We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The scandic Europa seems to be getting a facelift.
They got a perfect location in the city center shopping mall of nordstan
The just got a new entrance and restaurant
We enjoyed what we sas and liked the room (kind of the same standard as any scandic chain hotel)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Its_hammer_time_swed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello

Thank you for sharing your your latest experience at Scandic Europa, we are grateful to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us again when the refurbishment is completed in mid ocotber.

Kind regards.

jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is actually a very nice hotel with reasonably sized rooms, but the cleanliness let it down. Either our room was not cleaned before we arrived, or the people cleaning the room have a poor attitude. Management of standards is badly needed. Faeces on the toilet seat was the worst. Hair in the shower, French fries on the floor, rubbish left in cupboards, wet drink stains on bedside table….you get the picture.
That said, they were very sincerely apologetic, and everything else really was very excellent. So maybe it was just bad luck for us on this occasion. But damage done. I hope they get it fixed, it would be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Down_Under01

Thank you so much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. The problem areas that you experienced during your stay are very worrying and require immediate attention. I have no adequate excuses to present in order to shed light on what occured in order for you to be checked in to a filthy room. Nevertheless, i will bring this review with me and discuss with my colleagues.

Once again, thank you very much for highlighting this and i hope that you will return to Scandic Europa in the future and hopefully experience a better quality.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel lobby under construction and needs updating, but clean and great front staff. Breakfast was excellent. Location cannot be beat. Right across from central train station, buses and near airport. Hotel is attached to a very nice mall with many restaurants. Have a luggage room so you can leave your luggage after checkout and pick up when you're ready to leave the country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank valrieabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear valrieabd

Thank you so much for sharing your views and thoughts from your stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback and fantastic for us to hear that you got great service during your stay. I hope that you will find time to come and visit us again to experience the new Scandic Europa once the refurbishment is done in october.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Perfect location in the middle of Gothenburg. Efficient service. Everything worked as expected. Nice big rooms. Breakfast is good although crowded as buffet is in a relative small area. Soundproof Windows.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear DisneyDenmark

Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your last stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to learn that we have provided services above your expectations. Once the refurbishment is done in october we will have ample space for our guests to enjoy our fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back to Scandic Europa.

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location is perfect - Just opposite Gothenburg Central Station. Hotel lobby was under construction during my visit, but the rooms were great - traditional nordic style. There's a shopping mall next to the hotel, and there is a supermarket underground of the shopping mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannamianmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Joannamianmian

Thank you very much for your feedback from your last stay at Scandic Europa. We are always excited to welcome our guests to be part of the transformation of Scandic Europa. We are gradually progressing with the refurbishment and are very happy to take part of our guests experience at our hotel and thus improve. Please come and visit us again and be part of Gothenburgs most interesting transformation.

Wish you a pleasant summer.

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel almost every time I have been in Gothenburg for running the half marathon. It is located very central and the rooms are clean and OK. Last time I stayed in the hotel the restaurant didn’t met my expectations. Next time I go to Gothenburg I probably stay at the hotel again, but I think I will have my dinner outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014
Google Translation

Hej Pontus

Hoppas din sommar har startat väl. Tack så mycket för att du har tagit dig tiden att dela med dig av din senaste upplevelse på Scandic Europa. Det är alltid glädjande att ta del av våra gästers funderingar samt förslag på förbättringar. Vi jobbar väldigt aktivt med att förändra vårt utbud i restaurangen, vi har kommit en bra bit på vägen men har lite kvar innan vi öppnar för fullt i oktober. Jag hoppas att du besöker oss snart för att ta del av utvecklingen.

Vänligen hälsningar

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed many a time at this hotel and, obviously, as I keep coming back I must be satisfied. That's true but for some time now they have been renovating the hotel which caused disturbances in the past but now the entire ground floor is in the hands of the builders although the new reception area is ready.

I am sure that when all works are completed, the hotel will merit a higher ranking but, for now, and "average" is all it gets.

The cleaning was a bit under the acceptable level too but, to be fair, it is difficult to keep a place clean when construction work is going on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Stephen C

Thank you very much for your fair and clear feedback. It is great to learn that you understand the current circumstances and that you have continued faith in us.

I hope that you will return in october to experience the new hotel and the improved services. I wish you a great summer.

Kind regards.

Jakob W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#38 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £90 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing