea available, but plenty of flavoured tea. The food that was suited to our appetites was nicely cooked and always at the right temperature.

Overall a hotel I'd recommend to others to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trusse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Trusse

I am happy to hear the you enjoyed the stay here at Rubinen. Hope you have to possibility to come back when the renovation is finished in May and se our brand new rooms!
We will also have a look at the tea selection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent a few days at Scandic Rubinen, and it is quite a noisy place but what can you expect when you book a prime centre location. The Bar is exciting and makes some great cocktails. Definitely worth staying if you plan to have a fun night in Gothenburg. If you want sleep quality, book Scandic Europa instead.
Staff very friendly and service minded as usual in Sweden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Je

Thank you for taking the time to write! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back here next year when we have a newly renovated hotel with a new and even more amazing bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews