We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite area, walking distance to sights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quite area, walking distance to sights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel was clean and the rooms were small. Great bathrooms.
The breakfast was good quality and abundant. The breakfast area was large.
Not too easy to find the hotel when driving.
Easy walking distance to The Haga and the fortress.

Room Tip: A room on the backside of the hotel is good, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sand369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. Hope to see you here soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    260
    97
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
194
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great, it is near the city center and with free parking (that can get full during high season however), a car is not really needed unless to explore outside of Gothenburg. The best was that they offered to check me and my family inn extra early (9:30 am) and since we had two small children with us and had arrived with the night flight it was greatly appreciated.

The rooms are nice and small and with bunk-beds that fold up to the wall, it is perfect for sleep and a little relax, they also have a few foldable cribs (travel-beds) for small children, that come in different sizes so you get one that fits in your room. The staff is great and all willing to help.
The room we got did not have a fridge which we would have liked to have, and the bath was not what we are used to,the bath itself was kinda small.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen Ösp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed two nights at Spar Hotel Majorna, and the stay was excellent for a mini get away.

The hotel is situated just outside of the center, but trams take you to the center in 5 min. The tram stop is just outside the hotel. An excellent reason for selecting this hotel is they offer free parking in their basement (when available so come early). Saved at least 300SEK by using the hotel parking.

Stayed in a family room which was HUGE. We had no need for the the 2 bunk beds as our daughter slept in the double bed with us and it was so big there was still space leftover. The bunk beds were used to play in and when not used they could be folded up and neatly hidden away on the wall.

The room had a microwave, fridge,hairdryer, complimentary fresh fruit and 4 bottles of water. And also had a good variety of channels incl danish, english, swedish speaking channels.

Breakfast was plentiful and had everything that is expected - eggs, bacon, waffles, fruits, bread, yoghurt etc.A nice touch is that breakfast buffet is availalbe from 6am to 12am so even those who sleep in can catch a late breakfast.

Bonus tip: When taking the tram get off at 'Jerntorget' before the city center. This area has a good variety of restaurants and seems to be quite hip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PistoleroPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive comments and the high score we recieved from you.

It means a lot to us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel, Nice smaller Rooms and friendly staff.
Okay snack and coffee bar and there is a possibility to get a bite to eat.
5-10 minutes by tram to city. Tram right outside the door.
Cheap and I'll come back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviAnnSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife were very pleased by this hotel.

The excellent breakfast, the nice terrace they have (for a good afternoon chill out), and the staff were the reasons why I gave a 4 star.

The only thing we didn't like was that the hotel's rooms don't have air-conditioning, so we kind of felt very hot inside. Fortunately the nights in Sweden are fresh. We had the option to leave the contained open but that would make us awake from 5am...so not a good option.

I would return and recommend as well!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank garciasleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us, they mean a lot to us.
This summer is already historic in Sweden due to the tropical heat (!) we experienced, with temperatures over 30degrees Celsius. This of course has the affect that the rooms were warm, during an ordinary summer this is usually not a problem. We offered electrical fans to our guests, but unfortunately we do not have air condition, since it is usually not necessary in Sweden.

Welcome back

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Set outside main part town in industrial feel area and docklands, bit of a budget hotel but still provided pleasant stay, gym and sauna area facilities awesome with great views of the water, best workout I had in this gym in 5 weeks holidaying. Parking situation terrible, expect to park on the street and pay, breakfast lovely and plenty healthy options but highly bragged about waffles were make your own from pancake mix and not so nice, room pokey but clean and comfortable and quiet, would recommend for value and service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lind1tob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I´m happy you enjoyed our gym and sauna facilities.
During summertime, when we have many guests staying at the hotel, parking space can not be offered to alla guests. Parking is offered for free on a first come first served basis, and we have 65 lots in the garage. However we are happy to inform all our guests where to find public parking areas nearby. I am sorry you did not appreciate the waffles, but I hope you found something else on the buffét that you enjoyed more.
Welcome back,

kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannur, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in Spar Majorna for 6 days . The deluxe rooms are good and spacious. They have an excellent spread for breakfast. The reception staff were very nice and helpful . No toiletries provided in the bathroom. Tram station is nearby. so its easy to rch city centre, railway station etc ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfaizalcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Property: Spar Hotel Majorna
Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with bar and breakfast buffet is located near the ferry terminals; 3 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing