We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in the very center”
Review of Hotel Robinson

Hotel Robinson
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Robinson
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The Location couldn't be better. The Rooms are quite small and noisy due to the location. IKEA furniture. Good beds, good Breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Classe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had booked a junior-suite at this hotel for one night,for our romantic away-from-home weekend, but when we came into the room, we were very disappointed. The room was dirty,dirt on the floor,the furniture was dirty and sticky, stains all over the sofa... If I book a junior-suite,I take for granted that the room has a minibar, and is cosy and nicelly furished. So was not the case here. No minibar, and very tiny tv, mis-matching bed and sidetables.. I could go on and on...but I'm not gonna. So we took our luggage and went down to the reception, and said we didnt want to stay here,that we would find another hotel. The receptionist didnt even ask why!! :O I'll never ever book a room at this "hotel" again, and I will certainly not recommend this to anyone!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleysmatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Me and my friend had one night in Gothenburg on our way home from Stockholm, and finding anything for under £100 a night was a task (with even hostel comming in a £50-60 a night!) so for £5 extra we booked a basic room for £70 in this hotel.

The actual hotel is really nice, with good clean rooms. As wetook the baisc room, our room had no toilet or shower in it, but that was in the hallway just across from our room.

Staff are really helpful and inviting!

Location-wise it is brilliant! Less than 5 minutes walk from the train and bus station, though the street infront of the hotel was getting roadworks done to it, so at 5am the workers started their work (this is probably the only bad thing I have to say).

Once checked in and seen your room, the hotel is within easy walking distance of all of what Gothenburg has to offer.

If I was to visit again, I think I would pay the extra £10 again and stay in the SAS Raddison Blue just across the street (other friends stayed here and they were £90 for a twin room)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Gothenburg and was pleasantly surprised- I was not sure what to expect as the price was almost too good to be true! I had a room with private bath, but they had shared bathroom options as well. decent sized room and bathroom. Breakfast very nice, good free wi-fi. were very gracious to let me check in very early as I arrived for an appointment that wound up being cancelled. Had two twin beds pushed together so felt like a big bed. Very close to shopping, dining, and central station. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

The hotel Robinson is undergoing more redecoration and to be fair, it needs it.

The hotel is very central and has a Euro Carpark 2 minutes walk away. (180SEK per 24hrs). The avenue with its shops and restaurants and the Station are all just minutes away.

As you walk into the hotel, it looks dreadful! The reception is on the 1st floor and if I had not already been booked in, I doubt I'd have bothered to go on. You have to prepay, but the receptionist - Anne- was very friendly and spoke perfect English (My Swedish is non-
existent). coffee & biscuits, internet and TV are all available 24hrs in the small lounge.

My room was small and basic, but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I only stayed one night as I was on business, but I could easily have stayed for a long weekend and the few staff I met were very friendly. Above all the room was cheap; just 695 SEK.

The brouchure shows much better rooms and they might be a better option for couples or for longer stays.

I would most certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

My business colleague and I were booked at this hotel during the European Athletic Championships, when Gothenburg is absolutely packed and it is very hard to find any accommodation centrally.

Let's start with some positives: it is very central, right in the heart of the city. From the outside the building looks fine. Despite everything else the bedrooms appeared to be reasonably clean, albeit my colleague's room was not cleaned on a daily basis.

The hotel starts on the 1st floor of the block. On arriving in the Reception area I was advised that they had no record of my booking, despite it being booked at the same time as that of my colleague. Some forty minutes later the guy in Reception, after much shrugging, and muttering 'impossible', and various phone calls, declared that he could offer me a room without shower or bath for that night, a move to another room with shower the following night, and a move on my last night to another room with shower.

All accommodation has to be paid for in advance.

Under any other circumstances we would have already left anyway. But then not only would the company have picked up any difference, but quite frankly I would have done so myself. As it was I retired to my room without shower for the night..

The room was the most basic I have stayed in (OK I'm probably spoilt). Wooden laminate floors, very, very cheap furniture (previous review suggesting 10 yr old IKEA was being insulting to IKEA!)., and very poor, and old, standard of decoration etc. But it was adequate and although the shower arrangements were inconvenient it was ok for the one night.

Noise levels are substantial. OK, I accept that a fair amount of this was due to the hugely swollen night time activity from the Games. But never-the-less, with trams running outside of your window, and a lively night time club atmosphere it is very noisy, unless you want to keep your window jammed shut in your non air conditioned room.

Th next night I got an "upgrade" and found myself in the smallest hotel bedroom I have ever been in. The bed could only fit one way (along the length of the room). The door was at the foot of the bed, the window at the head. The bed was hard against the right-hand wall, with just enough space to walk down the left hand side. However, because there is a radiator under the window, it was impossible to push the bed against that end (eg to avoid the pillows falling off the end of the bed), or to put a headboard there. Therefore, bizarrrely they had screwed a headboard along the long-side of the wall... The TV was on a shelf just large enough to hold it. My wardrobe was approximately half the width of a normal single wardrobe. There was no room for a chair, nevermind a desk.

The bathroom was tiny with a corner shower that flooded all of
the floor area as, apart from anything else, the shower curtain ended approx 6 inches from the floor.

I was disappointed to be told that I would not be moving to a third room, as by then I had arrived at a theory that based on the diminishing size of the rooms, the next night I would be sleeping in a Broom Cupboard.

Breakfast is a very simple cold buffet, eaten in tiny canteen type rooms. If one thing summed up the experience for me it is the fact that they water down their Fruit Juice! The second thing was that the pictures of bedrooms etc shown both in the material displayed on the walls of the hotel, and in the guide book in the actual rooms, bore no resemblance to any rooms that myself or my colleague actually saw.

This is a tired, tired hotel, with holes in the corridor carpets. It is in desperate need of some investment. Because of the Games, when no doubt that every hotel is trying to boost its revenue, I paid SEK 1000 per night - a complete, and utter rip off.

Under other circumstances, if you say have a large family, and a very limited budget, providing you can get a VERY competitive rate this may be answer for you for a short stay. Apart from which I cannot in any way reccommend this hotel to you.

But I would like to emphasise that based on my brief stay, Gothenburg is a fine city, with nice people, and under normal circumstances there are many good hotels to choose from.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Uxbridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockholm, Sweden
1
Reviewed 24 March 2006

Well, the location is not to complain about, as it is about 100 metres from the central train station. Rooms are OK, a bit lower than average swedish hotels, (who in generel have a very high level of comfort, internationally compared). During the night I made good use of my earplugs, heard pretty much from the corridor and/or next room. But all in all good value/great location considering the price!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,094 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
1.3 mi away
Linneplatsens Hotell & Vandrarhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,421 reviews
1 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robinson

Address: 2 Soedra Hamngatan, Gothenburg 411 06, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Robinson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Robinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing