We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City hotel in an interesting building”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“City hotel in an interesting building”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Post is good located in the middle of Gothenburg city, railroad station 5 min away. The hotel is big, but interesting and "posh". Launch area and restaurang gives good feelings. Perfect for a weekend or business. Happy to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Lars
Thank you for your evaluation. I will promise to spread your warm words to the rest of the Clarion Post Team
Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    925
    344
    152
    49
See reviews for
490
1,094
68
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vaucresson
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very nicely located within an giant Post office building facing main station square
perfectly redecorated
Very nice bars and restaurant
Beautiful entrance hal
Generally efficient staff
Rooms only standard for the price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank etaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Etaned,
Thank you for your visit at the Clarion Hotel Post and your feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. Happy to hear that you liked our “staff, entrance, bar and restaurant“. The Clarion is a big hotel with a vast variety of rooms different in size and shape. We truly hope to welcome you at the Clarion Hotel Post on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Clarion Hotel Post experience and service.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
402 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is situated right next to the train station, so coming by train from Oslo, it was just a couple of minutes walk to the hotel.

The lobby is large, and quite dark. The hotel used to be a post office, so the interior does to some degree play a little on this. There was a bit of line at the check in counter. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

We had the standard room, it was quite small, basic, but adequate furnishing, a bit dark, but with good reading light. The bathroom was quite small. There was a minibar, but no safe.

The breakfast restaurant is very big with several tables in addition to guests also using the sofa groups in the lobby/ bar. Breakfast was bit chaotic, but in a somewhat organized way.. Plenty to choose from of both hot and cold dishes. One of the mornings the scrambled eggs were really cold. They had lots of different sorts of bread, and the hotel declared themselves free form using palmoil.

The hotel seemed to be a popular hang out in the evening with lots of people in party mood hanging in the bar.

Complimentary inroom WiFi. The connection was rather patchy as you were logged of constantly. Very annoying.

Check out is at 11, and we were advised that it can be some waiting time if checking out at that time, since everyone else is doing the same, so we settled the room already after breakfast, as we could then just drop of the key in the mailbox in the lobby when we left. We also asked for late check out (only till noon) and that was no problem.

All in all, we enjoyed this hotel, both due to the location and the friendly staff. Will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vestfoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Vestfoldgirl,
Thank you for your long and comprehensive review. Thoughts like yours are important to us in order to continuously change and improve our service. It is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers with the highest quality of food and an outstanding service experience. Happy to hear that you that you liked our “friendly staff and breakfast service”. Still very unfortunate that we did not fully met your expectations during your last stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. I can assure you that the brekfast room is not as full all the time. But at times we have large conventions and events in the hotel and thus full of guests.

Still we hope to welcome you back in the near future and please contact me then . I will promise that we wil give you the best service we can provide.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice rooms and very good breakfast. Friendly staff, it's a very popular hotel for after work, so if you arrive on a friday, be prepared for waiting on the bar.
Very central and close to restaurants an shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Winemaster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Weinmaster,
Thank you for your wonderful evaluation. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though our breakfast bar were a little crowded. It is always fantastic when we get a full mark. I will promise to spread your warm words to the rest of the Clarion Post Team
Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Gothenburg is a medium-sized city with an excellent transit system. You can step outside the door of this hotel, onto a bicycle, a tram, a bus, or a train, and be across town or in another country in no time. If you are a walker, you can strike out in any direction and find shopping, historically interesting sites, beautiful parks, or lively streets with museums and (of course) coffee. I swear, Swedes drink a lot of coffee--and it's both good and strong. Also, for the foodies, the hotel has two or three world-class, Michelin-starred restaurants within easy walking distance.

Clarion Post has the liveliest bar in a hotel that I've ever seen. It hops every night! This is a popular conference hotel, so don't be surprised to find 200 heavy-equipment salesmen in the bar on any given night, for example. The bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable and will not steer you wrong. Likewise, the people at the front desk are first rate. Polite, friendly, competent, and knowledgeable.

The rooms are good--very quiet. The amenities are somewhat sparse, the beds are comfortable (I agree with another post that the pillows are not great), and they are a good size--quite large, by European standards. (I would like to have a dresser with drawers, but oh well.)

The breakfast gets a lot of mentions--it is much like other Swedish hotel breakfasts, so I won't rave about it too much, except to say it has variety, is well-prepared, and is well-staged. And has coffee.

Room Tip: High up, facing away from the courtyard and train station, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Kroan,
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though our breakfast bar were a little crowded. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions,
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice, clean and chic hotel in Gothenburg. We had three days at the hotel, enjoyed great breakfast, friendly staff and super location-nearby train-and busstation. Absolutely a place to visit. I've been here once before in a weekend with my girls; fridays the bar is packed with people, music and good vibes

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOols2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mools,
Thank you for your wonderful evaluation. It is always fantastic when we get a full mark. I will promise to spread your warm words to the rest of the Clarion Post Team
Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Perfect in all ways! The best was the bed! If I should say one negativ thing it has to be the pillow. It was one too big and one to small! It should bee one in between. I will come back another time. I can recommend it further..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinerogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Stinerogn
Thankful for staying with us and your contribution to the many travelers who would like to find out more about the Clairon Hotel Post. Happy to hear that you liked the bed. Hope to see you back soon again and please contact med and I will provide you with a proper pillow.

Best regards,
Lars Olemyr lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing