We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, excellent location but check-in is late”
Review of First Hotel G

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel G
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was in Gothenburg for their film festival and this was one of the cheaper accommodations available. It's right across Nordstan (the mall) and very centrally located. It is right on top of the central station. My bus got there around noon and I had to wait until 3pm to check in.

The hotel room was awesome with wooden floors, a nice bathroom. Beds were very comfortable as well.

I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsinkoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel G
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very well located in Gothenburg. Close to central station and bus station/stops. Scandic mall is nice and close.

Nice stay with a good breakfast. Will stay there again when travelling to Gothenburg for business

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Perfect location central to the Avenue of restaurants and attractions. Directly located above the train station for those traveling by rail. Amazing breakfast as well. The rooms were really quiet. Stayed over NYE and from the 7th floor windows you had a panoramic view of the entire skyline of fireworks. Perfect for ringing in 2014.

Room Tip: Had to rate the spa and swimming pool with one star because I did not use the spa and there isn'...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillytraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed at the First Hotel G for 3 nights while on a business trip to Gothenburg. The hotel is located in the city center right above the train station. Rooms are nice, clean, well equipped and very quiet. Despite being next to the elevator and above a train station I did not hear anything at night. Breakfast was included in my room price and it is a nice buffet breakfast where everyone will find something to their taste. If you have an early morning flight out of Gothenburg you can preorder breakfast the night before and they will prepare it for you in a to go bag. Beds are comfortable, and the fitness center is well equipped thought it does close at 9 PM.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When I say you can hear a pin drop....I am not joking! When you enter the hotel lobby and take the escalator to the reception desk it appears the hotel is crowded with people everywhere. There is a train station just below the reception area but as you cross over the train station and walk to the elevators you can smell the wonderful aroma of the spa located within the hotel. The glass wall elevator reminds you of what you close to escaping - stress, sense of urgency etc.

The long hallway seems a bit strange with pathways leading to longer hallways filled with rooms. The interior facing rooms concered me but as I opened my room door I was amazed as the door closed behind me. SILENCE! Not a single noise....The room was beautifully decorated and the bed linens swallowed me! I pulled the window curtains to avoid the neighbors and there was also a heavier curtain as well. The lighting was calming. The bathroom has heated towel racks and heated floors. The room was bright and super clean! The ameneties were plentiful. I can't think of another place where I can actually say, this was probably the best sleep I have ever had.

Breakfast had lots to choose from as well. I will be sure to use this hotel again and again for my stay in Gothenburg. It is also located close to the shopping mall and places for dining. Would highly recommend to others!!!

Room Tip: You may prefer to ask for a room with an exterior view otherwise you will look at your neighbors win...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gborolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Nice
Comfortable
Enough space in the room
Clean quiet
Hospitality
Good breakfast
Always ready coffe because There's train station at the basement
City hotel
Very close to shopping Centre
Bus station also five minutes

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank akcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the second time. It´s very well located, near (above) the Central Train Station. It´s very close to the main Shopping Mall (Nordstan), where you find a lot of stuff to buy and also places to eat.
The rooms are very nice and clean. I could sleep very well during the 2 weeks I stayed there.

I recomment this Hotel for the ones travelling to Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G

Address: 4 Nils Ericsonsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £103 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel g
First Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing