We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Farum, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On transit in Gothenburg we stayed at the Spar Hotel Majorna. It is a budget hotel, but tidy, fine service, small but comfortable rooms. Non smoking. Good breakfast and parking facilities, as well as internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Google Translation
Bäste gäst,

tack för ditt omdöme om din vistelse hos oss.
Det är glädjande att du är så nöjd med ditt besök, jag hoppas du återkommer snart igen, varmt välkommen tillbaka!
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    283
    108
    11
    5
See reviews for
102
218
37
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a very customer friendly hotel. The room was clean and fresh. The staff was very helful. Breakfast is served until 12 noon during summer! There's even an ice maker next to the dining room. The hotel's parking is free but it can get full during these high season days, but we were able to use the next door public parking for 12kr/hour day time. I would definitely choose to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Google Translation
Kära gäst,

tack för ditt fina omdöme om din vistels hos oss.
Det är väldigt glädjande att ni har haft en trevlig vistelse, och jag önskar er varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss.
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I just looked for a hotel to spend one night at during a cross-country trip. when I pulled up I doubt my choice, as the neighborhood did not look so great (though someone familiar with the area might disagree). But the hotel was great: renovated, modern, clean. The room and bathroom were good and comfortable. Breakfast was great! There is free parking available, unfortunately the garage was full when I checked in. all-in-all: good choice for a one night stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Majorna is a residencial area in the west areas of Göteborg, with a relaxed atmosphere, inhabited with many young couples and families, and very popular for it´s close location to the city center.
I am very happy to read that you are satisified with your stay with us, and hope that you will return soon again.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was half a business and half a lesure trip. Everything was precisely as we expected. We booked a small double. The room was small, but clean. The bed was comfortable and its size 140 was enough for us. The bathroon was tidy. As for budget hotel the breakfast was perfect. There were plenty of cold dishes and hot was enough, bread was good too. Location was convinient to reach many areas of the city by tram. The garage was a big advantage for us too. As a result, everything was perfect for this price (95 EUR per night) in such a country as Sweden :)
Disadvantage: We couldn't sleep with open window because of the traffic noise outside. But we had known about that before staying here, therefore we didn't have any complaints about that.

Room Tip: I guess maybe rooms not on the main street side but on the yard side would be beter because of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Viktorija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Property: Spar Hotel Majorna
Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing