We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with great location”
Review of First Hotel G

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel G
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. Location was perfect, tasty food in the restaurant, comfortable bed. The personnel was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel both for business meetings and shopping weekends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    575
    184
    54
    14
See reviews for
159
402
84
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is in the same building of Gothenburg station. go up to the 1st floor and walk over the short bridge over the station shop area to checkin counter.
Airport bus, train across sweden is just a minute. nordostan shoppong mall and other tourist-loving aread are nearby, resutaurants are also walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOKUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here one night as part of a tour. It was a very nice hotel. Quiet & clean. Comfortable bed. Free wi-fi. Perfect location - above the train station, accross the street from major shopping and a block from the huge park. Tasty breakfast. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
433 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Size of room good.
Beds were OK.
A small well feed fridge and a full baket of Swedish candy at reasonable cost.
The furniture and textiles were worn and dirty. The curtains had to cover the windows that were facing neighbors only.
Coffee brewer completely covered with dust.
The bathroom has only one shower door which means that the water covers the whole floor after a shower and the the floor does not have any slope to the drainage.
Breakfast not bad.
Somewhat far from the parking but location is just above the railway station. No disturbing sounds.
Would we come back? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Firstly if you are coming or going by train, this is as good as it gets. Modern and clean, and slightly strange feeling that you are almost in the station when you check-in. Breakfast was OK, but not the best we had in Sweden. Room was a good size, but because of location on top of the station no view to speak of (just internal view). If I was not using the train, would probably have chosen something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend in Gothenburg. Chose the First Hotel G for its central location and convenience which helped on our first trip to Gothenburg. King double room, good size and very clean, minimal bathroom, typical of what is found in these hotels in the Nordics. King double room was actually 2 single beds together, but nether less that didn't distract from what is a very good hotel.

Staff were very helpful at reception, unfortunately the cristal bar was closed for the summer which was disappointing.. As it was a recommended place, although on further inspection it looks very small.

All in all a great hotel to get out and about in Gohenburg

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff is very serviceminded, the rooms are well equipped, spacious, quiet and clean. The loaction is superb, you're close to almost everything.

We only have one bad experience with this hotel, be aware that the "safe" parking is not that safe. You park in a parkinghouse connected to Nordstan-shopping centre. We hoped that they might have a closed off parking for the hotel, we've seen cars with broken windows in that parkinghouse before like in any other city centre 24hours parking house. We asked reception and they insisted that although they didn't have closed off parking, it was safe now and there was security guards there and CCTV. When we came to collect our car the window was broken and the roof scratched. So next time I would find somewhere else to park. There are several parkinghouses in Gothenburg that are closed during nighttime, we've parked in those several times and never had anything happen to our car.

But like I said, these are the parking facilities, I am a bit annoyed that they claimed this was totally safe now. On the upside they were very helpful when I told them about the breakin and let us keep the room while we organized with insurance and got someone to seal the broken window so we could drive home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G

Property: First Hotel G
Address: 4 Nils Ericsonsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel g
First Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing