We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Gothenburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kannur, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Gothenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in Spar Majorna for 6 days . The deluxe rooms are good and spacious. They have an excellent spread for breakfast. The reception staff were very nice and helpful . No toiletries provided in the bathroom. Tram station is nearby. so its easy to rch city centre, railway station etc ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfaizalcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    260
    97
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
194
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms were average at best. The bathroom was small. I could wash my hair, sit on the toilet and brush my teeth at the same time.

We had to take a tram to get to the downtown.

Tip for the hotel. Loved their attempt to do waffles, but get the devices in the USA. The USA devices flip over and cook the waffles more evenly.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisFisher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

Spar Hotel Majorna is located about 3km from the centralstation, the tram stops just 30meters from the hotel, and the tram ride takes about 10minutes to city centre.

Regarding your comments about the room, we have six different room types to choose from, ranging from 12sqm to 80sqm, so perhaps we can find a larger room for your next visit that better suits your needs.

I am sorry you did not appreciate our waffles, they are normally very appreciated. Since the devices are frequently used we constantly exchange them, and we´ve tried an Belgian device but in the end decided to keep the same as we currently have which is a Dualit.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Okej it's not right in town were all the hussle and bussle are but that's fine.The tram nr.3 or nr.9 takes you in around 15 minutes in to Nordstan were all the shopping are under one roof and many more around town. The hotel was very clean and comfy. free car-parking garage and free wi-fi. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast,oh what a breakfast and yes you make your own waffles( the batter is made in a jug) you can really fill yourself up and last to dinner!
Gothenburg is a lovely town with lot of sights to visit and easy to walk around(wear comfy shoes) my favorite thing to do is to go with the "Paddan boat" it takes you around for 50min.with a guide who tell you a bit about Gothenburg city. They all speak good english everywhere.
We definitely staying in this hotel again when coming to Gothenburg,Sweden.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive review, that means a lot to us.

I´m pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and especially the waffles, it is a great way to start the day, I agree.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Gothenburg and with us, we hope tp see you again soon.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is walking distance to the ship dock in gothebrg. Travelled there from Denmark. The cruise ride is great and so is the hotel. It is close to some good restaurants. The breakfast spread is good. Rooms are great and really liked the bed which is very comfy.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkurTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back next time you are in Town!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arriving by taxi from airport as i had no clue to as where the hotel was. The cost was 510 SEK for the trip (standard rate). Reception personell was helpful advising for alternative transport with tram only 250 meters from hotel. Tickets to be purchased at kiosk close to stop station of tram, cost is 160 SEK for 3 days or 80 SEK for one day. Taxi from center to hotel is very expensive, runs to a cost of approximately 200-250 SEK, so unless you need it, take the tram, runs about every 10 -15 minutes (routes 3 and 5, and 5 takes the shortest time to center, but marginal difference). Hoetl rooms are clean and nicely organized with free Wi-Fi available. Dinner options are limited, but there are some cafes cloase by, or you make dinner arrangements in center. Bar is small, but ok for a night cap. Lots of workers on the hotel while i was there, assume corporate rates are very favourable for companies to use hotel for its workers while staying in the city.
Breakfast ok, nothing special, but covers most needs i think.
Hotel a bit too far away for me, next time would try Garda hotel of Spar chain.
Recommend hotel for stay, no problems, value for money.

Room Tip: There are rooms towards the main street, and if you need to have window open, noise from tram can gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay.

Since the tram stops just outside the hotel (30meters) it is very convenient and the cheapest way to get around. But as you mention, maybe our sisterhotel in Gårda would suit your needs better for your next visit. We look forward seeing you there.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

In short, this hotel really delivers. Nice and comfortable rooms, great breakfast (included), free parking in a private garage, free wifi, and overall a fresh feeling. It's not located in the city centre but not far away. But I think the part of town called Majorna (where the hotel is located) is also well worth seeing. The tram passes outside the hotel so transportation is quite easy. We payed 895 SEK for a triple room (two nights), a good price if you compare it with prices at the big chains like Scandic, Radisson, etc. In my view, this was a bargain, and I would return to this hotel on my next visit to Gothenburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay, it really means a lot to us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
435 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is located in Majorna in Gothenburg. For us this is convenient, since our business partner's office is located nearby. However, it is a few km from the city centre, but the tramstop is only 50-100 m away. The Majorna area was once a working class district, but lots of construction and renovation work has been done since. it is now a popular area for families with kids, and has some shops, lots of cafés, parks, restaurants, pubs etc. Several of the restaurants are actually really good, and one of Gothenburg's best restaurants, Sjömagasinet, is not far away. The hotel also has an underground parking garage, which is convenient. Rooms are Bright, large and Clean. Service is good. Breakfast is ample. It´s great value for money! However, we noticed that is shown incorrectly on the map. The address is correct, Karl Johansgatan, and the hotel is located across the street from Karl Johans Church, close to the greek restaurant Efesos, not far from Chapmanstorg tram station, and not at all in the area shown in the map!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us, it means a lot to us.
Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Property: Spar Hotel Majorna
Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with bar and breakfast buffet is located near the ferry terminals; 3 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing