We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The atmosphere and the service are awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic No. 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic No. 25
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The atmosphere and the service are awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at Rica Hotel no. 25 for two nights (single bedroom). The welcoming and service at front desk was really good. The room was clean and fresh and newly renovated. The bathroom has a luxurious feeling to it.
The breakfast is really good, pancakes, scramble eggs, croissants, etc – i.e a very nice selection of food in general. The atmosphere at breakfast is very welcoming with a warm and cozy interior.

The door at the hotel room locks itself after 30 seconds, so please be aware that you can't close the door and then press the door handle to see if it's locked, since the door will open. After a call to the front desk, I found out that the solution is to either wait 30 seconds for the door to lock, or use your key card to the room and lock the door immediately when you leave your room.

The location is quite close to the central station, although if you want to stay close to the attractions in Gothenburg (avenyn, Liseberg etc), then you'll find other hotels with much better locations.

Would I stay here again? If Rica could offer a gym, then I would say definitely "YES".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    240
    103
    27
    9
See reviews for
107
164
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect location in Gothenburg. It is 5 minute walk from the Central Station (where airport bus leaves/arrives from) and walking distance to most of Gothenburg's fabulous sites. The rooms were fine, clean and simple with a good sized shower in the ensuite. The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful breakfast - ranging from traditional continental, hot food, pancakes, desserts, fruit station, cereals, granola, freshly squeezed juices and much more. Perfect start to a day walking around the city. The waiting staff were also incredibly nice and attentive. Will definitely recommend to friends and family

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScotinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I care about breakfast, and I really enjoy it when I get a delicious hotel breakfast. This hotel served me the best breakfast I have gotten so far in Sweden. I just loved it. I loved the service, the freshly prepared dishes, the quality of the food, the fruit salad, the freshly squeezed grapefruit juice, etc. Yum! I also had a lovely decorated room on the top floor. The window was facing the railway, and I could hear the trains from my room, but it didn’t actually bother me when going to sleep. Only thing I missed in my room was a writing desk to do some work in the evening. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the railway station.

I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Usually when traveling in Norden I have tended to frequent Scandic based on the fact I know what to expect and the breakfast is usually excellent. But after getting an offer in the mail for a room at almost half the normal price it seemed crazy not to try something a bit better.

Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations. The check-in girl was friendly and efficient and everything was as expected with the booking. On arriving we found the lobby to be cozy with a live fire and well decorated in the spirt of christmas. We had driven from Malmö and arrived quite late in the evening - to find a brew of hot glögg and peppakakor was really a nice touch.

The room is small, but fully equipped with everything from a flat screen TV to a minibar. Our room had a fantastic view over Göteborg Central station - which brings me to my next point - location. This hotel is located just behind the station, a perfect location in other words. We drove up, and parking was a bit of a hassle for which you have two options: pay the hotel 225k per 24hrs for garage parking or you can try your luck on the street where the prices vary from 2kr/hour to 30kr/hour depending on where you park and the time/day. If you can avoid taking the car and take the train this hotel has even more appeal.

Bed was extremely comfortable and despite the vicinity to Göteborg C, we heard no noise from outside. The bathroom has a fantastic big shower (spacious with good pressure) but a few small gripes here: the shower doors didn't close properly resulting in water on the floor .. and while I give kudos for hotel not using disposable soap/shampoo containers, the wall-mounted dispensers were kinda useless.

The breakfast exceeded Scandic quality and the fresh pancakes were a special treat as well as freshly made smoothies in shot glasses The dining area is very cozy in a rustic kind of way but perhaps a little small on the verge of being crowded - but hey, I like my space, especially in the morning. But this was a minor. The breakfast was A-grade.

Staff throughout were friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I heard that Scandic have now purchased Rica Hotels - lets hope they don't Scandify this too much and keep some of the charm.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives great views of Göteborg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Enjoyed a brief stay on a cheap flight to Gothenburg with my older sister.

Hotel was warm and very welcoming - staff very helpful and engaging. Enjoyed having a glass of wine sitting enjoying the cosy lobby area - very Christmassy.

Rooms were adequate - two singles that were comfy, and a table with small tv - we overlooked the train lines, but they weren't noisy and we were too tired after sightseeing to stare out the window so it mattered little.

Beds very comfy - and a wet room bathroom was good too to heat up after the cold wintry day.

Breakfasts are fab buffet style... bacon butties as big as houses, if you like!

There is a supermarket in the road behind the hotel, so worthwhile stocking up on soft drinks there as its soooooo expensive here.

Took a trip to the local theme park to look round the Christmas stalls. People are friendly and it seemed a safe town to walk around at night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter as trains run at the front, but no real problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numnuts_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burglengenfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for a two day business trip. The hotel is situated close to the central station where the airport shuttle stops. I arrived at midnight after a long travel, pretty tired and a bit confused - the receptionist noticed my pain and he really took care of me. The room was well equipped (large flat screen TV, mini-bar) but pretty narrow. I guess I have never had a hotel room without cabinet before. Just a small space behind the mirror, sufficient to put some underwear and 2-3 hangers. Modern bathroom setting, and relatively spacy compared to the actual room. Breakfast buffet was extraordinarily nice - great choice of almost everything, superb food quality. The hotel is rather small, airs familiar athmosphere. If my room was bigger, I would have rated my experience five stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_hallberg, General Manager at Scandic No. 25, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Katerie
Thankyou very much for writing a review from your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Helena Hallberg
General Manager
Rica Hotel No.25
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I traveled to Gothenburg every week during the past many months for business, and I have been staying in a few hotels around the central area just to experience the differences. I gave Rica a four star rating due to the fact that it's really clean, cozy, comfy, functioning and quiet (although my room was right infront of the elevator and on the 3 floor facing the railroad). Yes you could hear the trains passing by, but absolutely not loud or anything close to that, and the traffic is normally quite calm and quiet during the night, and the walls are rather thick in Nordic countries, so as the carpet in this hotel, all these help to reduce the noise. I am a light sleeper by nature, but none of these really bothered my stay. Breakfast was awesome to my standard, apart from those basic/standard selections, they also serve different smoothies, fresh fruit, bacon, omelette, gravlax and other local delicacies. The location of this hotel is roughly 500 - 700m from the central railway station or the nearest tram strop, which is convenient enough. If you are coming here for the first time, you might find the location a bit unpromising, because it is quite in the "backstreet" area, facing the railway, rather dark and quiet.. but it is safe. There are also residential in the same neighborhood, which also explain the quietness as well.

Why I mentioned about not worth the price is because: Rica costs nearly double comparing to some of the centrally located hotels, e.g. Clarion, Scandic, Grand... etc.. In Rica you get:
bathrobe, slippers, sewing kit and some toiletries in additional, otherwise everything else such as breakfast, quality of the bed, pillows, service level are rather similar...So, its up to you how you want to spend your money, or set your value. :)

So, to be honest I only stay here for two reasons:

1) when all the hotels in the central area are fully booked, or
2) when I miss this Thai restaurant (Niyom Thai) across the street on Färgaregatan 4. This is a small restaurant operated by a Thai family, not really fancy or promising from the outside when you walk pass by, because its more like a fast-food setting, you won't see many eaters either, because most people come here for take-away. You could get a meal with soft drink for 80 sek, very tasty and feels very "homecook"!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#33 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 25

Property: Scandic No. 25
Address: 25 Burggrevegatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Scandic No. 25)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic No. 25 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic No. 25 is centrally located in Gothenburg with the city's major shopping amenities, many restaurants and a rich cultural life, all within easy reach. Liseberg amusement park and the fashionable avenue Avenyn are just around the corner, and the hotel's proximity to Gothenburg Central Station makes it easy for you to go on excursions to the coast and the archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic No. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Gothenburg
Rica Motel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing