We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characteristic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful, city-famous boat. Central position, close to the station and the city centre, but the pier is a little careless... Nice room, and nice breakfast; unfortunately wifi is available (for free)only in the hall, it doesn't work in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barone2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Many thanks for kind you review of Barken Viking.
I am sorry that you had trouble with the Wi-Fi connection which is supposed to work everywhere on board. We are otherwise pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & staff at Barken Viking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice experience, to be hosted in a real, floating boath, walking only 3 meters far from mainland..!
quite excellent confort, no noisy nor crowded at few walking minutes from city center and bus/train Hub.
wide choiche of tipical and international food at brekfast, more than reasonably price... what else?
suggested!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxsalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you!
We are happy to hear that you liked Barken Viking.

Sincerely,
Emanuele & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a business stay for one night, it was a nice and unique place to stay in such a special place with unique views and surrounding, Should have been fine to have a bar in the evening which is open to have a drink

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hnsk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry to hear that you missed the Barken Viking Boat Club,
Dinner deck, bar & grill.
Our summer concept is now opened and here to stay until August 11th.
We are of course considering to have the bar opened all year around.

Warm welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the best and most unique hotel we found in our 2 weeks of travel. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the boat is fun to explore. I only wish the bar/restaurant had been open during our visit. Highly recommend to anyone going to Gothenberg!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you loved your stay.
Our restaurant is now opened, sorry you missed it :-)

We hope to see you soon again on board.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The ship is stunningly beautiful, and the location is good, a few minutes walk from Central train station and the massive shopping complex Nordstan.
Booking, at the hotel's own website, was also carefree. We especially appreciate that the website accepted two adults plus two kids in a normal room, a lot of hotels still have their websites programmed so that this causes problems!
We arrived at night, put the kids to bed and then wanted a drink. But the in-house restaurant is closed for renovation, and there don't seem to be a plan for when and how this refurbishment is to take place. We bought a couple of beers in reception to enjoy on the upper deck.
The deck is lovely, as you would expect from a ship built in 1906. The problem is that no-one seems to take care of the outdoor areas. Old furniture was lying around in droves, plus beer bottles and so on.
Since the weather was great, we also wanted to have breakfast outside. But by the next morning staff had blocked the stairs to upper deck with a rope. We thought that silly, and went up anyway - no-one seemed to mind.
Apparently the hotel has changed owners recently, and right now it seems to be a hit-and-miss affair. The rooms are small but very cozy, and the ship is a gem, so we hope they can stabilize their course - and get the restaurant up and running - again soon!

PS. Bonus points for taking care of our mobile phone charger, which we forgot in the room but were able to pick up a couple of days later.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed as family of 4, for 1 day/ 1 night at this lovely boutique hotel. It was an unique feeling staying in a large boat. All rooms are nice, well-maintained, cosy and comfortable. These rooms provide a good mix of enchanting vintage with contemporary utility value. Lovely location, 10minute walking from Gothenburg Central Station.
Very hospitable and warm staff.
Wished that the on-board restaurant was operational, though staff explained that it will start later this year.
Should there be an opportunity we will visit Barken Viking again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank JayenShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel that's out of the ordinary. It has quiet, modern rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. 5 minute walk into the city and tram/bus stops. If i was in Gothenburg again I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BackpackBugUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#32 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 65 in Gothenburg
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#18 of 65 in Gothenburg
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#20 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: Lilla Bommens torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing