We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay cheap hotel, location not too good”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel, Nice smaller Rooms and friendly staff.
Okay snack and coffee bar and there is a possibility to get a bite to eat.
5-10 minutes by tram to city. Tram right outside the door.
Cheap and I'll come back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ViviAnnSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife were very pleased by this hotel.

The excellent breakfast, the nice terrace they have (for a good afternoon chill out), and the staff were the reasons why I gave a 4 star.

The only thing we didn't like was that the hotel's rooms don't have air-conditioning, so we kind of felt very hot inside. Fortunately the nights in Sweden are fresh. We had the option to leave the contained open but that would make us awake from 5am...so not a good option.

I would return and recommend as well!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank garciasleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us, they mean a lot to us.
This summer is already historic in Sweden due to the tropical heat (!) we experienced, with temperatures over 30degrees Celsius. This of course has the affect that the rooms were warm, during an ordinary summer this is usually not a problem. We offered electrical fans to our guests, but unfortunately we do not have air condition, since it is usually not necessary in Sweden.

Welcome back

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Set outside main part town in industrial feel area and docklands, bit of a budget hotel but still provided pleasant stay, gym and sauna area facilities awesome with great views of the water, best workout I had in this gym in 5 weeks holidaying. Parking situation terrible, expect to park on the street and pay, breakfast lovely and plenty healthy options but highly bragged about waffles were make your own from pancake mix and not so nice, room pokey but clean and comfortable and quiet, would recommend for value and service

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lind1tob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I´m happy you enjoyed our gym and sauna facilities.
During summertime, when we have many guests staying at the hotel, parking space can not be offered to alla guests. Parking is offered for free on a first come first served basis, and we have 65 lots in the garage. However we are happy to inform all our guests where to find public parking areas nearby. I am sorry you did not appreciate the waffles, but I hope you found something else on the buffét that you enjoyed more.
Welcome back,

kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in Spar Majorna for 6 days . The deluxe rooms are good and spacious. They have an excellent spread for breakfast. The reception staff were very nice and helpful . No toiletries provided in the bathroom. Tram station is nearby. so its easy to rch city centre, railway station etc ....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfaizalcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms were average at best. The bathroom was small. I could wash my hair, sit on the toilet and brush my teeth at the same time.

We had to take a tram to get to the downtown.

Tip for the hotel. Loved their attempt to do waffles, but get the devices in the USA. The USA devices flip over and cook the waffles more evenly.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DennisFisher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

Spar Hotel Majorna is located about 3km from the centralstation, the tram stops just 30meters from the hotel, and the tram ride takes about 10minutes to city centre.

Regarding your comments about the room, we have six different room types to choose from, ranging from 12sqm to 80sqm, so perhaps we can find a larger room for your next visit that better suits your needs.

I am sorry you did not appreciate our waffles, they are normally very appreciated. Since the devices are frequently used we constantly exchange them, and we´ve tried an Belgian device but in the end decided to keep the same as we currently have which is a Dualit.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Okej it's not right in town were all the hussle and bussle are but that's fine.The tram nr.3 or nr.9 takes you in around 15 minutes in to Nordstan were all the shopping are under one roof and many more around town. The hotel was very clean and comfy. free car-parking garage and free wi-fi. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast,oh what a breakfast and yes you make your own waffles( the batter is made in a jug) you can really fill yourself up and last to dinner!
Gothenburg is a lovely town with lot of sights to visit and easy to walk around(wear comfy shoes) my favorite thing to do is to go with the "Paddan boat" it takes you around for 50min.with a guide who tell you a bit about Gothenburg city. They all speak good english everywhere.
We definitely staying in this hotel again when coming to Gothenburg,Sweden.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive review, that means a lot to us.

I´m pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and especially the waffles, it is a great way to start the day, I agree.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Gothenburg and with us, we hope tp see you again soon.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is walking distance to the ship dock in gothebrg. Travelled there from Denmark. The cruise ride is great and so is the hotel. It is close to some good restaurants. The breakfast spread is good. Rooms are great and really liked the bed which is very comfy.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkurTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back next time you are in Town!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
264 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,038 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing