We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very quiet hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of STF Stigbergsliden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
STF Stigbergsliden
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very quiet hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Pros of this hostel: clean, nice wooden furniture rooms facing the garden, great location, close to parks, to haga and the city centre (if you don't like to walk you have many trams) and very quiet, for families I would say..which becomes a cons if you are looking for more party atmosphere. Yet we were looking for relax so it was ok, also because we went to the city centre to hang out. The only real con could be that the staff is not always available at the reception but again it wasn't a problem for us so I would recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
6
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I love hostelling. There's something enjoyable about meeting people from all walks of life and then having to live cheek by jowl with them!

STF Stig is your quintessential old school hostel. Based in a series of old seaman's cottages you get shared facilities and a spot on a bunk bed. The bathrooms were always clean, kitchen facilities were plentiful and the shared common room had a TV.

The rooms were slightly disappointing. Our 8 bed dorm was cramped and had practically no ventilation making it hot and smelly at times. Still we made some good friends and had an awesome night out at Excetra.

Beware that some guests are seriously miserable though!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Quiet location but also conveniently located on tram line and near ferry port. Grocery store very close if you want to get good food to prepare in full kitchen. Clean accommodations. Nice garden space if you want to be outdoors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The location is nice, in an old sailor house. The place is clean and calm, at least when i stayed there. The breakfast is a good and cheap for swedish standards. However this is a tipical state-run swedish hostel, so there is no feeling of being part of a community. People also go there with their family, so the guest are from 18 years old to 70 and none try to mix with the other guests. The staff is friendly but definitly not ready to do anything to help you. I needed to print a 1 page boarding pass and got refused the access to the printer... and told to go to the city library which is 20 min away by tram...

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JuB477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

not really nice but very lovely hostel.
breakfast is possible if needed.
the downtown is 15 minutes with a tram from here.
the mood is quiet, slow.
220 V , wifi, drinking water, shower is in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

The hostel itself is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre, or 3-4 tram stops. The rooms themselves are rather small and not too well ventilated, although despite the fact I stayed in July, didnt get too hot. Internet is available at a cost.

The reception service was very helpful however.

Breakfast is reasonably priced and tasty, but the main issue was the small breakfast room. Also watch out, since there is an approx 4-5 hour period in the daytime where the reception is closed and you cannot check in.

Dont forget to take a lock for the lockers, when I arrived they had also sold out!

If I were to stay again, I would look for alternative hostels although if unavailable, I would consider stopping here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britingermany789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We went to Gothenburg to celebrate New Years Eve and staied at this cozy place. The room was a 8 bed dorm but we only inhabitat with 3 people, us 2 and one other. The layout of the hostel is quite strange as it has several wings and you need to know how to get to yours. Anyway, the location is great due to the fact that the tram and buses leave right infront of your door, supermarkets are just around the corner (check the opening times, strange too) and you can walk to a lot of places of interest (maritime museum, churches, observatorium) as well. The hostel was overall clean and most visitors, at least in our wing, have been in their late 20s up to the late 30s which made the stay quiet and enjoyable. The beds were bunks but wider than normal ones which raised the sleep quality. One problem is that the hostel doesn't offer lockers but only open shelfs to store ones stuff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWiedemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.3 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Slottsskogens Hostel
Slottsskogens Hostel
#1 of 17 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linneplatsens Hotell & Vandrarhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF Stigbergsliden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Stigbergsliden

Property: STF Stigbergsliden
Address: Stigbergsliden, Gothenburg 414 63, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — STF Stigbergsliden 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your STF Stigbergsliden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing