We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but that`s it...”
Review of Scandic No. 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic No. 25
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Central but that`s it...”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

When I arrived at the hotel after walking from the centralstation I became aware that the hotelarea didn`t look that promising. The entrance to the hotel were straight opposite the railway/tram and next to a motorbikegarage. Well inside the hotel the woman at the desk was very serviceminded and I hoped the position of the hotel didn`t mather that much.
I got room nr 115 and it was a superior room next to the stairs in first floor. The room itself was allright but the view was terrible. Outside the window I was stearing at a wall in a backyard. Very early I noticed a small shaking of the room and a noise that came every other five-ten minutes. It must have been the tram right outside the hotel.

The sink was leaking, the choice of channels was poor. On the positive note there was to small bottes of cava and some pieces of chocholate.

The worst thing I become aware of while trying to get some sleep. The pillows was terrible. Probably the worst pillows I`ve ever had. And it didn`t stop there. The room next door was very noisy with dogs barking (!) and a couple who seemed to be arguing well into the night. I was very surprises to find out that this was a hotel who accepted pets and that includes dogs obviously. What I didn`t understand was why the hotel gave me a room next to one with two dogs. They should have seperated ordinary customers with those who had dogs and other potentially noisy pets.

The breakfast was very average at best. The choice of food was pretty poor.
The second night I requested other pillows and it was much better than the night before but the couple with the dogs kept me awake until 3 am.

Previous I `ve been at First hotel Avalon, First hotel G and Scandic Opalen and Rica Hotel No 25 was far the worst hotel. Avalon is miles better.

My tip for you is to find another hotel than this. You can do much better.

Room Tip: I do not recommend room nr 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olekristian050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    276
    114
    29
    9
See reviews for
123
190
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed two nights here, on a business trip. It took some research to find a hotel within my budget in the right location, and because the rate was so reasonable compared to other hotels I looked into I wasn't sure what to expect. There was nothing to worry about.

The loction is very convenient to the station, which is half an hour from Landvatter airport by shuttle.
The room was a resonable size with a very comfortable bed and a generous-sized very modern bathroom with walk-in shower - and a proper hair dryer! Although my room faced the railway lines, there was no noise.

The breakfast is inviting and generous, the staff lovely and friendly, and the decor is cosy and quirky and the whole experience was very positive.

Breakfast is served from 6.30, and on the day I checked out I was leaving earlier than that. When I mentioned this the night before I was offered a take-away breakfast which was ready when I came down to reception in the morning. Breakfast was being set up in the dining room and I was invited to help myself to anything else I wanted to add.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here as part of a short business trip. The price was good and whilst my colleagues stayed in the much grander post hotel this was perfect for me and only 5 minutes away from the station.

Despite its proximity to the station and tracks it was quite. My room was right next to the lift but the sound proofing seems very effective.

The room was not huge but a good size. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and and the best scrambled eggs Ive ever had. Good plate of them with some of the smoked salmon sets you up for the day !

All my dealings with the staff were friendly and efficient and the whole hotel seems to have a great atmosphere far better than its bigger soulless rivals.

Two minor gripes:- there was no plug for the sink....great to stop flooding but awkward to shave.

The ironing room on the 3rd floor is fine but the iron is small and not a steam one... disappointing in such a nice hotel.

Other than that perfect for a short trip to Gothenburg.

Room Tip: 416- no view from the window but close to the lift and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Located in an industrial area, close to Central Station. Great interior, excellent room, impressive breakfast and nice staff from receptionist to cooks and waiter. Travelled with partner and 3 kids, had a double bed and bunk beds in room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bavaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Only 5 - 10 minutes walk from the Railway and Bus Station and about 10 minutes walk from the city center. Nice lobby and a rich breakfast. Very service minded and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit small but with the best hotel beds I can remember. Don't open windows on the street/railway side. You will hear the trains from appr. 4 o'clock in the morning to midnight. Rooms at the back side are usually quiet, but when we stayed (march 2013) some roof works was going on and a rather noisy fan disturbed the quitness. We will gladly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to have an open window ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCom_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I had a recent trip to Gothenburg in the freezing cold and was delighted with this gem-of-a-find smallish boutique-style hotel. Everything you ould ask for - and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and I can especially commend Daniel and Alexandra who were especially kind. The room was small but adequate and was spotlessly clean. We overlooked the trains and I enjoyed watching their coming and going but I certainly wasn't bothered by them and the noise was minimal, The modern continental trains seem to be so much quieter than ours and I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone. The breakfasts provided a lot of choice for any taste and the dining area (together with the rest of the hotel) was always spotlessly clean and tidy, This was a great place to stay and was the highlight of the trip - because we couldn't see anything we wanted to buy in the shops and everything was very expensive anyway! Our first time in Sweden and we are left with the impression of very pleasant and kind people and a very clean and lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel in October 2012, very good welcome, room was big, nice and clean, found 2 pairs of sleepers and 2 bathrobes. Since there was a problem with the heaters I asked to change room and I have been moved to another room a bit smaller than the one I had, but nice and with a balcony. The hotel is along the track and centrally located, just an advice if you are sensitive to noises while sleeping, ask for a room on the other side of the rail. Breakfast is really super!! For sure I will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the rail
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 25

Property: Scandic No. 25
Address: 25 Burggrevegatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Scandic No. 25)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic No. 25 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic No. 25 is centrally located in Gothenburg with the city's major shopping amenities, many restaurants and a rich cultural life, all within easy reach. Liseberg amusement park and the fashionable avenue Avenyn are just around the corner, and the hotel's proximity to Gothenburg Central Station makes it easy for you to go on excursions to the coast and the archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic No. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Gothenburg
Rica Motel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing