We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but shabby”
Review of Hotel Vasa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vasa
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Oh, boy! I can’t really believe to find Vasa top ranked at Tripadvisor. It must me something wrong, or else Gothenburg has got some serious hotel issues. I can agree with the staffs mild and tender welcoming, but the hotel it self is a mess. I felt dirty. I couldn’t really relax. No way I will return to Vasa. I rather pay a couple of hundreds extra to stay at Avalon. Thats my kind of place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kevlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2008

A very, very good hotel given the price range!

The staff is very nice and attentive, the rooms are nice and clean (still, on the basic side) and the breakfast was a very good experiance for our gluten intolerant daughter. The gluten free bread is excellent!

We will absolutely stay at Hotel Vasa next time in Gothenburg.....

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Hotel is located in downtown Goteborg, a little off of the "tourist" path, near the University. Within walking distance of all major attractions, shopping, etc. and also just 1 block from a tram stop.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in an older building, and our room was fairly large and spacious, with a nice size bathroom. Furnishings, decor, TV, etc. are all quite old, but are all serviceable and clean.

Breakfast was pretty good -- not the best one we had in Scandinavia, but plenty -- cereal, yogurt, eggs, breads, juices, etc.

Overall, good value in a very overpriced city.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Runner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

If you are after a luxury modern hotel in Gothenburg then the Hotel Vasa is not for you - you would probably be better off trying the Radisson. However, if you want an great value hotel right in the middle of Gothenburg with hotel staff who couldn't be more helpful if they tried - then stay at the Vasa.

The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the centre of Gothenburg close to restaurants, shops and other tourist attractions. It is on a fairly busy road and doesn't have air conditioning so night times can be noisey if you have a room on the road (there are plenty of rooms not on the road side though so just ask).

We travelled with our three young kids and herein lies one of the great benefits of thr Hotel Vasa. They have rooms which they call 'mini-suites' which can comfortably fit a family of 5 in and for little more than the cost of a double room. The mini suites have a spacious lounge with two sofas which can be converted into beds and then a separate bedroom with twin beds (pushed together to make a double). There is no door in between the two rooms which isn't ideal but it does give plenty of living accommodation.

The Vasa is a three star hotel and this rating seems fair for the facilities. However, what the rating doesn't tell you is how outstanding the hotel staff are. From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Whether it was helping with the buggy up the first half flight of stairs (to where the lift starts), or printing off maps of how to get to the airport or providing jugs of iced water in the searing heat - it was all done with a smile.

The slight drawbacks for the hotel were the lack of air conditioning in the rooms, the road noise and the lack of much fresh fruit at breakfast. The rooms also got light quite early as the full height windows had only thin curtains and no blackout. Having siad this, the Vasa is an excellent choice of hotel for a stay in Gothenburg - particularly if you are travelling with kids and not on a luxury budget.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We stayed here for three nights in February for my husband's birthday and were impressed and would recommend this hotel. We booked direct and paid a bit more for a larger room. All of our e-mails were answered efficiently and in a friendly manner. The room was really pleasant with two very comfy single beds, making a large double, sofa, armchair etc. The bathroom only had a shower but it was a large, powerful shower. The staff couldn't do enough for their guests, including making tea and coffee which was available in the reception area but not the rooms.
The buffet breakfast was adequate but the choice was not amazing, but it had all the basics - bread, cheese, meats, cereal and yoghurt.
It is not far to the old town and extremely well positioned. Haga was only a couple of minutes walk too with its boutique style shops, cafes etc.
We loved the hotel and if you're heading to Gothenburg, we would recommend a stay at the hotel but in all honesty, Gothenburg itself didn't really grab us. The Swedish people were all friendly, helpful, polite and spoke almost perfect English, there were hundreds of places to eat and drink and they all looked fantastic (we didn't see one place that we wouldn't have liked to go in) and they seemed to be open until the early hours. There are several bars and restaurants within yards of the hotel although we didn't experience any noise from them. I don't know why we didn't fall in love with Gothenburg as it really had everything going for it. Perhaps the weather didn't help. Possibly Swedes come to London for our weather.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

The hotel is simple and to a certain extent basic but all in all nice and functional. My room was small but did its job well. The breakfast buffet was not bad: with a sufficient variety of stuff. The hotel is located not far from the town center (10/15 min walk) and close to a public parking. Overall, I had a nice experience there and the price paid seems to me reasonable (for average Swedish standards). If possible, I would have given 3,5 points to this hotel (the system accepts only 3 or 4, no half points).

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Found this hotel in the internet by chance and am so glad I did. When we first booked the hotel staff emailed me with precise information on which trams to get from the Central Station and where to go once off the tram, we also requested an iron/board in our room which was there waiting for us. The hotel staff (family run) are so friendly and helpful. They even stock Gothenburg Passes (although they had ran out). They have maps on the reception desk and are happy to point out any places you want to visit. Breakfast in the mornings is vast, cereal, toast, eggs, yoghurt, crisp breads, ham, cheese, tea, coffee etc. and it's buffet style so you can help yourself as much as you like. We stayed for 3 nights and on our first night went to the Pasta + restaurant which was fantastic (although service wasn't). The hotel were happy to change up our large kroner notes for us whenever we asked. They also sell drinks and chocolate in reception (which is 24 hours) so if you get a snack attack it's no problem. Also recommend Universum, Paddan Boat trip, Lilla London Restaurant and the many McDonalds we visited for lunch - Sweden is expensive so we saved our pennies for lovely meals in the evening and fast food for lunch. Overall we loved Gothenburg and this was helped by the lovely staff and service we received at Hotel Vasa.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sarah-june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#63 of 67 in Gothenburg
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#57 of 67 in Gothenburg
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,027 reviews
3.1 mi away
Apple Hotel
Apple Hotel
#51 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#54 of 67 in Gothenburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasa

Address: 6 Viktoriagatan, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £74 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Vasa This family-run, Gothenburg hotel is in between the Haga District and the Avenyn shopping street. It offers free Wi-Fi and free coffee, tea and cake in the lobby all day. Satellite TV, private bathrooms and individual decor are standard features at Hotel Vasa - Sweden Hotels. The breakfast buffet can be enjoyed indoors or on the hotel's cozy patio, during warm months. Guests can also enjoy free access to a relaxing sauna. The staff can help arrange bike rentals or book local restaurants. Hotel Vasa is just around the corner from Vasa Viktoriagatan Tram Stop. Gothenburg Central Station is an 8 minute ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasa Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing