We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lorensberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lorensberg
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. It was less than 5 mins walk from the conference centre on a quiet leafy street. The staff were really helpful, polite and friendly. So many little touches such as tea and coffee making facilities in the lounge area with freshly made cakes. Rooms were clean and comfortable with feather pillows, fridge and hairdryer. Breakfast was delicious. So much choice. Fresh bread, cooked and continental. we ate ours outside in the little courtyard. Restaurants nearby. Tram stops at end of road. So easy to get into Gothenburg centre. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if attending a conference at the nearby conference centre.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Larner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    92
    39
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
31
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

- Friendly staff - Close to tram, public transport, Landvetter airport coach - Good breakfast - Broadband speed WiFi with possibility to use multiple devices at a time - Even though room was non smoking room, room had strong cigarette smoke smell

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A value hotel for sure with rooms that are average, however some nice touchs like the coffee station downstairs and the free brownies in the evening. Great staff, super friendly. Special thanks to Camilla who was very helpful and forgiving, When we returned our damaged umbrella.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for a weekend - the location is excellent - 5 mins walk from "avenyn" and a short run down to the Opera house and the harbour. It is no-frills but the place is excellently clean and welcoming, breakfast buffet is lovely and the staff is just fabulous. They were so helpful even discussing suitable running routes at 12am on a Friday evening.. giving me hints and tips of how to avoid the most undulating parts of the town. Had some great morning runs - you can do some great 10k runs from the hotel taking in the main sights - very handy location! Free water and chocolates on arrival - excellent value!

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher levels - you are in the middle of Gothenburg and there are some midnight re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougandJeanMyHeroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel will not blow your mind. There is no 'wow' factor to it, no special features, nothing that separates it from the rest. And yet everything it does it does well. There is much to like in a place like this.

Firstly, it is brilliantly located. Close to Svenska Mässan, Avenyn and Korsvägen, and well connected by public transport to pretty much every corner of the city. The rooms, at least in our experience, are spacious. The furniture is not the most modern, but it is functional and simple - much like everything in Sweden. The beds are comfortable and the toilets are good.

The breakfast is also worth noting. Every morning you have access to a Scandinavian-style breakfast, with its yoghurt and its filmjölk and its cold meats and its cheese, as well as what seems to be freshly-baked cakes which change from day to day? Marvellous, a great start to the day.

The only real issue with this place might be that the area gets a bit loud during weekend nights. This has to do with the hotel being so centrally located, but it should only be a problem on Friday and Saturday nights. And don't worry, as soon as you enter your room and close the window, you can forget about the noise of the city.

I usually comment on the staff of hotels but I don't have much to say. We barely had to deal with them as we never had any problems or comments. But from the 2-3 interactions we had with the reception staff, they seemed welcoming and willing to help. No problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

First, it must be said, that the single bed-room was small; compact, tidy, functional, and undeniably, small. The bathroom (WC, sink, shower) was a fair-sized wet room, with a couple of small shelves and a towel rail. The bedroom (bed, desk and chair, sitting chair, shelf, rail, fridge, TV, mini-hairdryer, & luggage stand) was about as basic as it got. The fridge was empty – but for one bottle of complimentary fizzy water per day – but worked. The TV had a lot of static on the first night but was okay after that. The buffet breakfast was the same every day but a good selection of cereals, breads, cheese, meats and eggs. Friendly staff at reception and breakfast. The road in front is quite quiet; you can hear the trams in the adjacent road, but there were earplugs provided in the bathroom. Thought and attention have been put into this hotel. Maybe it is a little expensive for what it is (i.e. for a small room) but is comfy and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I booked this hotel after reading favorable review on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. I was attending a conference at the Svenska Messan and this hotel appeared to be within walking proximity so I immediately booked it. I had a single room, but the room was so clean and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was great, with many types of museli, cheese, and hot meal to choose from. There was also round the clock snacks (Homemade cakes and brownies ) in the lobby and 24 hour coffee and tea service. A bottle of sparkling water was always available in the room. My room was facing the street, but I was never bothered as it is pretty quiet in the night. Although there were restaurants/bars nearby, the noises were never so loud that it bothered your sleep. The staff at the reception was very helpful, and it is very close to the Art Museum, which I also had a chance to visit during this stay. A well maintained friendly hotel and suitable for those wanting a nice sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lorensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lorensberg

Property: Hotel Lorensberg
Address: Berzeliigatan 15, Gothenburg 412 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lorensberg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lorensberg is located in the middle of Gothenburg's cultural and entertainment centre. A large part of central Gothenburg is within walking distance from the hotel. As a family owned hotel we have made a point of having a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere combined with friendly and accommodating personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lorensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorensberg Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing