We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spar Hotel - It's sparse, expect no frills.”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel in end October 2013. This hotel is clean but as my title suggests, it's sparse.

Sparse - no toiletries provided. The basics like toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver were omitted.
Sparse - no complimentary room slippers provided.
Sparse - no cupboard, no safe provided only 3 hangers were supplied

The room is incredibly small and the bed just goes with the size of the room. The bed was so small that I was afraid that I might fall off it while sleeping. The room was clean but how hard is it to clean such a small room? But hey, I can't complain or expect much for the money I paid right?

Breakfast hours officially start at 630am but from 5am onwards, you can proceed to have it but the choice would be limited. The food is good and I enjoyed the generous choices of bread available.

There is a gym on the top floor but the equipment is nothing to shout about. One threadmill, one exercise bike, couple of weights. There is also a sauna in the gym. What irritated me was the contradicting instructions provided by the different staff manning the reception. When I checked in, I was told that the gym was opened 24 hours and I needed a card programmed to unlock it. The next morning around 430am, (I couldn't sleep because of jet lag) I went down to request for a card to access the gym. I was told it only opened at 630am. Ok fine, I thought to myself. Later I found out from another guest that the gym is actually opened 24 hours and I do not need a special access card to enter the gym. So I tried my luck on my 2nd morning at 530am. True enough, the gym could be accessed with my room card. So different stories from different receiptionists. I wasted one morning of exercise.

There are some pubs and restaurants around the area. The tram station is only about 200m away from the hotel. You can hop on it and in 20 plus mins, you would be at the city centre.

Stay in this hotel if you are one that expect no frills or if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinjalanjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your review on your stay with us.

We have recently changed the opening hours of our gym and it seems not all staff members have been informed. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. The gym is open daily from 07:00-23:00, and you use your roomkey to get in.
Spar Hotel is a budget hotel and in our product we do not offer toiletries or slippers in all rooms, but we have a few items available complimentary at the reception, and we are more than happy to provide this for guests who wish to have it.
We have 6 different roomtypes in the hotel so for your next visit I hope we can offer you a larger room.
Welcome back to Spar Hotel,

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Spar Hotel Majorna is in a part of town that used to be where the maritime workers lived and is now a fashionable place to live. We liked being away from the business of the old town tourist area but we still weren't more than 15 mins away from the city centre by tram. The Maritime Museum is just up the road and there was a supermarket and a few restaurants within easy walking distance.

To get there from the central station take tram 11 and get off at Stigbergstorget (9 stops from the central station) or trams 3 or 9 and get off at Chapmanstorget (11 stops from the central station).

The front desk were friendly and generous with maps and tips on where to go.

The room was smallish but big enough or a few days. It was a little worn and dated but not badly so.

We loved the breakfast which had a wide variety of Swedish breakfast foods, including some gluten free. There were eggs and bacon, lots of types of bread and plenty of cold meats, plus a waffle maker and batter.

They had thoughtfully even allocated space in the children's play room with a mini buffet with a few child friendly breakfast choices. There were tables in the play room for parents to eat at and this play room was right next door to the main dining room. I imagine this would be a very relaxing way to start the day if you had small children.

Room Tip: Swedish buildings are built to withstand long, cold winters and can get a bit warm in summer. Be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The second time I have stayed there, both on business. It seams the 8th floor has been recently renovated and the rooms are perfect.
Breakfast is good, the only small issue was not getting WiFi on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsb_champ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive remarks regarding your stay with us.
We´ve had some problems with the wifi during summer but I am happy to report that since two weeks the wifi is up and running perfectly in the whole house.
I am to see you soon again,

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms at this hotel are small (I'm a petite female, and I think the rooms are small) so make sure that you know that before you book a room. I was prepared for the small size because I'd stayed at a hotel in Copenhagen before checking into the Spar Hotel Majorna. I think the room size works for one person, but I can't imagine it working for more than one person.

Even though the rooms were smaller than what I would have liked, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly, nice and very professional. They helped me navigate the trams and recommended nice areas to go for lunch and dinner.

The room I had was tastefully decorated and quite pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotless. I have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as clean as this hotel. I also enjoyed the breakfast (except for the scrambled eggs) that was included in the room rate. Wireless was also included in the room rate and worked well.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and recommend it to any solo traveler. I's a great bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfpackgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.
We have six different roomtypes, so for your next visit we can hopefully offer you a larger room to better accomodate your needs.
We hope to see you soon again,

kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of a six week trip an DC four at the end.Rooms were big,spotless, cheerful friendly and helpful staff. Parking for fifty cars, first come first served.Buffet was gteat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am very please you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On transit in Gothenburg we stayed at the Spar Hotel Majorna. It is a budget hotel, but tidy, fine service, small but comfortable rooms. Non smoking. Good breakfast and parking facilities, as well as internet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013
Google Translation

Bäste gäst,

tack för ditt omdöme om din vistelse hos oss.
Det är glädjande att du är så nöjd med ditt besök, jag hoppas du återkommer snart igen, varmt välkommen tillbaka!
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a very customer friendly hotel. The room was clean and fresh. The staff was very helful. Breakfast is served until 12 noon during summer! There's even an ice maker next to the dining room. The hotel's parking is free but it can get full during these high season days, but we were able to use the next door public parking for 12kr/hour day time. I would definitely choose to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013
Google Translation

Kära gäst,

tack för ditt fina omdöme om din vistels hos oss.
Det är väldigt glädjande att ni har haft en trevlig vistelse, och jag önskar er varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss.
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#27 of 67 in Gothenburg
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £71 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing