We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slottsskogens Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Slottsskogens Hostel
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I slept there for only one night, therefore my impression is based on a very short stay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I booked two bed room per hostelworld and I traveled alone (then you have to book for two persons) - when I arrived, they gave me an available single room as they realized that I am only one person. Very nice. The small room was great anyway. It felt very good for just an simple hostel. At the end of the floor was a kitchen and small social room. There was a second social room close the the street which was very comfy.

I think you will have a good time in the Slottsskogens Youth Hostel - especially when you know other hostels around the world!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    77
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
21
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed in a wide range of hostels, all over Europe, and this one is just my favourite ! We paid 25€ per night, and this is nothing for Scandinavia. And 25€ for the quality we got, is really nothing.
Our dorm looked like a doll house: white wooden bunk beds, a table with a mirror and HAIRDRYER ( a very welcome luxury when you spend most of your time camping), each set of bunk beds had a large trunk with a locker, where you could store all your belongings.
the kitchen, THE KITCHEN , was just pure madness. High tech, vast, with two gigantic fridges, and enough cooking space for a group to be in the kitchen at the same time. there were computers as well as WIFI (all free) available. there were travel books, brochures and even novels left there for you to look at (or to exchange, in the case of novels).
we were travelling for a month so we did have our own linen and towels, so i cant comment on that.
there were several bathrooms each with shower, wc and wash basin , all in one room so you had some privacy to yourself.
the reception staff was uber friendly and gave us all the indications we needed to find cheap shops and the likes.
the location was ideal, near the Haga district. Although a tad far from the main station (it took us 40min walking with heavy backpacks to reach it). But it is close to the huge park , there are Lidle and other cheap shops around.

It was just PERFECT. oh and did I mention the amazing softness of the mattress??? I don't think I have ever slept that well in a hostel. I was just gutted we were only staying 2 nights. I would have happily spent a week there, considering what an amazing city Gothenburg is!
Next time I'm in town - cos I WILL come back - I am definitely staying at that hostel :D

In a nutshell: gold medal of European hostel 8)

Room Tip: Book in advance to get cheap rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night by myself, the lady at the front desk was super friendly and helpful.

Its not super cheap but neither is sweden so its normal. They cant be blamed for that!

The social areas of the hostel are well separated from the sleeping areas so you cant hear noise in the room.

Breakfast was an extra 65 or 68 kr and included heaps, so if you are a big eater at breakfast its worthwhile, if you arent, dont bother with it.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012


Stayed mid may 2012

Hostel was ok - good value for money. Staff were more than friendly. Good location, there are some really nice parks around so you can hire a bike down the road and ride around. There are shops nearby to get you booze and groceries and slottss have a GREAT kitchen... Probably one of the best I have seen in a hostel. 

The hostel seems quite big and when we were there empty however we always had someone in our room ( we stayed in a 4 bed - me and two mates)

Nightlife nearby, just catch a taxi. Gothenburg is much the same as Stockholm prices for most things including alcohol just remember to PRE-drink before you go out because bars are expensive. 

I would stay here again and would recommend this hostel. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDCmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

If your budget is limited, then this is the best place to stay in. Rooms are clean, reception people are cordial and helpful, reception people are very well versed with the territory of Gothenburg and help with directions in a precise manner, bathrooms are well maintained, and so on.
To add to all this, they have an excellent kitchen. This is really helpful, as you can cook your food here, and can store the rest in the huge sized fridges that they have. The kitchen is really well-equipped, and they have utensils of all sizes and shapes, and have multiple induction surfaces for cooking. Also, this facility is available 24-hours!!!
The location of this hostel is also good, and is well connected by both local tram and local buses. There is a big Hemkop super store at stone-throw distance, and u can get all your requirements from there.

There is just one issue - the room in which i stayed was cramped, and the storage facility was really limited. The sleeping mattresses could have been of a bit better quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xplorer_DrChewIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avesta, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in a private room with my friend in july 2012. This hostel was overall good, nothing to complain about really. The location is pretty good, the room was clean, the price good compared to other hostels in Gothenburg, kitchen, free city map.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalinEOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My friends and I stayed in a 4-person private dorm for one night. The receptionists were very helpful and took the time to map out the nearby sites, bars, and restaurants. Our room was in the rather grim looking "alternate" building (the hostel's rooms span two side-by-side buildings), but was comfortable and clean on the inside. The shared bathrooms were modern and clean... and are a series of single toilet/shower rooms (not stalls, which is nice for people with shared bathroom phobia like me). Our building had a small but nice kitchen and sitting area on the second floor.

The hostel is in a good location, easily reached by the blue streetcars that crisscross the city. There are plenty of bars, restaurants, and shops within walking distance, and it's just a 15 minute streetcar ride from virtually everything in the city center.

Slottskogens (Backpackers) definitely comes recommended for the flexible traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostoncollege11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#24 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.3 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpackers Goteborg
Backpackers Goteborg
#2 of 17 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slottsskogens Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slottsskogens Hostel

Property: Slottsskogens Hostel
Address: 21 Vegagatan, Gothenburg 413 11, Sweden (Formerly Slottsskogens Youth Hostel)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Slottsskogens Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated hostel in a lively part of Goteborg, with a wide choice of cafes, restaurants and pubs. Good communications and within walking distance to a lot of sights. The hostel offers single- double- and family rooms, as well as dormitories and apartments. We are the only hostel open 24 hours/day.(Wintertime closed 1-6 am) We are certificated for our environmental policy. We offer free high speed WiFi, stationary computers with internet and free movies every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Slottsskogens Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing