We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down hotel but with a good location in the city center” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run down hotel but with a good location in the city center”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only upside with this hotel is its location, apart from that I wouldn't recommend it. The cleanliness was not up to standards and the general feel of the room was dated. The room had broken baseboards, a worn chair, black markings on the wall and it didn't feel clean. Considering the pricetag and that there are lots of other hotels in the same area, I'm surprised that the hotel wasn't nicer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Katarina L

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences from your last stay with us. It is of great importance for us to leanr what our guests think of our service and the qality of Scandic Europa. I apologize that we did not manage to meet your expectations, however, i hope that we will be able to welcome you back once the refurbishement if finished mid october.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    502
    268
    94
    39
See reviews for
283
258
42
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 10am after an early morning flight from Stockholm, we asked to leave our bags in the left luggage area but to our surprise the receptionist said we could check in early for free! This was a welcome treat and not one you come across often.

The room itself was a good size and the furnishings were all nice and modern and the bed was super comfy. The only thing that let the room down was the hairs in the shower and the dust in the room, it was although the room had been empty for a few days and not freshened up. This didn't ruin our stay though as the hotel was brilliant and the staff were always friendly.

We will definitely return here again as location was superb.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Nic P

Thank you very much for your time taken to share your experiences at Scandic Europa. It is fantastic to learn that we exceeded your expectations and we hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future so you may experience the final result once the refurbishment is finished in october.

I wish you a great end of the summer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The scandic Europa seems to be getting a facelift.
They got a perfect location in the city center shopping mall of nordstan
The just got a new entrance and restaurant
We enjoyed what we sas and liked the room (kind of the same standard as any scandic chain hotel)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Its_hammer_time_swed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for sharing your your latest experience at Scandic Europa, we are grateful to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us again when the refurbishment is completed in mid ocotber.

Kind regards.

jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is actually a very nice hotel with reasonably sized rooms, but the cleanliness let it down. Either our room was not cleaned before we arrived, or the people cleaning the room have a poor attitude. Management of standards is badly needed. Faeces on the toilet seat was the worst. Hair in the shower, French fries on the floor, rubbish left in cupboards, wet drink stains on bedside table….you get the picture.
That said, they were very sincerely apologetic, and everything else really was very excellent. So maybe it was just bad luck for us on this occasion. But damage done. I hope they get it fixed, it would be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Down_Under01

Thank you so much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. The problem areas that you experienced during your stay are very worrying and require immediate attention. I have no adequate excuses to present in order to shed light on what occured in order for you to be checked in to a filthy room. Nevertheless, i will bring this review with me and discuss with my colleagues.

Once again, thank you very much for highlighting this and i hope that you will return to Scandic Europa in the future and hopefully experience a better quality.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel lobby under construction and needs updating, but clean and great front staff. Breakfast was excellent. Location cannot be beat. Right across from central train station, buses and near airport. Hotel is attached to a very nice mall with many restaurants. Have a luggage room so you can leave your luggage after checkout and pick up when you're ready to leave the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valrieabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear valrieabd

Thank you so much for sharing your views and thoughts from your stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback and fantastic for us to hear that you got great service during your stay. I hope that you will find time to come and visit us again to experience the new Scandic Europa once the refurbishment is done in october.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Perfect location in the middle of Gothenburg. Efficient service. Everything worked as expected. Nice big rooms. Breakfast is good although crowded as buffet is in a relative small area. Soundproof Windows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear DisneyDenmark

Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your last stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to learn that we have provided services above your expectations. Once the refurbishment is done in october we will have ample space for our guests to enjoy our fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back to Scandic Europa.

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location is perfect - Just opposite Gothenburg Central Station. Hotel lobby was under construction during my visit, but the rooms were great - traditional nordic style. There's a shopping mall next to the hotel, and there is a supermarket underground of the shopping mall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannamianmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Joannamianmian

Thank you very much for your feedback from your last stay at Scandic Europa. We are always excited to welcome our guests to be part of the transformation of Scandic Europa. We are gradually progressing with the refurbishment and are very happy to take part of our guests experience at our hotel and thus improve. Please come and visit us again and be part of Gothenburgs most interesting transformation.

Wish you a pleasant summer.

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.0 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#32 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#17 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Property: Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing