We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Liked it”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great hotel in the middle of city center. You can walk everywhere from here and no need for taxi if you come with airport shuttle to train station.
We got a room with city view, just at the corner of building overlooking two sides of Gothenburg. Rooms were nicely decorated and contemporary, though there could have been more room for luggage and things, I guess hotel has also bigger rooms - check while booking. Downstairs bar is great for drinks and also carries some snacks if you happen to be hungry (we were). Breakfast is good, though crowded, in-room-breakfast might be better option, perhaps. Restaurant has good selection of fish and lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelin456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Evelin,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor. Clarion Loves a five stars.
Absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your encouraging words have been shared with all our employees. Our staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we all hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay at the The Clarion Hotel Post

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Clarion Post in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    946
    356
    160
    51
See reviews for
507
1,127
72
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Clarion Hotel Post was beautiful. The attention to design was obvious as I stepped into the hotel. Rooms were spacious. Beds were absolutely soft. Good wifi - just a little annoying to sign in different usernames and passwords for different devices. Excellent breakfast with good choice of cereals, breads, meats and juices. Cleaning service was not too great and a little messy. Swimming pool was pretty small as well. No major complaints as I enjoyed my stay there. Central location (tram was just in front of the hotel). Easy to get around. All the major malls were around. You can even walk to Liseberg Amusement Park. :) Walked a lot in this beautiful city.

Other tips: Taxis accepted major credit cards. Better to book online for airport transfer. They answer really quickly as well (paid SEK385 using boka@taxi020.se)

Room Tip: Getting a high floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shehnazlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Shehnazlove,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your experience of The Clarion Hotel Post . We are very pleased to read how much you appreciate the hotel design rooms and breakfast variety. We noted your remarks about our cleaning and I will forward this issue to our housekeeping. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is an impressive looking building and reception area, very friendly staff (in general) and in a good location with convenient access to trains, trams and taxis. It is also a popular place for corporate events, which is where my 2 issues with the place arise, my room was located on level 3 near the main lifts and seemed to be near/above where the corporate event room was, so for at least 2 nights of my 4 night stay there was a very noticeable thudding notice from the dj/speaker playing. To be fair to the hotel I did not report this matter and so they did not have a chance to fix the situation (due to the event running I had assumed all rooms were booked). In the end I fell asleep will my in ear headphones in place which did the trick. I was disappointed with the restaurant service, 4 of us (guests) wanted to eat and waited for about 5 mins to be seen, then the waitress said she would ask her manager if there was a space and she walked off, the next time we saw her was around 5 mins later and she had gone back to serving food, the 2nd person that served us said there was no space, even though the bar tables next to the restaurant were empty. My 2 thoughts here are that you are missing out on revenue by not using this space, secondly, customer service - just telling hotel guest you are full, and no apology does not go down well with the guests that you want to retain. The following week I stayed at the radison blu across the street

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Andrew B
Allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your Clarion Post experience with us. We are delighted to read that you find our staff very friendly in general. Your compliment has been passed on to our service team.

The negative yet constructive feedback about our noisy room and restaurant service was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post this time . You should of course be able to sleep without any disturbance from other hotel guests .

Please be assured that we also put in a lot of effort to create a better service level even at times when we are fully booked. The goal is to prioritize our hotel guest to ensure them a place at our restaurant. The general response of our guests so far is very positive. We will however make some adjustments to the matter in the near future.

Your comments will be taken into consideration during this process and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Clarion Post is a superb hotel from the outside, a fantastic old building with modern touches blending in superbly with the surrounding architecture. The lobby area is roomy and comfortable and amnned by helpful reception staff. The rooms (or the one I had) aren't the largest but what they lack in size the make up for in comfort. Big comfortable bed, clean, well equipped bathroom and decent views over the city of Gothenburg.

The bar area is lively and welcoming and definitely a good space to spend an evening. The only down side (costing a 5 star review) is the frustrating wifi - yes it's free but it continually logs you off for no apparent reason meaning retrieving and reentering your username and password repeatedly.

Room Tip: Keep your wifi password with you as you'll need it repeatedly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Pjmoorhouse,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Your kind words about the superb hotel and fantastic old building and the helpfull and attentive reception staff are also very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent a week here in August on a business trip. The building, a former post office, is quite majestic from the outside, while featuring a mostly modern, clean design inside. The original building has been augmented with a modern addition--a high-rise of, I think, 13 stories. My room was in the new section and, while on the small side, did not feel cramped. The bed, and especially the giant pillow (which they offer for sale), was extremely comfortable. The room was impeccably clean, and housekeeping services during my stay were very good.

The hotel's breakfast buffet was quite expansive, with, among many other things, a wonderful selection of fresh-baked breads each morning, and tasty home-made jams. I know the hotel's restaurant is well-regarded, but I didn't get around to trying it. I did, though, sample some food in the hotel's very cozy bar (it reminds one of maybe a book shop), and that was very good---the shrimp sandwich especially, washed down with a bottle of the hotel's own brand of beer.

Also, the front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The location is very convenient, right next to the central rail and bus station. If you're flying into Gothenburg (Landvetter airport), it is very convenient to take the bus (the Flygbussarna) to downtown, and so the hotel is easy to get to, being next to the station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdolmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, GRM at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Jimdolmas,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Clarion Hotel Post for your stay in Gothenburg and for sharing your views about the hotel on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind words about our staff make us very proud and have brightened the day of the entire team. Furthermore, we are very happy that you are enjoying the breakfast and bar.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

the hotel is perfectly located, offer great dining opportunities, the spa is well equipped and our room was just great. We were upgraded to a suite and had really good service during our stay. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbib09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I used to work for a 5* hotel group, staying in their hotels around the country (UK) and enjoying the pleasures of such rated hotels, then I stayed in the Clarion Post hotel in Gothenburg and my expectations of a high-quality hotel changed.

This hotel is stunning as you approach from the outside and even better once inside. The bar area and reception is perfectly designed, modern and elegant. The bar area even has a great atmosphere, rare for most hotels these days.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, brand new without a single point worth considering complaining about, they're all also very different and unique which shows that the designer has not simply put together a series of identical boxes.

The food is great too although I disagree with charging to bring food to the room when the prices are at the Swedish level (£25 for a steak and chips, despite being worth every Krona).

And then there is the roof-top pool, despite being the middle of winter and -15c this pool is heated and an absolute pleasure to dive into.

I stay here very often for work but would happily bring family, friends and my partner to this property, I simply cannot complain. It is in the center of Gothenburg and a stones throw away from virtually any destination nearby to which you might want to travel.

In my opinion, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at, its just a shame that its in Gothenburg, a city of few other treasures.

Room Tip: Signup for the Nordic Choice club and you'll get upgrades and other benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergeant1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Sergeant Ash ,

Wow 5 stars ! Thank you for you long and extensive review. Realy nice of you to take your time sharing your experience from the Clairon Hotel Post. . Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about food and design are much appreciated. "Stunning as you approach " I will probably use that frase . Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.

Ash it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing