We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location with a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Vasa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vasa
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central location with a reasonable price”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel Vasa was a good choice for budget-oriented travelers. We we're four people in two single rooms since we found a special offer for that, and the rooms were spacious enough for two people. The hotel is a bit old but some parts have already been renovated. Half of our group stayed in the first floor with wooden floors, while the other half had a room in the third floor with a carpet floor (not so good for allergic people). Also, the rooms don't have air conditioning which might be a problem in very warm weather.

The best things about the hotel were the central location, good continental breakfast, and friendly service. We didn't realize to book a parking place beforehand, but we got help from the hotel to find a place for our car anyway. However, the hotel has some parking places so do remember to book it beforehand if you need one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wooden floors if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djevushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    52
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
21
44
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights whilst traveling around Scandinavia. We were supposed to be backpacking, but spent a little bit more money to spend four nights in a nice-ish hotel. We weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is, as noted in other reviews, old, but that did not detract from the services available. The rooms are spacious, with flat screen tvs. The bathroom, although old, had a functioning shower, and towels, hand towels and a bath mat were all supplied and could be changed each day. The beds were comfortable. Our own small problem was that the room heated up quickly, as we were on the fourth floor.

Breakfast was wonderful - cold cuts of meat, toast, cereal, tea, coffee, juice, buns and cake. And the best thing was that the buns, cake, tea, coffee and juice were available all day - this meant a lot to a few hungry backpackers who wanted a cup of tea of a cinnamon bun at 3pm after walking around the city!

The staff were great, and answered our numerous questions with patience. And the atmosphere of the place was good - everyone I saw looked happy the be there. The only thing I could suggest is an updated computer in the lounge area - the one I tried to use was so old I couldn't find a USB port on it. As I wanted to transfer photos from my camera to a USB stick, this rendered the computer useless. Additionally, the wireless signal in our room (402) was poor.

However, I would happily return to stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are prone to heat up in summer - remember to ask for a fan?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessamy1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is pretty basic, so don't expect any luxury.
We had limited options since it was fully booked everywhere in Gothenburg so we ended up at Hotel Vasa. The service/staff at the hotel are very friendly.
The quality of the rooms are basic and slightly old, but it was clean and totally ok for 1 night!
The breakfast was quite ok all basic things were there and the hot part was scramled eggs and sausages.
Their free coffee & cokie service 24/7 was great, we could sit down in the lobby when we arrived late after a concert and have a cup and a cokie before going to bed.

The area is good and quite central, just a few minutes walk to Avenyn and the tram is just around the corner if you need to go a longer distance.

There are certainly better options in Gothenburg, but if you get a good price for one night, this hotel might be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in Hotel Vasa during the Madonna Concert Weekend. Decoration and building itself are simple and old but our room was clean & enough in size (#404) with a giant screen tv on the wall. Since it was very hot during our stay and our room was on the top floor, we had to leave the windows open (no a/c) i believe it was good in another way that our room was on the top floor, cause there are bars & restaurants around the hotel which were still open after midnite. That was actually good, cause we enjoyed the sun and had beer in daytime in the bar which was on the other side of the hotel, even had food on the vasatan bar which is on the corner down the street. There is an iron & iron table in the hall for common usage which seemed very practical. Basic breakfast with even scrambled eggs & warm sausages & newspapers. The best thing was the 24 hours free coffee & cake/cookie service down in the lobby. Hotel is located on the calmer area of the city very close to the Gothenburg University, walking distance to the central street and close to the charming area; Haga. All other locations are possible to go by tram which passes just in front of the hotel. (Great for people who are planning to visit Gothenburg for an event in Ullevi Stadium)

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor for less noise since there are bars around. if it`s summer 4th floor can be very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We were traveling as a couple plus my 6 year old daughter so we ordered a double room plus an extra bed (we paid 250 sek extra per night). The room was very small for a couple already so with the extra bed we couldn't move around! Too bad really cause we had noticed other much spacyer rooms next to ours which were not suites so we felt that they could have given us another bigger one since we had booked 2 months before! Not well planned... For the rest all was good and clean, breakfast buffet was fine too. The staff was very friendly and the location perfect in a tranquile area with many restaurants and bars near by.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lolostella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Simple, clean and functional. Helpful staff. Clean room with everything I needed. Breakfast was a self service affair but there were freshly boiled eggs in a basket and bread that could be toasted in the toaster. Free coffee 24 hours a day. Even the self service machine in Reception is pretty good - proper coffee. Not luxury but walking distance to everything we needed and nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredMum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Good location but everything else was pretty average. Decor is dated, breakfast nothing special and staff OK. Much better options out there. If you can get a good deal it would be worth it, but otherwise go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordgrantly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#55 of 67 in Gothenburg
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 67 in Gothenburg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#54 of 67 in Gothenburg
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasa

Property: Hotel Vasa
Address: 6 Viktoriagatan, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Vasa This family-run, Gothenburg hotel is in between the Haga District and the Avenyn shopping street. It offers free Wi-Fi and free coffee, tea and cake in the lobby all day. Satellite TV, private bathrooms and individual decor are standard features at Hotel Vasa - Sweden Hotels. The breakfast buffet can be enjoyed indoors or on the hotel's cozy patio, during warm months. Guests can also enjoy free access to a relaxing sauna. The staff can help arrange bike rentals or book local restaurants. Hotel Vasa is just around the corner from Vasa Viktoriagatan Tram Stop. Gothenburg Central Station is an 8 minute ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasa Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing