We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall it was a pleasant experience”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is a lovely small hotel, centrally located, with its own charm and character. I really liked the size and decoration of the room (I had a single with a queen-size bed). Although the decor could use some renovation (the carpets were not fresh). Checking in and out was easy and fast, the receptionist was polite and very helpful. Free wi-fi in the room was great. They also have tea/coffee making facilities near the reception - so you can have a cup of tea whenever you wish, free of charge. Couldn't complain about the noise, it was quiet outside (although my observations are pretty fragmentary as I stayed there for only one night). The only thing I found disappointing was the freshness of the towels. They were clean of course but they hadn't been dried properly - which gave them this musty-ish smell. But for the rest the room and bathroom were clean and kept nicely. Breakfast was alright, good choice. To sum it up, the hotel is a great value for money, nice place to stay as a tourist or when travelling on business.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medialla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Poseidon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

I stayed at Hotel Poseidon for a couple of nights in September while in Gothenburg on business - and it was great.
The room was small but comfortable, clean and predictably stylish - the staff were excellent and super-helpful and the location was perfect - 5 minutes walk from all the action for shopping, eating and nightlife.
Very good - not the Four Seasons, but the Swedish have a word that has no direct translation into English - the nearest thing is 'just right'. It fits a lot in Sweden, and it fits this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Superior Zimmer
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan-HAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Brukar väljs rum mot gården
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Romina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#54 of 67 in Gothenburg
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £102 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing