We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip Sweden may 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    204
    57
    17
    4
See reviews for
69
176
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
340 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel has just undergone an owner change...we stayed 2 nights in a "Family Room" which slept 4 in sailor bunk beds. We were tight in the space but actually in the 2 rooms, it had more rooms than other hotels we've stayed in. The children absolutely loved it! The room was clean and decorated in wooden sailor style...flat screen TV and 4 waters (carbonated) to drink when we arrived. The shower was fine and the bathroom very clean and new.
Breakfast was at 6:30 and full of meats/cheeses to eat. We loved the fresh baked breads and the Swedish jams...vanilla yogurt and cereals. Note that the sodas in the case behind the desk are extra (not included in the breakfast), so we had to pay for them at the check out.
You can walk back to see where the Captain would have slept/eaten and what his accommodations were like, which was fun to see.
The reception desk was extremely friendly and helpful. They emailed and were available by email to book the reservation and email you confirmations almost immediately, which is smart. When we arrived, they were most accommodating and helpful to us, calling taxis for us and offering to allow us to get our boarding passes behind the desk with them, on their computer/printer. It was a fun stay, and the kids really enjoyed it! A special experience.

Room Tip: There are only about 30 rooms in the whole ship, so if they are all the same, (like ours in room #21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I recently stayed on the ship for 2 nights. Overall a very enjoyable experience. My cabin was very comfortable - I had a twin, and although a little small, this was expected due to be being located onboard a ship. There is a lovely quiet guests lounge where you can sit away from your cabin and make use of the free Wifi. I wished that there was tea making facilities in the rooms, but the reception provided me with a pot of tea when I asked, free of charge. Breakfast is nice but fairly simple. Overall, somewhere to try if you want a break from the faceless multinational hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware, in March, the restaurant is not open on a Monday evening - but town is no more than a 5 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piaseczno
Level Contributor
178 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel was sailing ship and it's converted for hotel and small restaurant. It is located near harbour. Be prepared for using shared bathrooms. Cabin costs for two person about 1600 Skr, but for sure it is worth it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

The hotel is relatively close to the train station. It was an easy walk even while carrying luggage. It was a really unique place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a great breakfast buffet in the morning that included an extensive selection of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a well run and beautiful hotel, conveniently located downtown (erm....on the river!) near the Opera House and Casino.

I had worried about it being cold, but there was no need to worry. Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesshakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We emailed this hotel the day before our visit to find the directions from the railway station. We received a prompt reply which told us to go into the shopping mall right in front of the station, walk into the middle, turn right, go to the end and go across the glass bridge. You will see the hotel in front of you. The rooms contained twin beds and a compact bathroom with a shower. As our room was close to the bow of the ship, the floor sloped slightly. This was not a problem. It added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was a typical European one: scrambled and boiled eggs, cereals and a variety of cold meats, cheeses and breads. The reception staff was friendly, helping with wifi problems for a novice and finding the address of a shop in Stockholm that stocked a brand of children's clothing that was designed in Gothenberg but which we were unable to get as little stores are shut on Sundays. This hotel is so close to the mall where there are plenty of places to eat and where the shops are open on Sundays. This hotel is a great place for children judging by the delighted looks on the faces of those we saw staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing