We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel that can be noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Central hotel that can be noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A very central hotel (just a minute away from the train station and lots of transportation and one of the biggest malls in Sweden). The service is great, the breakfast spread was excellent. I did find the hotel a bit chilly and the rooms thermostat wasn't the best (it worked, but not the best settings). There is a rooftop pool, but there is only one shared changing room with a lonely shower. I was a bit disappointed at the size of the standard room and the fact that there was a bit too little place to put your stuff on or in (no drawers).

The front of the hotel has a restaurant/night club and I can imagine that it can be noisy if you're unfortunate to get a room over the restaurant. I slept at the back of the hotel and didn't notice anything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the "back" side of the hotel as the front has at least one night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you Jan for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and breakfast whilst spending your time at our Hotel. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post and we will make sure that the rooms will be heated to a enjoyable level .

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    888
    325
    147
    45
See reviews for
472
1,052
65
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic hotel bar and great staff made this a great stay in central Gothenburg. Hotel is very convenient if you travel by train and close to everything in the city. I particularly liked the living room style of the open areas and hotel bar. Breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TravellingMicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you Micke for taking the time to post a five star review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our living room design whilst spending your time at the Hotel. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sverige
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good hotel in the center of Gothenburg with walking distance to shopping, Avenyn, and Heden where many sports events happen during the very busy summer. The hotel is absolutely OK but the beds are great! Solid but but promise a bit to much at first impression. What takes down my grading of the hotel is the very late cleaning (1600) which I at that point declined. Breakfast was excellent all the things anyone could ever ask for. I believe also that the hotel will not age nicely with all the design elements which all are so in now but will be dated tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverpilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Silverpilen,
Thank you for posting a review at Tripadvisor. Happy to read about excellent breakfast and comfortable beds. But we apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you pass by the Clarion post again,
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was not clean. Beard stumps in the bathroom vanity. Bathroom bucket stood inside the hotel room room. Not in the bathroom. Paper on the floor in the bathroom.

The bass from the the music in the bar was after 5 days pretty annoying. Parking was not nearby.

Afther 5 days we booked an extra night and ask for a room in the tower-section with an extra bed. Away from the bar and the music. We where told to pay extra to keep the room until we got the new one. After some discussion this was OK. When we got the new room in the evning. The room was above the bar and not in the tower section. We where told that there was not any free rooms in the tower. After another discussion they did manage to find a room in the tower section.

We were promised that the hotel was going to make up the extra bed in the room. When we came back from dinner on the town, around midnight, the spare bed was still not made up. We finally got a little extra bed delivered to the room and choose to made up the sleeping coach ourself.

The hotel is new, but there are a lot of details that did not work. Peronal has no decision-making authority and must constantly deal with the senior manager to make a decision. For a customer, this is not very efficient or customer friendly.

Next year we choose another hotel when we are in Gothenburg to attend Partilecuo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nordic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir/Mme,
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service. We would still like to invite you to the Clarion Post during your next visit to Gothenburg, we do hope that we can redeem ourselves.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make a reservation or for any further information you might require.
Sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice hotel in the middle of Gothenburg. Quiet, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Plus also for nice outside seating and eating area.Excellent both for families, business and the occational stopover in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Torgeir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Google Translation
Hej,
Underbart med topp betyg tackar så mycket . Tackar så mycket och 5 stjärnor är en bekräftelse på att vi lyckats. Varmt välkommen tillbaks till Clarion Hotel Post .
Hjärtliga hälsningar,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I will start with saying that I have stayed at this Hotel twice and I always enjoy my stay here. The location is perfect and apart from that, the rooms are nice, service is nice and the breakfast is the best! Must say it's one of very few good hotels in whole Sweden. (Swedish people in general do not like to spend money and this means that the demand for luxury hotels are not that high, which contributes to the fact that the neither is the supply). But Clarion Hotel Post is doing very well in that matter, providing high standard hotel rooms and services! (We stayed at the junior suite 5 days from 2-6 June 2014)

I just have to mention a few things that I disliked (for improvement) last time I stayed:

- The staff at night seemed very incompetent since he could not give me any proper answer or explanation of my question, he just seemed very off and it really irritated me. I asked him why the room had been cleaned in a "rush" since the chairs where not at the proper position, stuff lying down on the floor and it looked as if they only have changed the towels (which surprised me). He looked so off and said with a silly smile on his face that the housekeeping can't touch your private belongings( which is good) but had nothing to do with my question which regarded chairs in the middle of the room, sofa not straight, stuff on the floor, and very messy in general. Putting things in ORDER is what the housekeeping SHOULD do. So instead of apologizing and say that they will do something about it, he instead had nothing to say more than this is how they "clean". LOL he made me so angry and I just left while he kept repeating the same irrelevant thing.

Apart from bad housekeeping, the stay was very good! Be also aware of that you will have difficulties falling asleep since the hotel plays LOUD music until 1-2 am.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Elionora,
Thank you for your feedback posted on tripadvisor. We especially like your comment with regards to our room standard, breakfast and service. But we would also apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services.

Still we do hope that we will have the opportunitie to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Lars.Olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic service and an extremely postive attitude. The room was excellent. Location is very good and it is easy to find. The only very minor negative thing was that they forgot to fill the fridge with water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ketil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Ketil B,
Thank you for all your stars. We are so happy every time we get “full marks”. It would be a great pleasure welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Hotel Post
Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing