We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, old style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very central location, just behind Radisson, and much more affordable. Each room is different, and my single room was very small and basic, but adequate. Nice public areas and good breakfast. All public transportation is easy to reach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for business to visit an exhibition. The hotel is easy to find near the central station. To walk to the exhibition centre is around 15 minutes. The hotel is very well located for all the city centre sights, restaurants and bars. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. The wifi is free and easy to access without any passwords etc. Bedroom was pleasant and clean, and large enough. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very close to bus and train stations and all city centre attractions but in a fairly quiet position. Relatively recently refurbished but still retaining the character, rooms attractive, breakfast options good and staff welcoming and helpful. Only problem was that over a warm August weekend our top floor room was too hot by our standards and there is no air con or ceiling fan to provide any relief meaning we didn't sleep too well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg but it's one of the nicest ones we've been staying in for many years. It's classic styled and has very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location and very well maintained interior was a big bonus. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in the hotel in August 2012, it has very friendly helpful staff which is the big positive. The style is classic and everything about the hotel is neat ans tidy. My main issue would be the size of the rooms as they definitely on the small size, the facilities are also average. Good hotel if you want some class on a budget

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank FiGi003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a delightful hotel more than 160 years old. It is charming, well appointed, and conveniently located. We stayed in a tower room on the second floor right above the lobby. The room was comfortable and roomy with nice windows that can be opened to enjoy the weather. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were high quality. They served a delicious breakfast which was included with our room rate. The staff was friendly and knowledgable.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SavyTraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had a single room and it was rather small but for a night it was OK. The bathroom was newly renovated. I kind of liked the hotel because there seemed to be a twist to it , like the Fawlty Towers. Receptionist dressed like in the 60's - bellhop style. No new furniture but well maintained.Location is excellent - smack in the middle and not far from the train station. A good and well presented breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scandhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £88 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing