We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly with a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel G

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First Hotel G
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Landskrona
Level Contributor
337 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Friendly with a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The First Hotel G in Gothenberg has a perfect location if you arrive by train. The front desk is in fact located right above the waiting room of the railway station and rooms located over the tracks. This will not, however, disturb you the least! Should you arrive by car, the hotel works with Nordstan parking center and a day parking will cost about 200 SEK (22 euros).

Check in was very smooth and we walked across the bridge to the elevators to go to our rooms. We had superior room, with an extra sofa and big flat screen tv, but the standard room seemed to be of good standard as well and not tiny as I have seen elsewhere.

The big drawback was that the rooms do not have windows to the outside (so they cannot be opened), but are like arms going out and thereby you will have a good view into other rooms and what those guests might be doing. It might be adviseable to draw the blinds a little extra when getting out the shower etc. We were lucky, room 5031, as we had the end of the row room and could actually see a little of the outside. Most rooms did not have this view to the outside. As we had our visit in October and the weather was rather bad, it didn't matter that much, but had we been coming there in the summer, I guess I would have thought it a bit dull.

The beds were comfortabl, the TV selection ok, nice minibar, well stocked, safe, iron and iron board and a decent selection of shampoo and things like that. I liked the sofa, it was nice to be able to sit in a comfortable sofa instead of bunking up in bed, which is what you mostly do when you're in a hotel.

The breakfast selection was very good, I believe this is one of the signature marks of the First Hotel chain. Has been so at all my previous visit to First Hotels. The reception area was cosy to sit in, a dark and quiet, especially with a drink before going out. Friday evening between 16-20 they have "After work", with special offers.

The location of the hotel is good, as I mentioned, the arena, the opera, transportation. All just around the corner.

We wouldn't hesitate to come back, especially if it was for a winter visit - might even opt for the standard room. We didn't visit the fitness center, so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: A corner room towards the railway track will give you some contact with the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    533
    169
    49
    13
See reviews for
147
377
80
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lovely hotel based at the rail/bus station. Modern decor, staff very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room, equipped with everything we needed on the top floor. Very peaceful.

Breakfast as extremely good - great choice and the quality of food was top notch.

The reception is a nice spot to have a glass of wine, sit back, relax and watch the world go by.

The hotel is opposite a large shopping centre and a 10-15min walk into the more central part of the city.

Perfect for a weekend city break

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and heard absolutely no noise plus it had lovely city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for a weekend and were happy with the hotel location and the very reasonable price (special offer). Friendly service at check-in and in the lobby bar for after-work drinks on Friday. We asked for a quiet room and were really happy with the one we got. Not a sound from outside or other rooms despite the fact that the hotel is located in the central station. The view was not great though; overlooking an indoor courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room; we did and slept in until 10 am!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is inside the central railway station in a very good position for visiting the city. The hotel is a standard four stars, the room are OK and the breakfast is good. The only thing you have to be aware of is that most of the rooms have windows that overlook internal courtyards. Of course this may not be a major problem during the winter but in summer if you fancy sunlight ask for a room with windows looking outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a very large deluxe room facing Gothenburg , but beware : most rooms face very small and dark interior courtyards.

Shower arrangement Inside a bathtub will never be our favorite !!!!
All Towels of very thin inferior quality and bed pillows very small with syntetic filling!!!

Apart from this everything worked perfectly and we had a very nice stay , right on top of the main railway station (no noise due to soundproof windows)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the outside world!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The location of this hotel, ABOVE the central train station, was perfect for us as we arrived in Gothenburg by train. Couldn't have been more convenient. You follow signs for Hotel, leave the station and re-enter another door which takes you up by escalator to the hotel reception and lounge/restaurant - nicely decorated and comfortable, with big windows overlooking the station concourse. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are arranged in 4 blocks, with windows that overlook internal courtyards - so there's a slightly gloomy feel to the rooms as there's no direct light and I don't think you could open the windows. But apart from that, the rooms were very clean, comfortable, nice bathrooms, nice toiletries, decent breakfast buffet. There seemed to be lots of international business clientele staying, but also families and couples. We felt it was a good choice, and it was a very comfortable and convenient base from which to explore this lovely city - with the brilliant trams stopping just outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ängelholm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for one night. The room was clean and tidy. Nothing special, unfotunately no view at all, only to an atrium inside the building.
Comfortable bed, very quiet room.The bathroom floor was wet allover after one of us had used the shower...
Nice breakfast, as expected at this type of hotel
The location is perfect: We travelled by train, and just around the corner :There it is!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a window for outside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G

Property: First Hotel G
Address: 4 Nils Ericsonsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your First Hotel G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel g
First Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing