We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent 4 nights here. Location really excellent, very easy to walk from train/bus station. Close to city, transport and shopping. Beds comfortable, good breakfast. We couldn't open the window in our room so was sometimes a bit stuffy, but other members of the party had no trouble with their rooms. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Really provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you.
We are pleased to hear that you and your party had an enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    205
    63
    19
    4
See reviews for
71
181
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had originally booked a different, more expensive hotel, but then found the Barken Viking on TA and thought it would fun to try. So glad I did - what an out-of-the-ordinary experience. I walked with my luggage from the train station. It was easy to find. I enjoyed my little room for the one night I was there -- small bed but everything was so quaint & cozy. (It was a single room.) Remembered where I was during the night when I got up to go to the bathroom... and was a bit surprised by the sloping floor! But that made it special and fun. The décor, the cleanliness, the common areas -- all very good. The hotel staff was also very helpful in answering my questions about the accommodations pre-trip. They were pleasant and friendly. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you!
We are pleased that you decided to stay at Barken Viking.

Looking forward to welcoming you "on Board" soon again.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Baren Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed there for a night and the front personnel was very helpful regarding my questions as to how to move around the city. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well, the temperature in the room was however strange, sometimes it felt too warm and stifling but at the same time there was a very cold draft. Breakfast has very convenient hours and even though it closes at 10:00 some things were already over by 9:00 and there was no staff to be seen to ask for more, hence the three stars. It is anyway a charming place to stay, close to everything in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 11Amber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for you kind review.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the rum temperature.
I will have to investigate this further with our facility manager.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My trip was only for staying one night there and I found this place near railway station that is reasonable and most of all interested. The idea to keep a old vessel in harbor for tourist is not only elegant but also affordable, you can see all around from the upper deck and feel like old pirate in the middle of sea. I recommend it and wait to be back with my family in summer to enjoy many days in Goteborg.
Dan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cdantim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you with your family this summer.
(The upper deck on a sunny summer day is even more enchanting than it is normally)

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I needed a business hotel close to my customer, and this was 100m away, so I booked it. The taxi driver didn't know where it was, or more accurately, he didn't know this heritage ship was a hotel, so he took me to a different ship - not the hotel's fault, but challenging!

The staff were lovely; the ship is completely authentic; the cabin was small, with a single cabin bed, but very clean and warm, with excellent WiFi internet. As I say, very interesting! There's a real communal feel to the place with lots of sofas and chairs in nooks and crannies, with coffee and tea available at reception all night. We had 100km/hr winds the night I stayed, and the ship rocked gently on its moorings, which meant I slept like a log :-)

The only reason I gave 4*, was that the restaurant was closed for refurb, and the site I booked through did not know, so getting an evening meal involved a late night walk through a somewhat unsavoury part of town, to a pretty rough and crappy burger place, through wild and windy weather. Otherwise it was a unique and excellent night.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, make sure you request one, and check the restaurant is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pjg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear pjg247,

I have to thank you twice.
First of all for you really kind comments on the hotel but also for bringing to my attention that not all sites have updated information about the restaurant closure for refurbish.
I will, of course ,investigate further and take all necessary actions so that this information is properly displayed.

We look forward to see you soon again and hope you will have a good night sleep even without stormy winds outside.

Kind regards,

Emanuele & Staff @ Barken Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Barken Viking, a four-masted steel windjammer, was a stunning hotel which I was fortunate to call home while in Göteborg. My room was at the bow, which made for an interesting configuration and a slightly sloping deck. My pristine sleeping “quarters” held a single bed and cushy lounge chair which were decorated in a robust nautical red. The wooden walls shone with a rich luster.

Two portholes afforded a perfect day-view of the sparkling water. At night, through the open portholes, I could hear the rain lightly tapping the water’s surface. City lights beamed lazily across the still surface of the harbor. The pungent scent of salt-tinged air drifted in through the open portholes.

Barken Viking’s breakfast was a smörgåsbord of delights, including smoked salmon, caviar and exotic cheeses. A gentle glow from the table lanterns set a mysterious mood, even in the early morning hours.

The desk staff members were always pleasant and helpful – they called for taxis and answered questions about the city.

As a guest I was privileged to wander the decks. The view from the “top deck” was fascinating, especially at sunset. Looming large behind the ship was a symmetrical building nicknamed “The Lipstick” due to its erect stature and curious red and white hue. The ship’s wheels were still intact and beautifully varnished.

For anyone fascinated by sailing ships – this hotel is a “must-stay.” My stationary “voyage” on the Barken Viking will long remain a pleasant memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NockieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you NockieT!

You review was an enjoable reading and most probably the finest description of what a stay at Barken Viking can be like.

We are proud to manage this fantastic hotel and to meet many fantastic guests everyday.
You are of course one of our favorites!

Kind regards,

Emanuele & Staff @ Barken Viking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

From the receptionist through to the chamber maids the staff were professional, friendly and great. Coffee, fruit and biscuits available complementary at all times. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was extensive and an abundance of protein to fuel the day. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.
Peter and Helen Asberg

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenstravellening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you!
Your kind words really warmed our hearts.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you "on board" soon again.

Kindest regards,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing