We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worthy of 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not worthy of 4 stars”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the clarion odin in Gothenburg and were not satisfied with our choice (in fact, we were supposed to stay for 4 nights but left after 2).
A few good stuff first: wifi is fast and free and you do not need to log in multiple times, which comes handy. Location is convenient, near the station. An afternoon coffee with pastries and a dinner buffet are provided free of charge and beds were quite comfy. That’s about it for the pros.
For the cons: the hotel is huge and totally impersonal. The staff does not care much about you, which makes it worst. The reception is located right across the large breakfast area, so that you have the impression of checking in in a cafeteria rather than in a four star hotel. Breakfast and dinner buffet are ok, but no more, and in both cases you have to clear your table after the meal. Did someone say 4 star?
There is no air con in the rooms so opening the window comes as important. However, the way the hotel was designed, with at least half of the room overlooking the patio means that there can be noise late in the night (there is a small terrace on the patio). The curtains do not block daylight entirely and days can be long during summer time. Finally, our shower was missing a door and this made showering a painful experience. To add insult to injury, they forgot to clean our room one day and the lady at the reception did not offer a single word of apology.
As mentioned previously, the hotel is family friendly. So overall, if you are a family looking for a good bargain in Gothenburg, you might like this hotel. Otherwise, for the same price range, I would advise you to choose another (nicer) hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelLE_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    328
    93
    19
    10
See reviews for
246
354
42
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for gothia cup. We got exceptional service. Great breakfast and evening food. It was such a pleasure to receve such a welcome even though the hotel was extremely busy. Only minor downside was rooms and beds very small

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

few days in Gothenburg visiting family. lovely clean hotel rooms. food buffet very good. rooftop bar used once as closed Thursday evening. 20 minute walk to Universeum and Liseberg which are well worth visiting.
the only problem we had was the fact that we booked 2 double rooms for us and our 2 children but upon arrival found that one double room was adequate for the children but our room was on the floor above and was a family room with kitchen and 4 beds...straight away we went down to reception to ask either could we all book just the one family room OR could me/husband have just a double room which would be on the same floor as the children...we swapped rooms to be on the same floor but we STILL CHARGED THE RATE FOR THE FAMILY ROOM which I thought poor customer service....so just be careful when booking....
I would book this hotel again BUT would just book 2 standard double rooms and not be caught out again.

Room Tip: double rooms adequate, family rooms have kitchenette and 2x double on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suec2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed three nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. The breakfast and included evening buffet were both very good. Although the hotel was busy we were always able to find a table. The hotel is very close to the central station and a short walk to Gustav Adolf Square and many of Gothenburg's attractions. We had a wonderful suite on the top floor with large windows looking over the trainyard and out toward the harbor. Although we were next to the train tracks we heard no noise from the trains. We used our Choice Hotel points to book the room so it was a real bargain for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Gothenburg we will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
286 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in a deluxe twin room which was a good size with a kitchen and sitting area.
The room looked over the railway line[ which was surprisingly quiet at night] and had a balcony but the railway were doing repairs at night so we had to have the door closed, the upside was the double glazing was efficient the downside we would have preferred some fresh air. There are some rooms that overlook an atrium but we still preferred a street/railway view despite the noise.
The bathroom was a good size but needed shelves for cosmetics etc.
. We thought it was a good location to get around the city and was a short walk to the transport hub.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Being a business traveller liked the location and service at the hotel. Staff is very welcoming and the lounge is great. Breakfast has lot of variety and usually evening meals are also included in the rates. Close to other good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaulikB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Admittedly I had a HUGE outside room with a kitchen but the accommodation was excellent. The hotel breakfast is quite good but lacking in many choices. Unfortunately there were no free tables a couple of days and I had to share with families. I was there for work so would have preferred my own space. They are also not good at clearing tables to account for the selfish folks who do not follow protocol by clearing their trays away. This is expected and works very well. There is complimentary coffee and fruit, available all day and sweet snacks put out in the afternoons. The dinner buffet, good but not extensive is also complimentary. There is a free spotless laundry which you must book in advance- a great idea. The free internet worked perfectly for me all the 6 days I was there- this is unheard of. The lifts were fast and never full. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is very close to the station (not sure why the early reviewer is griping about the exact distance)- its close. There is a Netto next door if you need to buy food. Hairdryer and Coffee, tea and a kettle in the room. All in all, a well run, clean, efficient and excellent place to stay in a central location. What more do you want?

Room Tip: Ask for outside room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jr444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
915 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Odin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Odin

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Address: 6 Odinsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Odin)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Odin 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Odin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Odin Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing