We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your father's hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flygplatshotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flygplatshotellet
Ranked #2 of 25 Gothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not your father's hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This small (16 rooms) hotel has no resident staff. You arrange and pay for your stay by email. They send you access codes to the building and the room, and you are on your own. Besides labor savings, an unmanned hotel saves money on real estate because there is no need for visibility. As long as you understand what you are buying -- and hand a map to the taxi driver -- the rest is heaven. Offering a day room and a kitchen, It feels more like a guest house than a hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Landvetter airport is minutes away. The price is terrific. I hope this idea catches on. (Hint: if you are waiting codeless at the door, wifi is easier to find than you think.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
25
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Reasonably priced room right next to the hotel departures building. Great for the early morning flight we had booked as the airport at Alesund is a 30 minute bus ride from the town on one of the nearby islands. The rooms are unmanned (I wouldn't call it a hotel). Access by a pin code sent when you book. The rooms are clean and comfortable but basic. Suitable for a one night stay. Free coffee machine but nothing else - no food facilities except in the airport building. Value for money though

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2Mike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I just spent two night, and I'm very pleased. The rooms are clean a good bed and the service is good, I got a drop off at the airport which is very near by. Fast WiFi and a self service breakfast (yogurt, juice, Nespresso coffe, cereals and bread with ham and butter - what i usually eat) is included.
Staff is service minded and dedicated and an interesting conversation. Late arrival is not a problem, you get a key code and let your self in.
If you are hungry, the local Pizzeria is just across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrikwipsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Etienne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Looking for one night close to Göteborg airport, I stopped at this place and I found it very pleasant. Nice rooms, quiet place and very friendly staff. The breakfast is simple but enough and it is very close to the airport (it is just 2 minutes drive and they offered me a lift by car in the morning). One thing to know: there is no restaurant at this place but you can find one pizzeria nearby. It is also quite cheap compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galahad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Simple, practical, confortable and very clean. Perfect for the ones who arrive late at the Gothenburg airport. Its two minutes away from the airport, cheaper than the city center, very confy, simple and great for business stays. Its almost half way from Boras and Gothenburg. Staff is also great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelCL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I used this hotel first time last night. It's a new and rooms are clean well designed and have all what you need for one night.
WI-FI working fine, breackfast in the morning it's kind of take away but good quality.
Talkd to the manager and found him quite interested in improving further the qulity which for my point of view's already good.
Some suggestion: adjust warming up of the room. Yesterday it was -20°C outside and the room would have required 3 or 4 °C more.
Hair dryer .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungsbacka, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This hotel, just close to the airport, is the perfect place to live when traveling in or out of Gothenburg. In addition it is also close to the center of the city, just 15 minutes with a cab. The price for the room is low compared with the comfort and standard of the hotel. Convenient, good service and a very friendly staff. In short, nice hotel, nice location and nice price!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
1.6 mi away
Landvetter Airport Hotel
12.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#24 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
12.6 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
12.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dockyard Hotel
Dockyard Hotel
#47 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flygplatshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flygplatshotellet

Property: Flygplatshotellet
Address: 1 Praestgaerdevaegen, Gothenburg 438 92, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flygplatshotellet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flygplatshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing