We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveler's Retreat - A not-so-hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Traveler's Retreat - A not-so-hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Travelling alone and finding comfortable (and not too pricey) accommodations is a challenge, but one fully met by the Hotel Royal. It is VERY centrally located and easy to find, just 5 minutes walk from the Central train station and 5 minutes walk from the nearest tram line. Shopping is within 3 minutes. Close to restaurants. My "economy" room was comfortable and well appointed, not too big and very pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was excellent. The Hotel is very quaint and the staff is excellent. Wifi (and iPads in lobby) worked great for finding information or keeping in touch. The hotel is beautiful and has a very comfortable, classic feel. In the afternoons, there is coffee, tea, water and cake available for guests and there is an opportunity for a drink in the lounge area (for a cost). The breakfast was delicious and had a lot of variety. Both fresh and hot food available. I would definitiely stay here again and will recommend it to anyone traveling to Goteborg!! Thank you for such as relaxing and pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Room on the courtyard was very quiet at night, but for late sleepers try another room. Morning deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccagottberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    261
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
118
317
98
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent four days in Gothenburg as tourists and couldn't fault this hotel. It was a great base. Try newly opened Bhoga for supper-wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValePsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a weekend city break. I could not fault this hotel. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful and cosy (by cosy I mean it felt like home - the rooms were certainly not small!), and it is so central and convenient just moments walk from central station. The delicious cakes and tea served in the afternoon was a lovely treat, and the buffet breakfast was great. Possibly one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've ever had!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Close to the Central Station old style, but well kept hotel. Buffet breakfast was very nice, room was clean, 3 star standard.

Room Tip: courtyard view rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located close to central train station. People at the reception are extremely polite and helpful. I love their breakfast and inner courtyard. The room is clean although bathroom is quite small. Best thing they offer free coffe/tea and cakes all day.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sterist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nice, clean, friendly , in the center. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSvensso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I took a three day trip to Göteborg over the Easter weekend. We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Royal and couldn't have been happier! The hotel's front door is right on the corner at Drottninggattan and was only a 3 block, 7 minute walk from the train station.
The breakfast was lovely, and included cereals, 3 different kinds of eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt and milk, tea & coffee and even 3 different kinds of cookies next to a bowl of Easter candy!
We had dealings with 3 different desk clerks and all of them had smiles on their faces and were anxious to do whatever was needed to make us happy.
We had a room on the first floor which was easy to get to climbing the wide stairs. Our room was clean, updated and comfortable. There was art on the walls and matching bedspread and curtains on the two windows which faced a little courtyard with outdoor seating (we were in room 239). The bathroom was clean and had a large shower stall. My husband couldn't figure out how to get hot water, but with a little knob-turning we finally got it.
Every afternoon in the lobby they put out a fresh yummy cake or brownies for the guests, and there is hot water to make tea or instant coffee.
Hotel Royal knows how to please its clientele and get rave reviews! This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in, and I've traveled around the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Property: Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing