We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

location wise this is a perfect place to explore the city from, central whilst being in it's own peace and quiet on the water. It is however, quite hard to find so a tip here Lilla Bomen is an area and as such is well sign posted when you get near, you will see a tall red and silver building, the boat is right near that, it's easy to see and make your way there. Please note though there is no parking for the hotel/boat so it will cost as you have to park either in the shopping centre car park or a public car park nearby - the hotel does do 24 hour vouchers which reduce the cost slightly.

The boat is lovely, as are the rooms full of character and it is a boat so the charm is there. They have the deck where you can sit but no comfortable deckchairs just hard back. They have a bar up there but not open, whether it ever is I don't know. Also restaurant not open except for breakfast, which was pretty good, not sensational but plenty of choice. Staff hmm there was one receptionist who could not have been more helpful but if you want any advice about things to see etc. as far as the other two were concerned they seemed to just want to get back to their computers rather than bother with any of that. Breakfast staff wonderful very diligent. The deck is a wonderful place to watch the world go by, there is a plaza right in front of the hotel and this seems to have some very diverse activities - a veteran car rally, photo shoots and you can also see the opera house. There is a combination bus and boat tour - we went in May and so the boat wasn't running in the harbour, although we did manage the canal bit after a bit of bus tour, however a word of warning check what time the last bus is, it was about 4.00 in the afternoon which cramped our style somewhat. I won't comment too much on Gothenburg as don't think it would be fair, we didn't really see enough of it, what we did see wasn't terribly impressed, very busy. Would I stay there again - absolutely it was an unusual and charming place to stay and loved the apartness from the city, while having it very

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    204
    57
    18
    4
See reviews for
69
177
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staying on the ship was a lovely experience. We loved that you could see the masts from a long way off and that it was so convenient to the city, it was like being on a cruise. The cabin was a good size well appointed and clean, breakfast was plentiful - you have to do it. We are on board on one of the nights. The menu is limited for obvious reasons but it was very pleasant sitting on deck eating nice food and watching the sunset. They have singers most nights. I don't like noise but this was not intrusive. Drinks at the bar are limited and nothing diet. Plenty of beer. There are conference facilities - that would fun too.
We will be going again.

Room Tip: We took what we we're given. It would not have mattered where we were - it's a boat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sa02rab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotell Barken Viking is a very nice place,a lovely boat with nice decoration. The employees are attentive.We are immediatly in peace in this hotel.The hotel is near the city center of Gothenburg,a very pleasant city.The breakfast is very complete with swedish specialities in a lovely room.The rooms are very clean and peaceful.What I appreciated also is the coffee and tea unlimited at the entry.A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank louly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eckernforde, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived hours before check-in, luggage could be stored before check-in. We did not expect a surprising big room, friendly staff on board. Expansive parking in the near. Starting point for city bus and ship activities.
Sort of trip was holiday, neither business or other offers showing below.

Room Tip: Book in advance due to only 29 cabins. Take the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 13WolfgangW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I very much enjoyed my brief stay at the Hotell Barken Viking. I was in Gothenburg overnight and wanted something centrally located. Big room, quiet hotel, professional, friendly, and helpful staff. It is within walking distance of many attractions. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVRDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Picked this hotel because of the quirkiness of staying on a boat. We arrived early morning and were able to leave our luggage until check in later in the day. The room was very well kept and clean, plenty of room for the 2 of us. Our room was on the port side, near the entrance. I thought initially there might be an issue with noise but there was none - also there are lights on the dock to light the ship at night, and I thought this might shine into the room but we had no problems with this either. The breakfast was fine without being spectacular - a buffet affair like most these days. It's in a good location for visiting the old town and the maritime museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyiommisfingertips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was delighted to find from my guide book that Barken Viking offered accommodation and so booked a night's berth on this magnificent ship, permanently moored alongside at Lilla Bommen in Gothenburg. I was equally delighted at my reception and by the cabin which was beautifully presented and had a really nautical feel, especially the bathroom which was done as a wet room with "wooden" flooring. One thing that makes you feel to be at sea is the slopey floor. This takes some getting used to but I think is a great feature. I didn't dine in the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent with the orangiest orange juice I had on my holiday. The bar on deck is a lovely concept but seems to operate to some extent separately from the hotel, being open for public access and there seemed to be little seating provision and shelter only for the staff. I retreated below with my drinks to the charming "library" which had comfy chairs, books, board games and nautical pictures. Delightful.

Room Tip: Port side looks onshore, starboard looks out over water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnStohlner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing