We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Rubinen(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Center Hotel(Gothenburg)
US$92
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gothia Towers(Gothenburg)
US$205
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$172
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pigalle(Gothenburg)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Hotel Winn(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$122
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
705
341
28
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
341
28
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelcoffee and cakeindependent hotelevery afternooncharming hotelcentral stationfree teaquiet streetexcellent locationwould definitely stay here againbreakfast was deliciousa wonderful staylovely roommuesliscrambled eggsreception areaparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Do not stay here!

Was advised by a business associate to stay here & I regretted it enormously.

Apart from the fact that it is the oldest running hotel in Gethenburg, its got nothing else going for it.

The rooms are like hostels and the food vas very bad.

The staff & service was good & helpful.

Well located but there are much better hotels there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuneerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel? It could be the style, the value, the location, the service, the amazing breakfast, the room, the tea pigs tea available all day, the free cake on offer after breakfast, the magnificent staircase or the relaxing ambience. In short I adored this place & would stay here again in a heartbeat. I was slightly concerned that the hotel would be old fashioned from the photos. It is in fact very trendy and an impressive blend of old, grand charm & quirky creativeness. On asking in reception what time we needed to check out, the reply was "what time do you want to check out?". Well never, quite frankly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I and my wife spent one night at the Hotel Royal, because we happened to be in Gothenburg and wanted a quality hotel just to relax.
The receptionist was friendly and made us feel welcome. When we looked around while standing in the reception area we saw groups of sofas, a table of coffee and tea and some cake - really inviting.
The room, a "standard" double room, was cosy. Not very large, but it works. It has a desk if you want to work. Free wireless has good coverage. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bathroom looked new. Good shower. We had a room on the fourth floor with windows away from the street. It was very quiet, we didn't hear any noises from outside and none from other hotel guests.
The bed was firm, we slept well.
On the evening we went down to have a cup of tea (there are no tea-making facilities in the room). THere is a table of teas, coffee and some chocolate cake near the reception, and nearby are a couple of rooms with nice sofas and armchairs where you can sit and relax with your tea. We chose the room leading to the breakfast room, as that had a tv on. You can find newspapers, magazines, books - anything for a quiet relaxing evening.
Breakfast was good - the warm food was boiled eggs, meatballs and one of the best scrambled eggs I have ever had at a hotel breakfast. Then the usual assortment of bread, cold meats, cheese, cereals. Some Camembert, grapes, passion fruit, melon, pineapple etc. All very good.
Parking: The hotel does not have its own parking, so you need to use either the street parking (which was full near the hotel) or an indoor parking across the street from the hotel. Tell the receptionist you are going to park there, and you will get a discount on the parking fee. Worked well.
Location is excellent - you are right in the middle of the town centre. A short walk to anything you fancy.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but because you are right in the middle of the town there are plenty restaurants to choose from within a few minutes walking distance.
As a summary, this is a hotel which gives you a warm, cosy feeling. All the little groups of sofas and chairs, bookshelves, the complimentary tea, coffee and cakes, the smile you get at the reception - and the charm that this old hotel has, while everything inside looks new but in the old style - makes for a really comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor facing inwards the court yard are absolutely quite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sebofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is the oldest in Bothenburg but with modern comforts.It is within easy walking distance of the railway station and the main attractions but is very quiet.Afternoon tea and cakes are comlimentary and available in the lobby

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMBROSE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel Royal is a very good located one, on one hand very close to the main centre of the city, on the other hand in a relatively peaceful corner that makes your stay calm and nice. Staff very helpful, all interiors are in old-fashioned style, what has its own, special charm likened to other modern hotels equipped in severe Scandinavian way. Quiet music on the corridor, coffee, tea and a cake in the evening were additional assets. The bathroom was quite small, but clean. Breakfast was tasty and healthy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogumiła M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews