We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Not the best experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was not clean. Beard stumps in the bathroom vanity. Bathroom bucket stood inside the hotel room room. Not in the bathroom. Paper on the floor in the bathroom.

The bass from the the music in the bar was after 5 days pretty annoying. Parking was not nearby.

Afther 5 days we booked an extra night and ask for a room in the tower-section with an extra bed. Away from the bar and the music. We where told to pay extra to keep the room until we got the new one. After some discussion this was OK. When we got the new room in the evning. The room was above the bar and not in the tower section. We where told that there was not any free rooms in the tower. After another discussion they did manage to find a room in the tower section.

We were promised that the hotel was going to make up the extra bed in the room. When we came back from dinner on the town, around midnight, the spare bed was still not made up. We finally got a little extra bed delivered to the room and choose to made up the sleeping coach ourself.

The hotel is new, but there are a lot of details that did not work. Peronal has no decision-making authority and must constantly deal with the senior manager to make a decision. For a customer, this is not very efficient or customer friendly.

Next year we choose another hotel when we are in Gothenburg to attend Partilecuo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nordic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir/Mme,
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service. We would still like to invite you to the Clarion Post during your next visit to Gothenburg, we do hope that we can redeem ourselves.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make a reservation or for any further information you might require.
Sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    887
    325
    147
    45
See reviews for
472
1,052
65
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice hotel in the middle of Gothenburg. Quiet, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Plus also for nice outside seating and eating area.Excellent both for families, business and the occational stopover in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Torgeir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Google Translation
Hej,
Underbart med topp betyg tackar så mycket . Tackar så mycket och 5 stjärnor är en bekräftelse på att vi lyckats. Varmt välkommen tillbaks till Clarion Hotel Post .
Hjärtliga hälsningar,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I will start with saying that I have stayed at this Hotel twice and I always enjoy my stay here. The location is perfect and apart from that, the rooms are nice, service is nice and the breakfast is the best! Must say it's one of very few good hotels in whole Sweden. (Swedish people in general do not like to spend money and this means that the demand for luxury hotels are not that high, which contributes to the fact that the neither is the supply). But Clarion Hotel Post is doing very well in that matter, providing high standard hotel rooms and services! (We stayed at the junior suite 5 days from 2-6 June 2014)

I just have to mention a few things that I disliked (for improvement) last time I stayed:

- The staff at night seemed very incompetent since he could not give me any proper answer or explanation of my question, he just seemed very off and it really irritated me. I asked him why the room had been cleaned in a "rush" since the chairs where not at the proper position, stuff lying down on the floor and it looked as if they only have changed the towels (which surprised me). He looked so off and said with a silly smile on his face that the housekeeping can't touch your private belongings( which is good) but had nothing to do with my question which regarded chairs in the middle of the room, sofa not straight, stuff on the floor, and very messy in general. Putting things in ORDER is what the housekeeping SHOULD do. So instead of apologizing and say that they will do something about it, he instead had nothing to say more than this is how they "clean". LOL he made me so angry and I just left while he kept repeating the same irrelevant thing.

Apart from bad housekeeping, the stay was very good! Be also aware of that you will have difficulties falling asleep since the hotel plays LOUD music until 1-2 am.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Elionora,
Thank you for your feedback posted on tripadvisor. We especially like your comment with regards to our room standard, breakfast and service. But we would also apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services.

Still we do hope that we will have the opportunitie to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Lars.Olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic service and an extremely postive attitude. The room was excellent. Location is very good and it is easy to find. The only very minor negative thing was that they forgot to fill the fridge with water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ketil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Ketil B,
Thank you for all your stars. We are so happy every time we get “full marks”. It would be a great pleasure welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Clarion Post in May as my husband was running the Gothenburg half marathon. The hotel was very busy when we arrived, both with business travellers and with people that were in town for the run. Still the atmosphere was never hectic and we quickly felt like at home away from home, just like it should be at a nice hotel. The hotel is big yet it feels personal and cosy and the interior design is very nice. The room was big and quiet, the breakfast was great and the lunch buffet we had on Sunday at the restaurant was also very good.

The location is very practical close to trams and long distance trains.

I also appreciated that the hotel had a gym that was free of charge which I used twice. There is also a beauty salon and a spa in the hotel facilities that is run by an external company. Even though the spa is run by an external company I believe that that pool and sauna should have been included for the hotel guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Marta K,
Thank you for posting a review at Tripadvisor. Nice to hear that you feel like you have arrived in a home away from home.
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future,
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice hotel in the city center. Ideal for visiting the center. But noice from the tram even at night. Nice equipment and very stylish interior. Unfortunately the hotel corridor carpets seemed that they were not cleaned at all for many many days and so the floor of the hotel room as well. Tablets with dirty dishes in front of the rooms for many hours along the corridiors. Breakfast all self service, even the coffee. Any different coffee types on additional costs. Bed is convenient, bathroom nice standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Utetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Utetravel,
Thank you for your review. We do not like that we did not meet your high anticipations this time. One should expect high level of cleanliness when you visit the Hotel and sorry to hear that you found rooms dirty. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard. Reviews are important to us and your views will be presented to our management team in order to improve our services. If you happen to pass by Göteborg another time please to not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Guest Relation Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Very practical location, just beside the central station,with tram and bus stop just outside, and great shopping ind Nordstan.
Very big hotel!, big public areas,and high. The rooms in the new annex, is not that big, and rather dark interior. Very dark actually.
Very big flat screen TV !, nice. 20 canals
Nice bathroom with shower. Big big towels. Mini bar, iron.
No safety box though!!
Breakfast was really really fine!!!! A big selection of bread, big selection of cheese ect, and a big varity of milk products. Very many local products!,admire that.
Just outside on Drotningetorvet, there is a sales booth from Vesttrafik, where you can buy tickets for tram and bus's, maybe a day pass, or for 2-3 days. 3 days are 160 Swedish crowns. Ca 20€
Back to hotel. On the 13.th floor, there is a small sun deck and a small pool, and an amazing vue all over town. Enjoy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DanishTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you liked our breakfast. We put a lot of emphasis on providing food from the area around Göteborg so happy that you noticed this and appreciate our breakfast service. Encouraging feedback like yours continue to motivate our staff to offer the best service to each and every one.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the near future.
Best regards,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing