We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay”
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Post
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Location was no less than superb, with accessibility to go practically everywhere in Gothenburg in no time at all. Hotel has a very fresh look and prompt service. Top floor pool definitely a place to visit, with breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you Jan for taking the time to post a five star review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and location whilst spending your time at our Hotel. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 3,480 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in town for the gothia cup so the hotel and city were busy. I appreciate that at this time of year things are more difficult to manage, but that doesn't mean that the staff at the registration desk need to be so damn superior. Yes, you are all young and attractive but that certainly doesn't give you the right to treat paying customers with disdain. I was treated very poorly and dismissed by a young girl who was seriously half my age and I certainly didn't appreciate it. Despite booking and paying for a triple room I was given a standard with an extra bed squashed in with a view over the train station. Front desk staff pretty much told me to lump it! Three beds normally equates to three towels but I had to ring for the extra towel every day. The hotel was heaving and rather than have an information desk there was a constant and long, slow queue to check in and that was the queue you were expected to take should you need to enquire about anything. Seriously they need to look at how they can improve on this for next year because unless my team forces me to stay, I would not return on my own accord. In comparison to the lovely Avalon hotel I stayed in the breakfast was average - no smoked salmon in sweden, never heard of such a thing! If you need a hotel near central station, then go for it but what ever you do avoid gothia week! Ps. I have never stayed in a hotel without even one draw in the room and the smallest cupboard I've ever seen that was taken up by the iron - absolutely no storage so we had to live out of our suitcases for a week

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your visit at the Clarion Hotel Post and your sincere feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor.

Personal and individual guest service is one of our top priorities and it is very much to our regret you felt mistreated by our staff. Clarion Hotel Post encourages complete satisfaction to all of our guests and hope that you will consider this an isolated incident. At the same time, we also appreciate your comments because what we learn from your experience can help us maintain quality services.

We truly hope to welcome you at the Clarion Hotel Post on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with the best of service.
Please contact me should you have any more details or if you like to visit us again.
Warm regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We are here for the Gothia Cup 2014

The hotel is located in front of the Centralstation, it's very convenient if you want to travel by public transportation. But at this time the hotel is very full, they clean the room very late and not very clean even sometimes they forget to give us towel. The breakfast is so nice, my kids loves it very much. Because of the location, it's very easy to find any restaurants or shops, there's a mall that only 3 minutes walk and they almost have everything.
5 star for the location..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPTaNaTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Love to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Clarion Hotel Post. And thank you for posting your thoughts and views at Tripadvisor. They are important to us and will pe presentet to our management team in order to improve our service.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A very central hotel (just a minute away from the train station and lots of transportation and one of the biggest malls in Sweden). The service is great, the breakfast spread was excellent. I did find the hotel a bit chilly and the rooms thermostat wasn't the best (it worked, but not the best settings). There is a rooftop pool, but there is only one shared changing room with a lonely shower. I was a bit disappointed at the size of the standard room and the fact that there was a bit too little place to put your stuff on or in (no drawers).

The front of the hotel has a restaurant/night club and I can imagine that it can be noisy if you're unfortunate to get a room over the restaurant. I slept at the back of the hotel and didn't notice anything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the "back" side of the hotel as the front has at least one night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you Jan for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and breakfast whilst spending your time at our Hotel. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post and we will make sure that the rooms will be heated to a enjoyable level .

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic hotel bar and great staff made this a great stay in central Gothenburg. Hotel is very convenient if you travel by train and close to everything in the city. I particularly liked the living room style of the open areas and hotel bar. Breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank TravellingMicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you Micke for taking the time to post a five star review on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you enjoyed our living room design whilst spending your time at the Hotel. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Clarion Post Team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Post.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good hotel in the center of Gothenburg with walking distance to shopping, Avenyn, and Heden where many sports events happen during the very busy summer. The hotel is absolutely OK but the beds are great! Solid but but promise a bit to much at first impression. What takes down my grading of the hotel is the very late cleaning (1600) which I at that point declined. Breakfast was excellent all the things anyone could ever ask for. I believe also that the hotel will not age nicely with all the design elements which all are so in now but will be dated tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverpilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Silverpilen,
Thank you for posting a review at Tripadvisor. Happy to read about excellent breakfast and comfortable beds. But we apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you pass by the Clarion post again,
Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was not clean. Beard stumps in the bathroom vanity. Bathroom bucket stood inside the hotel room room. Not in the bathroom. Paper on the floor in the bathroom.

The bass from the the music in the bar was after 5 days pretty annoying. Parking was not nearby.

Afther 5 days we booked an extra night and ask for a room in the tower-section with an extra bed. Away from the bar and the music. We where told to pay extra to keep the room until we got the new one. After some discussion this was OK. When we got the new room in the evning. The room was above the bar and not in the tower section. We where told that there was not any free rooms in the tower. After another discussion they did manage to find a room in the tower section.

We were promised that the hotel was going to make up the extra bed in the room. When we came back from dinner on the town, around midnight, the spare bed was still not made up. We finally got a little extra bed delivered to the room and choose to made up the sleeping coach ourself.

The hotel is new, but there are a lot of details that did not work. Peronal has no decision-making authority and must constantly deal with the senior manager to make a decision. For a customer, this is not very efficient or customer friendly.

Next year we choose another hotel when we are in Gothenburg to attend Partilecuo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Nordic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars O, Guest Relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir/Mme,
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve our services. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service. We would still like to invite you to the Clarion Post during your next visit to Gothenburg, we do hope that we can redeem ourselves.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make a reservation or for any further information you might require.
Sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £112 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing