We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Rubinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Another one of those business hotels that you never will remember. It does the job alright however, and usually that is enough. Location is quite good I would say. Breakfast is pretty nice too. Service good. So if you need a place to stay and the price is right ... well then ... book!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Carl,

Thank you so much for taking you time to give us feed back reegarding your stay!

I really hope that you will give us a new chance next time you plan to visit Gothenburg. Our renovation is fished in a couple of weeks and we would really like to show your our face lift! :)

Have a good day and thank you again for your feed back!

Best regards,

Carin Victorin
Front Office Manager
Scandic Rubinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    364
    192
    66
    19
See reviews for
176
257
38
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Via the swedish student card 'Mecenat' we booked a cheap room here for staying one night. The room was ok in size, but we only had one really small window, which were facing a corridor/conference area. You'll get what you pay for I guess.

The hotel is currently (March 2014) being renovated which causes some noice during day-time. The end-result seems to be nice though. Great breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you so much for your review.
I hope you will come back to us when our renovation is completed in May.

Have a good day and thank you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Scandic Rubinen is a very good hotel - great location, nice staff, very nice interior in the rooms, clean, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast with lots of fruits, hot dishes and cold cuts, pancakes, tea and coffee assortment. Extra pillows and blankets were available which was very much appreciated. There was even an iron with an iron board in the room. The only shortcoming is the non-soundproof windows - my windows overlooked the main avenue in Gothenburg, so it was noisy starting 7am. Reconstruction works were also disturbing. I'd definitely come back to this hotel if in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Milen

Thank you for your comment, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had such a good time. We look forward having you back as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
144 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My room was small and the window was so small that it was almost nonexistent. The bathroom was also small. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good with various hot and cold items. The hotel has a good location in the city with different restaurants nearby. It is also close to the the bus stop "Park avenue" of the Airport coach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Hej Eva

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva till oss! Som du säkert förstod under ditt boende så håller vi på att bygga om. Kan glädja dig med att vi kommer ha 100 nya större rum klara i Maj näst år! Hoppas du får möjligheten att komma tillbaka och testa dessa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice location on the main street of Gothenburg, within walking distance to most things to see. Friendly staff, and rooms are the standard Scandic rooms; small, but clean and ok. Restaurant by the lobby was under renovation when we were there, but the breakfast restaurant worked fine. Parking in front of the hotel was difficult, but that might be because of the ongoing restoration of the facade.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Grokhe

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! As you menitoned we are undergoing a large renovation. We welcome you back here in May next year when we have a brand new lobby, restaurants, breakfast and rooftop bar!

Have a nice week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the Scandic Rubinen in early November. We had a pleasant stay, staff were also very friendly and willing to help with our queries.

The location of the hotel is brilliant for the centre of Gothenburg, with most museums and amenities within walking distance, or a short hop on the tram.

The hotel was undergoing renovation during our stay, but we stayed from Wednesday night to Monday morning, and the work only woke us up once, which is pretty good going for such major work.

Bed was comfortable, room was clean, however our bin in the main bedroom was not emptied for the whole week (the bathroom bin was)

There was a good selection at breakfast, however was more suited to continental european appetites than British apettites. There was no selection of normal tea available, but plenty of flavoured tea. The food that was suited to our appetites was nicely cooked and always at the right temperature.

Overall a hotel I'd recommend to others to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trusse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Trusse

I am happy to hear the you enjoyed the stay here at Rubinen. Hope you have to possibility to come back when the renovation is finished in May and se our brand new rooms!
We will also have a look at the tea selection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
462 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent a few days at Scandic Rubinen, and it is quite a noisy place but what can you expect when you book a prime centre location. The Bar is exciting and makes some great cocktails. Definitely worth staying if you plan to have a fun night in Gothenburg. If you want sleep quality, book Scandic Europa instead.
Staff very friendly and service minded as usual in Sweden.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Je

Thank you for taking the time to write! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back here next year when we have a newly renovated hotel with a new and even more amazing bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#42 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rubinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Property: Scandic Rubinen
Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing