We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hotel Poseidon is located perfectly, not on a busy street so you have to endure a lot of noise at night, but still only a 1-2 minute walk from Kungsportsavenyn and about 15 minutes from Liseberg. The staff was very welcoming, the room was fine and was offered at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was good and had a nice selection of bread, yogurt, cereals etc.

I'd recommend it if you're not looking for anything fancy but still wants a good, central stay for a good price!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mTraubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed here 2 nights in late May. The location of the Poseidon is great, just a few blocks from Kungsportsavenyn, which has shopping, restaurants and lots of trams to other parts of the city. Our room was spacious, though a little dated. The beds were very soft. We had big windows for lots of light in the room. The breakfast was very good and the front desk staff was helpful and polite. I recommend to travelers looking for a hotel with a convenient location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The hotel is right in the city centre. Old but well kept. Bed is rather a tad too soft unfortunately. Good breakfast and service!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I came to Gothenburg for a business trip. I arrived well before check in and my room was prepared for me in a few minutes. I was given a great room with a balcony, with decent desk facilities, fast and unlimited wireless internet, and comfortable enough surroundings. Room not huge, but compared to 4.5 star hotel I later stayed in during this trip, this was much larger. I was there for 5 nights and didn't feel boxed in at all.
Constantly good service from everyone at the front desk, whether it was help with directions/local advice, or answering a question about something in the room. Breakfast is downstairs in a modest but atmospheric room with typical Swedish fare for breakfast (mostly cold meats, bread, preserves, etc).
The only letdown was no toiletries provided and no fridge in the room, but for the value of money otherwise (compared to other hotels in the area) I could do without. Safe area, and walking distance to everything (though everything is within walking distance in Gothenburg) and closer to Haga (more bohemian sort of area with antique stores, etc) than some other hotels.
Would definitely stay here again. The balcony room made all the difference I think, so ask for one of those rooms if you're on your own.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krrr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip to Gothenburg, at this conveniently located, small family run hotel. The hotel staff was incredible - they gave me excellent suggestions restaurant, patiently explained how to get around the city, and places to go, and overviews of Sweden and Scandinavian culture. They even helped me catch a train to Copenhagen, and what to expect there. I would come back if only for the wonderful staff (I believe he was the owner's son), who made the stay a pleasure.The furniture in the rooms is a bit utilitarian and outdated (by US standards), but well kept, and rooms are clean. Breakfast is also basic, but not bad. Free wi-fi internet access for 24 hours at a time is provided and a pc is available in the lobby. The hotel is located at walking distance from the historic city center and the bus-stop for the line to/from the main airport. An excellent choice if you like small hotel environments, If you like small, quiet hotels with a nice welcoming staff, this will suite you, if you are a 4 star hotel person, you might not be as happy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmb404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip to Gothenburg. It is a small family runned hotel. The hotel staff was very nice - they gave me a good suggestion for a close by restaurant: smakka - and helpful.
What you should expect: the furniture in the rooms is a bit esssential and outdated, but they keep it well, and rooms are clean. Breakfast is also quite essential, but not bad. They provide free wi-fi internet access for 24 hours (which is great if you are on a business trip), and a pc is available in the lobby (where you can also find free coffee and the and biscuits). The hotel has a small and nice backyard/garden which i guess is perfect to spend some hours outside talking and taking a beer with friends. It is located at walking distance from the historic city center and the bus-stop for the line to/from the main airport.
If you like small, quite hotels with nice welcoming staff, that's it! If you, instead, prefer 4* standard hotels (the ones which are all the same independently of where you are) then do not go there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacopone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here after reading TA reviews. The initial welcome was fantastic - the receptionist was very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel is well placed within the Gothenburg area - everywhere is walkable. Coffee on tap in the reception - great. The room was small,clean and adequate with a comfortable bed - but I expected more for the price. The bathroom wasn't good - very basic furniture and the shower enclosure had a load of mold from old silicon sealer and cracked tiles. Really not up to scratch. I stayed on Saturday night and found the the noise from outside in the street was awful - screaming and shouting from a nearby club. This place needs some better glazing. Some Swedish guests also tried their hardest to wake everyone up in the early hours too. I didn't get a lot of sleep. We asked the night receptionist for some more blankets but she wasn't interested. The breakfast was adequate - however, the only hot food offered was boiled eggs. This hotel could be an absolute gem with bit of work - it isn't at the moment. I'll be returning to friendly Gothenburg again ....... but won't be staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing