We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very nice place! Old building, nicely renovated and decorated. Brand-new bathroom.
Relaxed / family atmosphere. In the heart of the city. Recommend it to both, tourist and business travellers, who like to enjoy a smaller and individual hotel at a fair price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    103
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
59
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

location was good, close to the train station. The breakfast was ok, although some more fresh fruit wouldn´t hurt. They did not clean our room properly during the 3 nights we stayed there. Wi-fi in the room is NOT working at all, maybe you can load a page or two and then it stops working altogether. Renovation works are going on, so don´t get scared if you see blue bags labeled "asbestos" outside your room...at least, we tried not to get worried...

Room Tip: our room was facing a inner yard and it was quiet the first 2 nights. However, the last night there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone_P78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I can say that i meet the most friendly and heplfull staff EVER. The beds are extremely confortable.The Poseidon as a very nice location, close to several atractions, restaurants, shops and all type of transports ( just 10/15 minutes walking from central station)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I loved this hotel!

I stayed for a few nights in March on business, and was very impressed by the experience. The hotel is located in a very central and accessible area, nearby to lots of nice restaurants and a short walk (10 to 15 minutes) from the centre of town and the main train station. I mostly walked, but it appeared there were good public transport linkages in the area.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made me feel at home. Wifi was free (included in the room rate) and the staff were helpful with sorting this out when i had a couple of problems. They also arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport.

Breakfast was great, lovely fresh breads and butter, a good selection of cold meats, yoghurts and muesli, sausages and swedish meatballs! Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby, and they also sell a small range of snacks and drinks in the lobby area.

I found the bed to be too soft, and while the bathroom was clean it was quite worn out looking and could do with an update. Those were the only negatives, and on the whole it was a lovely experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaturaZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on super location in a very attractive neighbourhood in central Gothenburg. You can easily walk to all the downtown shops and restaurants.

I stayd one night in a single room. Room was clean but very small. Free WiFi and a desk in the room is good to get some work done. Bathroom clean but very dated. Better and more pleasant lighting should have been installed in the room.

Breakfast was very good!

All on all, in this hotel you get OK accomodation pn a good location at a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Poseidon hotel is placed ner the Aveny, the most lively road of the city of Goteborg, in a very central position. Easy to access by both train and flight by flightbus. It is also near to Goteborg and Chalmers Univeristy sites. The costs are reasonable considering you are in Sweden and the service (personnle, breakfast ... ) are good, However, the it really an old style hotel which needs some refreshing. My room was under-roof, looking at the opposite buildings. The lights were scarce, and the same was for the table and chair. The bathroom was sufficiently large and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and it's a good hotel. It's very close to the centre and you can easily get there on foot or by tram. The staff is very friendly and was always helpful to answer our questions.

Our room was clean and very big: it even had a separate seating area (with a sofa and desk). The shower door was a bit broken (but we could still close it) and the shower itself was not so clean. Nonetheless it was one of the few showers in a hotel (in my experience) that does not leave the bathroom a swimming pool after you have showered. There is no air conditioning (not needed in September when we went, but it might get hot during summer months), but you can open a window.

The breakfast room is below the ground floor, so it is quite dark. Breakfast itself was good and there was plenty to choose from.

All in all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, but found it a bit outdated and in need of some refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veerle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanilla
Hotel Vanilla
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#42 of 67 in Gothenburg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing