We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lander S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel has just undergone an owner change...we stayed 2 nights in a "Family Room" which slept 4 in sailor bunk beds. We were tight in the space but actually in the 2 rooms, it had more rooms than other hotels we've stayed in. The children absolutely loved it! The room was clean and decorated in wooden sailor style...flat screen TV and 4 waters (carbonated) to drink when we arrived. The shower was fine and the bathroom very clean and new.
Breakfast was at 6:30 and full of meats/cheeses to eat. We loved the fresh baked breads and the Swedish jams...vanilla yogurt and cereals. Note that the sodas in the case behind the desk are extra (not included in the breakfast), so we had to pay for them at the check out.
You can walk back to see where the Captain would have slept/eaten and what his accommodations were like, which was fun to see.
The reception desk was extremely friendly and helpful. They emailed and were available by email to book the reservation and email you confirmations almost immediately, which is smart. When we arrived, they were most accommodating and helpful to us, calling taxis for us and offering to allow us to get our boarding passes behind the desk with them, on their computer/printer. It was a fun stay, and the kids really enjoyed it! A special experience.

Room Tip: There are only about 30 rooms in the whole ship, so if they are all the same, (like ours in room #21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I recently stayed on the ship for 2 nights. Overall a very enjoyable experience. My cabin was very comfortable - I had a twin, and although a little small, this was expected due to be being located onboard a ship. There is a lovely quiet guests lounge where you can sit away from your cabin and make use of the free Wifi. I wished that there was tea making facilities in the rooms, but the reception provided me with a pot of tea when I asked, free of charge. Breakfast is nice but fairly simple. Overall, somewhere to try if you want a break from the faceless multinational hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware, in March, the restaurant is not open on a Monday evening - but town is no more than a 5 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel was sailing ship and it's converted for hotel and small restaurant. It is located near harbour. Be prepared for using shared bathrooms. Cabin costs for two person about 1600 Skr, but for sure it is worth it

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The hotel is relatively close to the train station. It was an easy walk even while carrying luggage. It was a really unique place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a great breakfast buffet in the morning that included an extensive selection of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a well run and beautiful hotel, conveniently located downtown (erm....on the river!) near the Opera House and Casino.

I had worried about it being cold, but there was no need to worry. Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesshakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
2.0 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dockyard Hotel
Dockyard Hotel
#47 of 67 in Gothenburg
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: Lilla Bommens torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing