We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay at a very good location”
Review of Scandic Rubinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice stay at a very good location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

small but nice rooms, good breakfast and nice staff. this hotel is situated just a few steps from the main party street so the location just couldn't be better (but despite that it wasn't noicy)

many restaurants, nightclubs and things to do!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear TexasTimon,

Thank you so much for our nice review!
I really hope that you ahd a chance to visit our roof top bar during your stay.

Hope you will visit us next time you plan to visit Gothenburg and thank you again for your review!

Best regards,

Carin Victorin
Front Office Manager
Scandic Rubinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    382
    203
    72
    21
See reviews for
185
264
42
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

You are in the centre of everything!
My favorite area is haga and it like a 10 min walk maximum. The hotel room was soooo poor when we checked in. Like a real budget room that needed to get some extra paint at the walls. But we payed 200 sek extra for a upgrade to the new renovated rooms. Well worth it!!!
Any how the staff is very friendly!
Minus: the sky bar is way to expensive comparing to what you get of drinks!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Citysurfchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Citysurfchic,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feed back from your stay with us!
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our new rooms! :)

I really hope you will visit us again next time you visit Gothenburg!
Thank you again for your feed back!

Best regards,

Carin Victorin
Front Office Manager
Scandic Rubinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for one night after Easter at the hotel and yes the hotel is under refurbishment but there is not intention to apologise for the disruption when you check in, nor is there any excitement shared to what they are actually creating apart from a simple poster in the lift. Checked in to the hotel with a simply, oh yes, you have prepaid and here is the key. No information or even an interest to if we needed to have dinner or enjoy a drink. Went to the room, dirty and worn out like I have not seen a hotel room for years. Even toe nails on the floor, papers left under the bed and extremely dirty bed cover. Just horrific. Decided to take all of our stuff down to the lobby again and change rooms. No apology, not even a sense to even perhaps do something to compensate for the bad impression. I have stayed at this hotel before and think it has been doing the job but nothing else. But this time it was it. Never again and even with a refurbishment I guess the management wont change and nor is the lack of guest interaction. Goodbye.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Worldtraveler30,

First I would like to thank you for taking your time to give us feed back from your stay.
I am very sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your expectations.

I really hope that you have time to contact me and give us a new chance next time you plan to visit Gothenburg!

Best regards,

Carin Victorin
Front Office Manager
Scandic Rubinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Another one of those business hotels that you never will remember. It does the job alright however, and usually that is enough. Location is quite good I would say. Breakfast is pretty nice too. Service good. So if you need a place to stay and the price is right ... well then ... book!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Carl,

Thank you so much for taking you time to give us feed back reegarding your stay!

I really hope that you will give us a new chance next time you plan to visit Gothenburg. Our renovation is fished in a couple of weeks and we would really like to show your our face lift! :)

Have a good day and thank you again for your feed back!

Best regards,

Carin Victorin
Front Office Manager
Scandic Rubinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Via the swedish student card 'Mecenat' we booked a cheap room here for staying one night. The room was ok in size, but we only had one really small window, which were facing a corridor/conference area. You'll get what you pay for I guess.

The hotel is currently (March 2014) being renovated which causes some noice during day-time. The end-result seems to be nice though. Great breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you so much for your review.
I hope you will come back to us when our renovation is completed in May.

Have a good day and thank you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Scandic Rubinen is a very good hotel - great location, nice staff, very nice interior in the rooms, clean, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast with lots of fruits, hot dishes and cold cuts, pancakes, tea and coffee assortment. Extra pillows and blankets were available which was very much appreciated. There was even an iron with an iron board in the room. The only shortcoming is the non-soundproof windows - my windows overlooked the main avenue in Gothenburg, so it was noisy starting 7am. Reconstruction works were also disturbing. I'd definitely come back to this hotel if in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Milen

Thank you for your comment, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had such a good time. We look forward having you back as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My room was small and the window was so small that it was almost nonexistent. The bathroom was also small. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good with various hot and cold items. The hotel has a good location in the city with different restaurants nearby. It is also close to the the bus stop "Park avenue" of the Airport coach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Hej Eva

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva till oss! Som du säkert förstod under ditt boende så håller vi på att bygga om. Kan glädja dig med att vi kommer ha 100 nya större rum klara i Maj näst år! Hoppas du får möjligheten att komma tillbaka och testa dessa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rubinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Property: Scandic Rubinen
Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing