We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the centre of things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the centre of things”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel is a nice place to stay if you want to be in the centre of things. In fact one of the hotel exits opens into a shopping mall. The stafe were friendly butto be honest the facilities were basic and I got the idea that they designed the place for someone backpacking through Europe. Dont get me wrong I did like it but rooms were much like that of an Ibis or Travel Lodge. The rooms were functional!

That said the rooms and en-suites were clean and well serviced and there was a lovely bar and restraunt down stairs.

I would stay again if I return to the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    519
    286
    98
    41
See reviews for
301
271
43
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was in Göteborg on business visiting an Exhibition at the Svenska Mässan. The Europa is only a few stops away on the tram and as I usually stay with Scandic this was my first choice. There are others en-route but thjis one gives access to more of the shopping area, especially Nordstan.

Arrival is a little off-putting as there was usually a gathering of younger people blocking the pavement and smoking having come out of the nearby Nordstan shopping mall.

Having negotiated them and got into the hotel I was warmly greeted and supplied with a nice room for a couple of nights. The room was clean but really rather dated and in need of a freshen up with new paint etc. Having said that, the bed was comfortable, the window blinds cut out all light (fantastic!) and the rudimentary air conditioning did its best.

The bathroom was bright and clean with a deep narrow bath - actually it was quite high to step over to get in for a shower. As usual the toiletries were in dispensers on the wall and were of good quality.

I dined in the restaurant a couple of times and found the food to be well presented, good tasting, but like everything in Sweden quite expensive. The menu in common with all Scandics is quite limited, so choice is not easy. Also to enjoy the Jamie Oliver menu I find I need to be in the right mind for this quirky style. Breakfast is a mega-buffet of every conceivable breakfast delight.

No doubt I’ll be back in 3 years for the next repeat of the exhibition. I’ll probably stay here again. I hope it’s seen a little paint in the interval.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel. Rooms have typical nordic design, clean, spacious, but all amenities are very very modest and room temperature is below comfortable level. After I paid 270EUR per night it was just funny to read a reminder in the room that guests were welcome to purchase toothbrush and comb at reception desk. Come on, it costs less than 1 euro :-)
Hotel itself looks worn out and heavily used, but kept in a good condition.
Staff at reception is fantastic: professional, welcoming, attentive - only good words about them.
Location is also perfect: just a 2 minutes walk from airport bus end stop. Hotel is under one roof with a long shopping arcade, where you can roam forever if it rains outside.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors non-smoking rooms - you will also get a nice view out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed at the Scandic Europa Gothenburg for 1 night on a business trip. We chose this hotel due to its central location and proximity to the office. The location is very convenient and close to the train station and shopping centre.

The staff at reception were very welcoming and friendly upon arrival and the check in process was easy. The room itself was very basic, small and pretty dated, with a single couch style bed. There was only one small pillow, however I'm sure the hotel would have given me another had I asked. The bathroom was dated, with a wet room style shower, and was reasonably clean but small. The room was fine for a one night business trip.

I had breakfast in the hotel which was included in the room rate. The breakfast area was very busy (at 7.30am) but I managed to just find a table. The breakfast itself was fantastic, with a very large selection of hot and cold items on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We enjoyed a couple of very relaxing and smooth days on this Hotel. It is a large hotel and we expierienced the hotel almost full, but staff was very helpful and they where "on top" of things. They had to prepare extra space for the breakfest serving, but all went smooth and nice when we visited them. Situated in the "middle" of shopping metropol in Gøteborg they have a great advantage in order to be situated where the action is. Central station, canal, nice shopping and dining areas are just arround the corner..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Travelling to Gothenburg for the Way Out West festival, I was after a property that wasn't too costly, but that was central enough to experience the city and all it had to offer. Scandic Europa was a great choice. The property is basically across the street from the Central Station and adjoins the 'Nordstan' shopping centre and you can catch trams from outside of each of these locations (it only took about 10-15 mins by tram to get to the festival each day) - the hotel even offers a bike for those who'd prefer to ride around the city!

The hotel was perfect for my needs and after spending 3 full days on my feet at a music festival, it was a welcome relief to come back to a really comfortable bed and a quiet room each night! The rooms were quite basic but very clean and offered everything that one expects in such a property, including an iron and an ironing board in each room.

Highlights for me included the armchair by the big window which was lovely to sit in when the sun was streaming in in the morning. I liked the cute stickers on the old TV's advising that they were "on a diet - to become flat soon". Oh, and as mentioned earlier - a really comfortable bed. I would also advise anyone staying at either this or another Scandic property to sign up for their frequent guest programme - there are some good benefits.

I had dinner at the hotel on my last night and it was pretty great - I would recommend it as an option, especially if you're too tired to head out. Reception staff were lovely, but the restaurant staff seemed a little bored. All in all though, I really enjoyed my stay and will look to return next time I'm in Gothenburg! (Way Out West 2013 perhaps!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orphellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I regularly stay in this hotel due to it being one of the company approved hotels for business trips (must have been 30-40 trips so far in the last 2 years)

What I like:
1. The location: Centrally located - opposite central station and adjacent a shopping mall
2. Some of the rooms: Some of the rooms are spacey and very modern. Unfortunately room quality varies extremely from stay to stay, so sometimes you are lucky and sometimes not. Hard to predict. This seems to be a typic Scandic hotel problem. Have seen it in other hotels of this chain too. They do currently modernize more rooms, so hopefully situation improves

What I do not like:
1. Overcrowded breakfast room. Sometimes it is hard to find a seat and people have to move to bar seats for eating. No control at all who is entering or leaving the breakfast area. Watch your luggage! In the most busiest summer weeks they opened temporarily up for a second breakfast room on first floor. This was a great move but unfortunately only a temporary measure.
2. parking situation. There is no parking in front of the hotel - you have to walk 10 minutes to the mall parking (you can buy parking tickets though as the hotel rented one floor of the mall parking for their guests)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.0 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Property: Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing