We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel with a good location close to the central train station and inside the heart of Gothenburg. I hotel is being renovated in parts although this did not really cause an issue and I feel the hotel looked after the guests well during this time. The room was a good size with everything you need. I felt the room and the corridor to the room to be dirty, I noticed a French fry under the lounge from the previous guest and it remained there for the duration of my stay which was 3 days even though the room was "apparently" cleaned daily, the corridor leading from the lift to the room was also very dirty and it looked like it had not been cleaned during my entire stay. Generally a good hotel although Management need to work with the house keeping team to increase the standards. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and time taken to highlight some obvious mistakes on our part.
It is unfortunate to read that we have been lacking in attention with regards to the cleanliness. However, i am pleased to also learn that you found the hotel pleasant from other perspectives. Nevertheless, we have adressed the issues and are following up with our routines and i am certain that we will be able to avoid similar embarrasing flaws in the future.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back within the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Strange room cleaning. Glasses not change, tower not well put on the support again, bed badly redo. I have alerted the reception but they explain it was the new standard. Never see that in an hotel.
The good point is that the Quality responsible has wrote me and will discuss with the direction about this new standard.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank laurentnathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for highlighting the issues during your last stay with us.

It appears as if we have faulted in our communication regarding the cleaning standards, kindly rest assured that our procedures are according to Scandic policies. I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and i hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa within the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place is excellent located in the heart of Gothenburg, the service was nice, and the rooms were very good. However, there are two main concerns. First of all there were quite a large amount of old Cheese doodles under my bed and one of the chairs in my room.
Then, this is why I have to give this hotel average rating; 07.30 in the morning, they started a heavy drilling in one of the rooms adjoining mine. It was an incredible noise. I mean, why couldn't they have waited till 10 or something?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very grateful that you have pointed out two instances where we have failed din our service delivery. I bring this with me for the future and will look into our routines. Constructive feedback like yours helps us in evaluating how we are performing, I hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa shortly in order to show how we have progressed.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is smack on top of a large shopping mall, opposite the central station of Gothenburg, which makes it ideal if you're arriving late or leaving early. Rooms are clean, though perhaps 15-20 years behind modern decoration trends. My room had an enormously boring office view, even though it was on the top floor. The staff was efficient, very friendly and managed a take-away "goodie bag" breakfast for me since I had to catch an early train before breakfast service started. Fast, free WiFi is included free of charge.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank dhmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Scandic Europa. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and our services and we also hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future. We are continuously working on improving our services and matching our guests expectations, therefore we are grateful to receive feedback like yours.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The location is very good. The train station is just in front of it and the shopping center (Nordstan) is just downstairs !! The room is very comfortable, quiet and well cleaned. There is internet access for free and also there are few computers near the hall which you can use. The attendants are very polite, as well. By the way, Goteborg is a really nice place to be known, Summarizing, I recommend this hotel 100% sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Scandic Europa and that you recommend our establishment. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa and Gothenburg within the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here to try a different location in Gothenburg. It was nice and close to the train station, which was good. However, the hotel was under construction and generally just felt a bit cramped and outdated.

The room was nice enough, the breakfast was nice enough but not enough to be worth the extra price and quality. I definitely prefer the Scandic Crown.

However, they did let me check in at 11:00, which was very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013
Google Translation

Hej

Tack så mycket för dina värdefulla kommentarer angående din senaste vistelse på Scandic Europa samt det positiva omdömet av Scandic Crown. Det är alltid glädjande att ta del av positiva omdömen som även innehåller punkter som visar att vi har förbättringsmöjligheter. Vi på Scandic Europa hoppas att få välkomna dig tillbaka inom en snar framtid samt när vi har renoverat färdigt och därmed har möjlighet att visa upp vår nya öppna och luftiga restaurang och bar.

Med vänliga hälsningar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

As always with a Scandic hotel, you know what you get, however, I was very positively surprised with my room last time I stayed in Scandic Europa. Nice corner room, very little noise if any at all. The breakfast was good at always. Staff very friendly and service minded. Will assist you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your last stay at Scandic Europa. It is important for us to get such great feedback as it helps boost our confidence and it serves as a fantastic portal for our fantastic staff to receive recognition for the work they do.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back within the near future and i hope you are as excited as we are about the refurbishment that we are undertaking.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#37 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#35 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 65 in Gothenburg
3,526 reviews
2.9 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#30 of 65 in Gothenburg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £83 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing