We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel with a Fantastic Goteborg Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Elite Plaza hotel is lovely in every way. The decor, furnishings and art work are spectacular in lobby, public, and eating areas. The rooms are excellently appointed with lovely furniture, and comfortable beds. Both the room and baths have excellent space. Every amenity in the room and bath are first class. You will be vey satisfied with the size of the rooms. The hall ways maintain the lovely architecture of the building's interior. Staff service is excellent for room service, front desk, restaurant and bar. The business office has a fantastic view of a dynamic staircase in a glass surround. The entrance and lobby are lovely. The Restaurant Swea Hof has delicious and varied breakfast buffets with wonderful and delightful servers. The Plaza Bar is cozy, chic and comfortable. We enjoyed a late Sunday dinner in the Plaza Bar when Goteborg Restaurant's are typically closed. The Bishops Arms is a cool English pub and very well done! You can not beat the location with easy walks to the inner harbor, museums, incredible shopping and restaurants. You can also take a longer walk to the Goteborg University and Liseberg which is delightful in everyway- plus the benefits of all which Goteborg offers. The property is very attractive to traveling families with children who appreciate and respect a lovely environment.Your stay at the Elite Plaza Hotel will undoubtedly enhance your visit to this glorious city!

Room Tip: Higher floors have some views, but really not necessary given the excellent location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_B44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

In central of the city but a bit away from the noise at Avenyn, you find this wonderful hotel. For me this was my premier staying, while my husband has been here several times before. I love there is a pillow menu with four different pillows to choose from,even a special neck one. The breakfast is far out the best I've had at a Swedish hotel. And the beds... I slept like a baby - great, just great! Next time in Gothenburg, Elite Plaza it is!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had only two nights in this lovely hotel in April 2014 but wished I could have stayed longer. I guess that sums it up.

The Elite Plaza is beautifully designed and has been renovated very tastefully. It's very quiet (or at least it was when I was there, over a weekend), and the room I had was spacious and tastefully laid out. The bathroom was surprisingly small, but had everything one could need.

The breakfast was delicious and highly-varied, as I had come to expect in this part of the world, and the dinners our party had in the restaurant each night were stunning. The staff were without exception polite and helpful and spoke excellent English.

For this traveller who travels with his tea bags, I was very pleased that the hotel was happy to provide tea and coffee-making facilities in my room on request. (The standard free wifi I had come to expect from European hotels reminded me yet again of how much we are ripped off paying huge fees for wifi access in Australia and New Zealand.)

I found the drinks in the bar rather over-priced but I imagine this is due to the local tax situation rather than the hotel. Still, it was a shock.

The hotel is in a fairly ordinary street but the location is excellent for getting to the central pedestrian shopping areas and the main shopping areas of the Avenyn and the Nordstan Shopping Centre. It's also close to performance venues and a great place to use a base for city walks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights around Easter this year.

Really great stay, helpful staff and the room was lovely with a nice big bathroom.

Sauna and gym were both small but nice and really clean- they were more than happy to heat the sauna up on request.

Breakfast was also good- a mix of everything available.

I'd certainly stay here again, it's so close to the town centre it's easy to get everywhere.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The room I had had recently been renovated and was comfortable, but BEWARE there is a discotheque on the backside of the hotel which will keep you up weekends and end of the week late - best to be avoided by specifically requesting a room elsewhere in the hotel. At the FRONT of the hotel you have the tram lines which will keep you awake early. So not the best unless you're lucky with the room choice! Management gave me a different room in the middle of the night, but it's disappointing all the same and I'll stay elsewhere next time

Room Tip: See review - stay away from the back (disco) and front (trams) and go for the internal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Beautiful hotel. I was lucky to get upgraded as well. Comfortable bed, flatscreen TV, minibar, free mineral water. Excellent breakfast. Perfect location.
The only negative thing was that the room was very warm, which made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I arrived at the hotel as a weary traveler with a backpack on my back. I was nervous because the reception desk was very fancy and I was very early (10:00 am). I was more than pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the receptionists. They kindly took my information and then offered to let me check in early. It was such VIP treatment for a worn-out looking character such as myself. The room was glorious. The entry was fabulous, with artwork hanging everywhere. I especially liked the Christo drawings. The wifi was a bit weak, but in a hotel as nice as this you shouldn't spend time staring at a screen. There was street construction around the hotel which would make things difficult if you had a car. The breakfast was an incredible array of fresh and cooked items. I ate in the restaurant the next day and it was delicious. Again, the Elite Plaza's customer service was first class!

Room Tip: chose a room depending on where the street construction is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.1 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Address: 3 Vaestra Hamngatan | Box 11065, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £102 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Plaza Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing