We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vasa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vasa
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
lake in the hills, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was only in Gothenburg very briefly as my train arrived really late and I left early the next morning. However, this hotel was within walking distance of both the central train station and the venue of the concert I came in for so it was very convenient. The staff was really friendly and had snacks out at all times to munch on which was great as I got back late from the gig and was quite hungry LOL. And though the reservation included breakfast but the hours were too late for me and my early train departure, the night girl offered to have a couple sandwiches made for me to take along on my ride which was very sweet and helpful.

As for the hotel and room, the only thing that was a bit hard was there were I think 6 steps to get up before the elevator and I had a huge, heavy suitcase but the room itself was very large! It actually had a sitting/living area with a couch and a couple tables, then the bathroom was off of that on one side, the bedroom on the other. The bathroom was a bit small but then again, I've had worse in other parts of Europe so I'm guessing it'd be considered average for the area.

I really liked my time in Sweden in general (was also i Malmo and Stockholm) and hope to come back so I'd definitely consider this hotel again. =o)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockgirl416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
19
39
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California, US
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

There is a tram ride to get to the hotel from the train station. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood close to the the old district (Gamla Stan) of Gotherburg. The staff was nice, room was clean, breakfast was good and the wife was reliable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiongxiong43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are traveling on budget, this is a great place to stay. Rated high for the location. Select a room facing the road for a nice view, although it can get a bit noisy on a wed or sat night. The cakes at the counter are simply superb, and FREE with coffee round the clock - nice touch on a cold day.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ajay9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I liked the cozy atmosphere of this hotel, but there was some noise from the corridor from time to time and I didn't sleep very well. The breakfast was lovely, and it was delightful to have free tea, coffee, bisquits and cake available in the lobby around the clock. The location of the hotel was good. Our room was spacious and bathroom especially nice. This place was good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Vasa is located in a pleasant district, close to the city centre and next to the old town. Good bars and eateries are all near by. Bouffe, next door is particularly good. This is more of a hostal than a hotel. Comfortable, with good housekeeping, nice breakfast selection, with cakes and coffee served, gratis, throughout the day. Although the decor is apparently new, the choice is a bit gloomy, gold and brown wallpaper with maroon curtains. Pity. The rooms are quite small, and could do to be dressed in something lighter and more modern.
We went last Xmas for the Xmas markets. Although the city has some terrific shopping, it isn't really an Xmas market sort of place. It is a city of grand avenues lined with serious looking buildings, and isn't cozy like the market locations in Germany, Austria etc. Even the nearby old town struggled to create the right atmosphere. Still, a good city to visit for a long week end.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBandleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed for two nights in this small, modest but cosy family hotel on a work visit in Gothenburg. Clean, friendly service, and only within short distance to everywhere in the city centre. Lots of choice at breakfast, coffee/tea available in the lobby throughout the day. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room towards the street to be avoided (traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while in Gothenburg on Business. Hotel is grand- not luxurious but adequate for a pleasant stay.

Room was not huge but was clean and warm.

Breakfast was nice- a good selection of cold items and breads with a small number of hot options (sausages, bacon and eggs).

Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Antrim_Journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#53 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanilla
Hotel Vanilla
#44 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasa

Property: Hotel Vasa
Address: 6 Viktoriagatan, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Vasa This family-run, Gothenburg hotel is in between the Haga District and the Avenyn shopping street. It offers free Wi-Fi and free coffee, tea and cake in the lobby all day. Satellite TV, private bathrooms and individual decor are standard features at Hotel Vasa - Sweden Hotels. The breakfast buffet can be enjoyed indoors or on the hotel's cozy patio, during warm months. Guests can also enjoy free access to a relaxing sauna. The staff can help arrange bike rentals or book local restaurants. Hotel Vasa is just around the corner from Vasa Viktoriagatan Tram Stop. Gothenburg Central Station is an 8 minute ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasa Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing