We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water and badly cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sigtuna, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“No hot water and badly cleaned”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

No hot water in showers or taps in the am. When I point this out to receptionist, she is not appologetic at all, simply states that this affects the whole hotel and they will try to resolve it that same day.
I asked her what she intended to do to compensate us for this inconvenience she stated that when so many people are affected, none are compensated.
In addition to this, the room was poorly cleaned, there was part of the ceiling missing so we could see the ventilation system, the curtains had partly been ripped off and there was a cable chopped of sticking out of the wall - no idea what it used to be for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    332
    97
    21
    11
See reviews for
257
364
43
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel is more than the advertised 150 meters away from Gothenburg train station. It is in a building not made for hotels. The staff are practically helpful, but lacking in their sense of hospitality. Hotel management is also about genuinely welcoming guests, not a mere exercise in superior practical judgement. Front desk staff should care more about their guests than ensuring that they themselves can take their food from the breakfast buffet before it closes. They should learn more about serving and being invisible, than insist on their rights. The Clarion owner -- Mr. Stordalen -- has a job to do here. Nevertheless, the hotel is within walking distance from the lovely centre of Gothenburg which is undergoing multiple developments and upgrades. Gothenburg leaves the visitor with a feeling of being in a creative transition from car manufacturing to new technological innovation (perhaps coming out of its technical university). We could be surprised by what this city will contribute the next 15 years.

Room Tip: Try the other Clarion nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I used this hotel for a conference some weeks ago, and I was really pleased with the service from the conference departement, the reception staff and the restaurant staff. The hospitality is stunning, and I would love to go back to this hotel. I also loved the breakfast, the meeting room (the terrace) and the atmosphere in the hotel, but some of the rooms are not so good, because they have windows facing the inside of the hotel, and that might feel a bit claustrophobic. Other rooms are quite lovely, and the rooms I have seen is rather large and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the outside if you get claustrophobic with the inside facing win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

first and foremost I would like to say that hotel Odin is the best choice for an Indian as it offers kitchen in many of the rooms so you can cook.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained. Built in music player in the room is an extra facility. The menu of morning breakfast and evening social are sufficient. Taste of food is good.
Front desk is smiling and helpful.
House keeping is perfect, but if you need additional accessories you need to ask for them.

Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Always try to choose a room with outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel maybe 10 nights the last two years, and I consider it to be the best value in Gothenburg. You have to walk a few minuters from the central station to get there, which is the only negative comment I have.
The rooms are clean, spacious, and very quiet despite the closeness to the trains.
The dinner buffet (included in the price) is usually decent, even if the taste is somewhat bland sometimes.
Don't expect a great "hotel experience", this is an hotel you stay at when you intend to spend a lot of time on town or doing business, and are prepared to find info on your own. That said, the size of the room usually makes me want to throw a party, the rooms I have stayed in were like quite nice studio apartments.

Room Tip: Other reviews have pointed out that there is noise from the bar, get a room as high up as possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here in April 13,

Nice place, made better with top notch service.

I'd stay again. I was above the hotel bar, which was not a problem for me as once I'm asleep I stay asleep, but I did hear people talking long into the night. Strange view of the interior of the hotel, overlooking the bar and reception but again, different is cool.

Get a full breakfast, very nice with a waffle machine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingSpirit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed there during Gothia Cup week. Hotel was very crowded. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Large clean rooms BUT average quality.
Hotel staff not familiar with the biggest event of the town!!! Trying to find some info about the event was a failure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Odin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Odin

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Address: 6 Odinsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Odin)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Odin 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Odin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Odin Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing