We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed this one”
Review of Spar Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spar Hotel Garda
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have nothing bad to report about this hotel.
The room was not big, but it felt like just the right size, everything was neat, the all hotel just has this clean vibe. Kind and helpfull staff, sauna, gym, terrace, conference room, regarding breakfast, well is as good as it gets in Sweden, so i liked it. Good location also, more or less 15min away from the airport, driving distance of course.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our second stay here. Its really a nice hotel but the location is a bit outside the centre. About 20 min walk to the main shopping-street.There is a bakery outside the hotel and a pizza-place about 5 minutes walk.
The staff is polite and nice.Roomservice is a bit slow. We went out to the city and came back at 15.30 and they still hadnt clean the room. We wanted to take a nap before we went out again, so we put the sleepsign on the door. So we had no roomservice. Not a big deal, i just had to go to the reseption to get some more toiletpaper. The parkinghouse was full when we came, but the hotel has outdoor parking as well, so no problem.
The breakfast is good with everything you want, inclusive waffels.
Its a really nice hotel and not so expenisve. So if you dont mind a little walk or a taxiride, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel's location isn't ideal - it's true. The view is very urban and it takes some half-hour to walk to the very center. But it's worth it's money with nice and clean interior, bar, breakfast.

And last but not least - very friendly and professional staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location isn't ideal but not too bad as can walk to the centre in 15 minutes or so. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is really clean. The breakfast is simply excellent and stays open until 12 so brilliant for very late risers. The rooms are tidy, clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms are spacious even if not great toiletries. TV has moderate amount of channels. No minibar in the rooms and an expensive bar downstairs. Very comfy beds made for really good sleep. Overall a very good hotel for the cheaper end of an expensive Swedish scale. I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and the reception staff were very helpful when we had questions. Our room was lovely and very clean. We were not disturbed by the traffic or other guests during the night. The breakfast was wonderful. There was a large selection, including, breads, meats, bacon, eggs, cheeses, cereal, fruit and even waffles. We noticed even a smaller table so younger children could help themselves. The location is slightly out of the centre however it is close enough for a nice walk to the centre and there are trams and buses running regularly also. We would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwilks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Small rooms and crappy rules which means if you book a room for two adults and two children - you still only get three beds… This is a low budget hotel and it's situated in an area where there's nothing else but offices. There's one highlight though! The Dahls bakery outlet on the corner (open from 6AM-1PM on weekdays, not sure about weekends but they do stay open then also). Really delicious quality breads to outlet prices.

Fairly clean and not fantastic but reasonable price and a most mediocre hotel stay experience that you soon will forget. Be prepared to walk or go by pay transportation to everywhere since you'll be staying in nowhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangosteenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We had a double room which had a good size. However the hotel is located near the highway and therefore it was not possible to open the window during the night as the traffic made to much noise. The windows did keep the sound outside the room though.
This was the first hotel we stayed in for 3 weeks which had lactose free products at breakfast, a big plus point.
The location of the hotel is kind of depressing though as it is in the middle of knowwere. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre which is ok and you can also take a bus or tram.

Overall it was a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.
We would choose a hotel in the centre next time though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
758 reviews
0.9 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Garda

Address: 15-17 Norra Kustbanegatan, Gothenburg 416 64, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#29 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spar Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing